We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great affordable place for backpackers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Really enjoyed staying here, it was perfect for what we needed. Great vibe and the owners were really approachable and fun to talk to. Beds were really comfy and the hostel was in a good location, close to beach and supermarket. Young backpackers should stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lipid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 196 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2011

Great price, This was my second time at Pedro's. Great price to stay on "La Isla Bonita". Peter, the owner, also hooks you up at the pizza bar - best pizza outside NYC and Italy! Peter also hooks u up with discounts on scuba diving. The new deluxe rooms are a little fancier than the standard rooms, but you don't need to spend too much time in the room with an air-conditioned restaurant/bar right downstairs and a beautiful island all around. They'll even pick u up from your boat or plane!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammyjnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

I had an excellent time at Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel. The rooms are small but very clean. I only needed a bed, since I was in San Pedro for snorkelling trips. The hostel can organise these for you. Just ask Cindy about which place to go to. I went to Hol Chan national park and Shark Ray Alley and saw everything, a lot of fish, corals, turtles, nursesharks and sting rays.

The hostel also a small pool and if you like it a sports bar that is airconditioned with free pooltable. You can also get very tasty pizzas.

If you like a bigger room with aircondition and bathroom you can also stay in the hotel, which is opposite the hostel and belongs to the owners of the hostel.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
Thank shark050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

I stayed in the Hotel so can't comment on the Hostel, but everybody I met staying in the Hostel were very pleased.
Cheap and cheery with lots of support from staff. Want anything done talk to Cindy, want anything...talk to Walter...want a cold Belkin talk to Megan.
A little off the beaten track but the bar makes up for that. The pool is great for lowering the body temp. after a hot day, by the way is most days.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadian043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

I stayed two weeks in a private room that was part of a scuba package and was somewhat unhappy with the accommodations. The pool and office staff was truly the only good points. The bed was horrible, tap water was not drinkable and hotel customers had to buy water to stay hydrated.
My first week, an Open Water Cert & 4 Day Dive Package was shorted a total of 4 days of two tanks dives because the first dive outfit the hotel set up wasn't able to teach Padi OWD by the book and was fired. That wasted the first 5 days of my vacation. Finally, on my fifth day there I began a OPW course and finished three days later.
The second week, a Blue Hole Dive Package including night dive and 4 days of 2 tanks dives, I wasn't able do dive the Blue Hole because the dive outfits in San Pedro need 10 divers to make a trip. The hotel owner didn't make the arrangements until the last three days of diving time and 10 divers were not scheduled during that short window.
In my opinion, the hotel owner spends too much time drinking in his sports bar while he should be attending to his customer committments. I was given a refund of $150 which is better than nothing, but next time I fly all the way from Alaska to go diving I will make my own arrangements so as not to be disappointed.
P.S. I heard the hostel rooms have no hot water.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girltraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Hi Peter,
You and your staff made our stay in Belize a great experience . Basic rooms , but clean , and air conditioning was very welcome. This is a great place to stay and meet fellow travellers . Very friendly , we had a great time here

the trolley dollies ( one Scot , one American ) : )

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trolleydollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The place has awesome facilities for a €10 backpackers. I was there on very low season, so i had a room to myself. The rooms are small but perfect if all you want is a bed in a clean environment. Only downside is that there are no power points in the room and the fan broke down, but it didnt make much wind to start with and nights were cool enough to sleep without anyway. The pool is great, the bar too, where you can play Wii. Staff in the office and the bar super friendly and helpful.
Although the location is not the best tehre is always someone to give you a lift in the golf cart to town, or you can rent a bicycle.
I would definitely recommend Pedro's to other travellers!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metalsheep2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#33 of 55 in San Pedro
579 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#36 of 55 in San Pedro
187 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Changes In Latitudes Bed and Breakfast
0 mi away
Park Place Belize
Park Place Belize
#7 of 20 in San Pedro
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel

Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range: $20 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel is the only hostel in San Pedro island. Although the rooms are low cost, the quality of the rooms and beds are high quality. We provide a clean, comfortable and safe setting at an amazingly cheap price! Why come to Belize just to spend all your money on a hotel room? Spend it on the adventure of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing