We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Local Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Fogon

El Fogon
Ranked #14 of 183 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Soups, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: El Fogon meaning the "fire-hearth" specializes in Authentic Belizean Cuisine. Our lunch menu includes Stewed Meats, Seafood & Soups. The items on the menu are all local favorites. Dinner consists of Grilled Seafood, Shrimp in Orange and Ginger Sauce or a Mango Sauce, Seafood Creole platter, Seafood Kebabs and much more...All served with a choice of Coconut White Rice or Rice and beans cooked on the open fire. Frozen Key Lime, Coconut Cheesecake and Local Ice Cream makes up our nightly desserts.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Local Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I had the stew chicken, rice and beans, and coleslaw. I also ordered conch fritters. Both dishes were excellent!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TaureanWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,018
    331
    79
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Authentic, delicious, & with a touch of class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Having eaten at 10 different restaurants in San Pedro, I gotta say that this place was our favorite! The atmosphere is relaxing. The service was exceptional with smiles by all staff. The menu has a wide variety of selections. The appetizers are a must. We wanted fish, real fish. At first, we disappointed that we didn’t see whole fish on the menu, until we asked. Our sweet & friendly waiter smiled and said “you just tell me what you want I’ll try to make it happen”. Yes, he made it happen! Whole red snapper was so full of amazing local flavors. The side dishes were also made to perfection. Pricy? We thought so, for Belize, but well worth it!
During our stay, we had asked every local we met about the food, and all recommended this place. They were all right!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sameer-Maasarani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Authentic Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Our group came here after it was recommended by my dive master. This was one of the best dinners we had while on the island!!! We started with fresh mango margaritas that were just yummy. Then we had shrimp ceviche which was to die for. Onto dinner which was exceptional! Our group had split the lemon garlic shrimp and the grilled seafood combo. The proportions are HUGE and well priced considering the amount of seafood that comes with the dinners. To top off the meal we tried the frozen key lime pie which just melted in your mouth.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is a little off the beaten path, but was recommended by one of the locals we asked. So glad to have found it. They had fresh watermelon juice, fresh lime juice and a fresh lime juice with rum drink the day we were there. I had the lime with rum - it was perfect for the hot humid day we were enjoying! Then settled in for the fried chicken which was possibly the best meal I had on the island. My bf had the beef soup which he thought was really good as well. The prices (Belize $) was better than most of the restaurants. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P-twink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, staff, and owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

The dining experience was great. We ate here several times during our stay on the island. First off, the owner would warmly greet us and spent time giving background on the food and culture of the island. The food and preparation was very authentic to the island culture. The staff was friendly and attentive in a nicely casual way. The food and drinks were deeeelicious. Everything we tried was great. This restaurant is a must if you are on San Pedro Island. It is only a couple small blocks from the airport. They do accept credit cards.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XiaoYaoWan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fogon also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to El Fogon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing