We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Ambergris Caye”
Front of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the house
private beach beach area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Front of the house
private beach
beach area
ocean view
front of home
view from the side
bedroom 1
Beach
view to the beach
ocean view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kaigoss69
Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not agree with other reviewers”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I'm not sure why everybody seems to love this place so much. We are not picky, nor are we whiners, and this is one of the few negative reviews I had to write over the years. I usually keep quiet, but I wanted to make sure that other people like us don't make the same mistake. We wanted to like this place, we really did, but in the end it was a huge disappointment. On the positive side, the location is great for relaxing, swimming and snorkeling. The grounds are clean and well taken care of. But this is where it ends.

Negatives:

* Mosquitoes! July is mosquito season and we were attacked whenever we dared to venture outside. I'm talking swarms! We had the larger villa and the screen door to the porch slides and there is a huge gap even when the door is closed and hundreds of hungry little blood suckers are sitting on the screen waiting for you to come outside and many make their way inside through the opening between the screen and the window. I specifically asked about mosquitoes and I was told that we should not worry because there is always a breeze off the ocean which blows them away. Well, there was a breeze maybe for 1 or 2 days while we were there during our 14 day stay. 12 days of mosquito hell. Not until the last few days did we find out you can buy these spiral incent things that you burn and they kill the mosquitoes inside the apartment. They work, but how healthy is that?

* Wolfgang is a bit too controlling. He was worried about us leaving the mobile air conditioners on during the day even though it was very warm inside (he actually asked us not to use them at all and only if/when we really needed them). He actually came inside a few times when we were gone and turned them off! Then he reminded us that we should not run them during the day! This is unacceptable and rude. Also, we used some of the kitchen knives for fishing and at one time he was in panic because all the knives were gone and he accused our kids of losing them. Of course, we did not lose any and at the end of our stay the kitchen was stocked the same as we found it. Wolfgang is European and this can sometimes be normal behavior over there, but on this side of the world it is rude. He was also not shy about sharing his political views, which we did not agree with.

* The groundskeeper was too pushy asking for handouts. He was nice and friendly, but every time we returned from a fishing trip he invited himself in and asked (indirectly) for a portion of the catch. Basically standing there with his hands open until you give him something. Not cool.

* In order to get around you need to rent a golf cart. Plan on spending around $250 a week for that. Everything in town is very expensive, everything. The people are constantly asking for handouts, no matter where you go. The restaurants are just OK when you factor in the price.

We should just have done all-inclusive in Mexico but we wanted to try something different. We learned our lesson.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ocean
Liked least: Owner & Mosquitoes
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2014
Thank you for your anonymous posting and criticism. It is well taken. We are aware that we will have to improve in many ways to present an even better product for our guests.

Unfortunately wind and weather are unpredictable; still nearly 50 weeks a year we have a nice ocean breeze keeping bugs completely away from our ocean front property. Mosquitoes are everywhere in the Caribbean and tropical world where there is nature left. Experienced travelers know that they only swarm and bit starting at dusk and no more than for 2 hours. The rest of the day you are completely safe and specifically during daylight.

Belize and Ambergris Caye might not be the ideal destination for "All Inclusive" travelers and families with kids. Yes, Cancun and other well know Mexican destinations are less pricy than individual travel destinations and more attractive for families.

Ambergris Caye is indeed a quite unique paradise for individual travelers trying to avoid such mass tourism. We are very happy to live without the services of the US corporate world, mega resorts and US chain stores. Most of our island's guests specifically come here for such an escape and change.

Our island has amongst the highest electricity prices on the entire continent, from Alaska to Argentina at a rate of about 5 times of the average US electricity pricing. Therefore it is very common at hotels, resorts and vacation rentals that costly ACs are turned down/off while guests are out on an all day trip. Besides the costs, some saving of energy will not hurt the environment.

Thank you for your kind attention.
Wolfgang
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debora S
Rogers City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Ambergris Caye”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from a 10 day vacation to Villa Casa Buena Vista in Ambergris Caye. This was our second stay at the Villa and enjoyed it as much as our first visit 2 years ago. The property description is every bit what is advertised and more. We stayed in the 2 bedroom, beach front unit with another couple as before and once again were not disappointed. We arrived via Island Ferry this trip, which was new since our last trip. The ferry service was waiting for us at the airport in Belize City. They transported us and our bags from the airport to the water ferry and we left immediately for the ~50 minute boat ride that delivered us directly to the dock at the villa. We'd arranged for round trip service so on our day of departure, Island Ferry picked us up at the dock and delivered us to the airport in Belize City. We were extremely happy as the boat ride was enjoyable and very hassle-free! Because we'd stayed at Casa Buena Vista previously, we did not participate in the island tour with Wolfgang, however, he did arrange for our golf cart to be delivered the day we arrived. As before, Wolfgang was a wonderful host and his exceptional staff, Eldon and Merta were always friendly, courteous and accommodating. Eldon keeps the grounds looking great and is available and always willing to look after any need you might have. Merta came into the villa 2 times during our stay to clean, change the bedding, put out fresh towels and even washed some of our laundry, all with a friendly word and smile! We enjoy the beach, sun and snorkeling and have had great experiences with Suya tours located just down the beach from the villa. They have a wide variety of tours, however, we only took advantage of their snorkeling tours. The guides are the best, taking time to point out all varieties of fish, coral and other sea life. We saw all sorts of fish, sharks, rays, conch, turtles, etc. and were always treated very well by the Suya guides. We returned to Ambergris Caye for several reasons. Not only do we enjoy Casa Buena Vista, Wolfgang and his staff, we love having a beach to ourselves, always having beach chairs at our disposal, floating chairs for the ocean, the the peace and quiet to enjoy the sun, beach and ocean and snorkeling. Additionally, we have fun shopping where the locals shop, buying fruits and vegetables daily and purchasing fresh baked goods every morning - loved the warm cinnamon rolls for breakfast. It was fun to jump in the golf cart and explore the island. We could be busy when we wanted to but also had the luxury of peace and quiet with a good book on the beach. I'm certain this will not be our last trip to Villa Casa Buena Vista!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The friendly, laid-back feel of the island.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewed March 7, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SueVanKei...
Keizer
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back.”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Wolfgang is a wonderful host. He reserved our flight from Belize City to the island, reserved a golf cart for us, and gave us a tour of the town, and was always available if we needed something or had problems. Oh, and the fresh juice in the refrigerator? That was wonderful. Couldn't have asked for a better host.

Mira and Eldon, thank you so much for all you did. Eldon, the tour you gave us of JJ's place was great. Will not forget that. Mira, you're so kind and friendly, you made us feel very welcome. Everyone made us feel at home.

Cookie and Tiger, thanks for reminding us of home.

The place was perfect for us. It was quiet, lots of room, and had all the amenities. The private beach was great, which was just mere feet from our door. We're used to staying where the beaches are private, but always crowded. We really enjoyed just laying on the beach without a lot of noise, unwanted loud music, and being able to just walk down to the water and jump in, and most important, lounge chairs available.

As I said in the title, cannot wait to go back, and we definitely will.

Thank you all again for the perfect vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy.
Liked least: Not having an ocean view.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Reviewed December 5, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ohio
Reviewed December 2, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hugh780
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
“Buena stay at Buena Vista”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

All expectations exceeded! A superb property, great accommodation, sea views, palm trees and an ocean blue to view. just the right distance from town, very easy to access. A truly genuine host who felt more like a new friend that the landlord. A very relaxed atmosphere with great facilities, loved the new out side shower very welcome in the heat of the day. We look forward to staying with Wolf and the dogs some time in the future. A big thanks to Wolfgang and Tripadvisor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it quickly felt like Home evnen has a BBQ
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$170
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing