We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandy feet, salty breezes and Caribbean tacos!”

Aji Tapa Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 183 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A one of a kind 5 Star Tapas Lounge and Restaurant situated on the enchanting island of Ambergris Caye, Belize. Come visit us for an exotic cocktail under our Palapa bar, or bring the family to dine in our outdoor beachfront restaurant. Enjoy the myriad of flavors our tapas menu has to offer and relax in the moonlight inside the tropical Tapas lounge . Looking to celebrate? Our beautiful property is perfect to house your wedding, or specialized private event, alongside our event coordinators. .If you plan on visiting Ambergris be sure to visit Aji, where you will be captivated by the tropical, romantic atmosphere, fine food and fun friends you will make while visiting.
Rumson, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sandy feet, salty breezes and Caribbean tacos!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great little restaurant right along the beach side trail north of San Pedro. Four of us stopped for lunch, starting our meal with rum punch, sangria and Christmas Belizian beer. The cerviche salad had a delicious lime based dressing, shrimp tacos received rave reviews and the fish and chips was fresh caught. The tables are set among the trees with multi-colored cloths (which can be bought from the peddlers who balance their wares atop their head as they wander the path) or you could sit in the friendly bar area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    156
    51
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice during our stay in Belize! The paella was so delicious, we all decided to make it our last dinner. The atmosphere and the service was excellent both times. We will definitely go back there the next time we are in Belize!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ngondel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Beachfront Restsurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great little tapas place right on the beach! Fresh seafood, excellent service! Food was delicious, atmosphere even better! We stayed at our table half an hour AFTER we were finished eating, just because it was so relaxing sitting there in the sea breeze. :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shawntej2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

This place was just a few steps from the resort we were staying at, which was really convenient because we ended up coming here 3 times! Bring a flashlight with you if you are going at night, it's a nice walk along the beach. The staff was very patient and friendly and answered all of our questions. Everything tasted very good, especially the hummus and the Puerca Con Pina. I am not a big seafood eater but out of our group of 6, 4 people got various seafood items every time and raved about how delicious everything was. It made me jealous that I wasn't a seafood person! Their happy hour is from 1pm to 4pm where they have appetizers and drinks specials as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baloneydanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
236 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cool breeze and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Had the stuffed grouper for dinner last night along with the chocolate rum cake for dessert. Both were fantastic. The setting is amazing with little dining areas created among the palms and rocks, etc. Super atmosphere and staff is great; would highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oceanboy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aji Tapa Bar & Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Aji Tapa Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing