We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful relaxing oasis from our everyday world”
Ocean View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ocean View
Casita outside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
60 reviews
Ocean View
Casita outside
our beach
beach view from Casita
Bedroom
TV area
ocean right in front
Outside, driveway
our beach
perfect swimming conditions
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lowtohigh...
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful relaxing oasis from our everyday world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

A wonderful relaxing oasis from our everyday world. Wolfgang is attentive, as are Eldon and Merta, and they make sure that you are properly orientated to the island. Wolfgang tells or shows you the best places to purchase whatever you need or the best places to eat. He is very familiar with the island and is well known by many of the locals and business owners.

The island is fun – lots to do if you want to – diving, snorkeling, Mayan Ruins, and shopping. Suya Tours zipline and cave tubing was most convenient with only a 2 minute walk down the beach to their dock. Or the island lifestyle invites you to relax and enjoy the sun, water, and quiet. The private beach in front of the villa beckons you to soak up the rays, take a quick dip, keep track of the local crabs peeking up over the seawall, or spend hours reading or sleeping while being caresses by the warm ocean breezes. The well cared for grounds invite you to leave your shoes in your room and tickle your toes with the white sand.

You can spend your day as active as you want or relax all day and do nothing! And Casita Buena Vista is the perfect place for an island getaway. Just far enough from the city of San Pedro to be relaxing, but close enough to cart or even walk into town for dinner.

Casita Buena Vista has everything you could ever need. The kitchen is a perfect for making any size meal you should need. Living room furniture is very comfy. Several options exist for seating for a light snack at the kitchen counter or larger meals at the lovely antique dinning table. A delightful screened porch makes for a quiet reading corner with a view to the water. While the bedroom is small, it is a very usable space and the newly renovated bath features a large open shower.

Nearby restaurants include a Tex-Mex place run by a Canadian expat which you are most likely to see in the mornings at Casita Buena Vista, stopping by with his puppy, Gracie, for some playtime with Cookie the resident guard dog. The Black Orchid restaurant is a delightful place. Both are within a 5-minute walk, even at the Slow-Down pace of the Belizean stroll. Even closer yet is a small grocery store that will have everything you could possibly need from snacks to beer and wine to meats for cooking your own meals. The Hidden Treasure Restaurant, no more than a mile north, is truly a hidden treasure and is a must do for anyone staying on the island. (Thank you Wolfgang, for telling us about this wonderful Hidden Treasure)

All-in-all, Casita Buena Vista was a great find for us. It provided us with just the right amount of relaxation and peaceful environment. Wolfgang and Cookie, with the newest addition of Tiger, are the perfect host. Wolfgang’s orientation golf cart ride into San Pedro is very informative and shows he is truly proud of his adopted home, and shows how friendly and welcoming the island is. Casita Buena Vista should be on everyone’s list of places to stay when in San Pedro, and is top on our list of places to return to. This feels like our second home.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location, Host, accomodations
Liked least: not a thing we can think of
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colorado
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canada
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
logan4321
austin, tx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dont stay here worst vacation ever owner screamed at us several times once for using the ac”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Eldon was great but other than that the place was terrible

We had no privacy the owner was in and out of out room while we were gone
We got screamed at for using the ac and accused of turning it down to low we didnt touch it after he turned it on he came into out room with no shirt and in a towel and screamed at us and that was not the only time he screamed at us
he had a repair guy put in a new dish washer while we were in the room the guy had to go to town for several hours to find the right parts and come back after he was finshed water started running out from under the cabinets
he shouldnt have rented the place to us isf he wanted to renovated the room
i mopped up lots of water with the towels in the room
the water was the last straw in a terrible visit between the screaming from the owner, the renovations and the water we left 3 days early
we asked for the three days money back since we could stay in the room due to the water and the screaming but didnt get it
we couldnt take any more and i wouldnt recommend anyone else to go there either
the wifi only worked if you sat in front of the kitchen window and no where else
you only have a very small very of the beach

3 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Leaving
Liked least: Getting screamed at by the owner in our room in a towel and no shirt
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2013
After arrival, the two men had realized that they had booked further away from SNUBA. They had booked SNUBA every day, all week and did not like to make the 20 min. golf cart trip every day.
So they tried to get out of the lease with money back to move to a resort close to SNUBA. Following they broke and destroy: window blinds, remote controls, kitchen faucet . . . . The AC was running full with ALL windows wide open, all day and night . . . . and finally they even flooded the entire place with water; purposely !!! After WE (not them) mopped the floor, no leak was found.

As a US licensed building contractor I am very qualified to make most repairs on my own and to have the experience to sense when things are broken on purpose (e.g. when you open a broken remote and there is water in there).

Yes, I might have lost my patience with such a disgusting scam !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, PA USA
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NC
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$140
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing