We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay on a budget!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stayed here several nights. Originally stayed in the hostel for two days, which is exactly as described from other reviewers. Not bad at all, but decided to upgrade to the hotel for a bit more to get some A/C and a bit more room and a warm shower. Overall, Pedro's is the cheapest place on the island, yet quality for the price. The office staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. Also, the pool is a great place to hang out during the heat of the day when you have a few hours to kill and nothing planned for the day. Didn't spend much time in the bar, but did get pizza one night, which was quite good. Short walk to downtown, and even closer to the beach. I would definitely recommend staying here if you're looking for an all around great place and great value!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 188 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

i am a chinese backpacker travel, i was very lucky to live here.Very professional service, very clean the rooms and sheets,very safe.I lost my credit card in reception, when i checked out. They helped me delivery my credit card to my next hotel in Caye Caulker. i lived in Dormitory, the white sheet look like snow, too many fans in the dormitory.You can enjoy sunshire and laying on the swiming pool.

Room Tip: dormitory is very clean with white sheets . high speed internet.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivivan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Advantages:
- really cheap price, as San Padro is a very expensive location
- very nice pool area to swim and hang out
- good pizzas
- wifi in some spots

Disadvantages:
- rooms are very narrow for two people (two beds are exactly fitting in a room with a space in between, as wide as the door so you can enter)
- one of our beds was very bad (the base upon which the mattress lay had big "holes" causing the mattress to form bumps and dents)
- the untreated wooden floor can´t really be cleaned and thus is always dusty as well as the only place to put your stuff if not into the bed.
- in such an expensive location a kitchen would be very helpful for backpackers travelling on budget
- it´s quite a long walk to the center of town (approx. 15 min) and still not a quiet part because of the airport nearby
- there are no power sockets in the rooms, but you can charge your devices in the bathroom or the bar (where they are watched over)

Room Tip: have a look at the bed, they vary
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Only stayed here for three nights, and originaly booked the hostel, which was basically a tiny room with two beds and nothing else, not exactly what we were expecting...... We were lucky enough to get a room over the road in their b and b, which was a million times better and very cheap for caye ambergris. Room adequate with comfy bed and tv, and the first hot shower in three weeks around central america. The two british owners are extremely friendly and couldnt help enough, even though they also run a vet surgery, i dunno how they manage to run both. Looked at staying at a few other hotels while we were there, and standards are not very good for double or treble the price, so if you are coming here i would advise to book this place, i dont think you will find better. Location wise, its ten mins walk from the tiny town centre. Five mins from the beach.... If you could call it a beach..... And ten mins from a fantastic little jamaican pub....food is great, i forget the name..... But you cant miss it. Be careful when leaving your luggage for boat transportation, as had a few things stolen. Try and lock it if you can.

Room Tip: Be sure which you book as the hostel is basic, b and b far better.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank namsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Very cheap, Cindy and Peter were extremly helpfull, friendly and funny. My only complaint was that I wasn't staying there for long enough!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zacharyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Overall this hostal was good value. The rooms were a little small but they are only for sleeping in anyways. The bathrooms were a little dirty at times but not to bad, and everything is made up for with the pool. Around the pool is plenty of chairs and tables to hang out at, although this hostal is quite a distance from the main town centre so it is probably best to rent a bike to go to and fro.
Lastly the owner Peter was awesome he is super friendly an helpful, but do take some of the things he says with a pinch of salt as he has very strong opinions about certain places in Belize which I in turn found wonderful.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danield23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I had a great time at Pedros Inn! The staff is extremely friendly, they will try to make you feel at home at any time (special mention to Cindy, Carrie and Kathy!). I stayed in a small private room with AC ($40), the best option in an expensive town as SP. If you are in a budget, go for the street food in the square, is cheap and really good.

The sports bar manages to gather a bunch of friendly people (mostly US ex-pats) to have a good time at any time (really, anytime!) during your stay there, even though is not at the center of the town. The Halloween party at Pedro´s (and further bar-hopping) was awesome too, I got to meet a lot of friendly people there. Definitely a must go for backpackers in SP!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan Ignacio Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
806 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#31 of 53 in San Pedro
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Banyan Bay Suites
Banyan Bay Suites
#22 of 53 in San Pedro
467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel

Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range: $21 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel is the only hostel in San Pedro island. Although the rooms are low cost, the quality of the rooms and beds are high quality. We provide a clean, comfortable and safe setting at an amazingly cheap price! Why come to Belize just to spend all your money on a hotel room? Spend it on the adventure of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing