We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, good people, good vibe”
Review of El Fogon

El Fogon
Ranked #12 of 190 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: El Fogon meaning the "fire-hearth" specializes in Authentic Belizean Cuisine. Our lunch menu includes Stewed Meats, Seafood & Soups. The items on the menu are all local favorites. Dinner consists of Grilled Seafood, Shrimp in Orange and Ginger Sauce or a Mango Sauce, Seafood Creole platter, Seafood Kebabs and much more...All served with a choice of Coconut White Rice or Rice and beans cooked on the open fire. Frozen Key Lime, Coconut Cheesecake and Local Ice Cream makes up our nightly desserts.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food, good people, good vibe”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We ate here this evening; picnic tables, sand floor, Ceviche, lime garlic shrimp, orange ginger shrimp, angel hair pasta marianara, key lime pie. Rice and beans side for the shrimp trumped the plain rice. All was fine. The waiter was very personable; good sense of humor, told us about the night Ramons caught on fire (after we asked- one in our party is a fire fighter) & rather than having the French Canadian couple who forgot their credit card after paying their bill have to come back, he ran a few blocks to personally return it to them. A couple of the locals eating there were kind enough to bing their very cute 3 year old who delighted everyone in the place. Will eat here again this trip.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,100
    347
    83
    17
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great local charm”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Small Belizean restaurant in San Pedro town. The Creole fish was excellent, perfectly cooked with steamed vegetables and rice and beans. We also had the famous frozen key lime pie which was very flavorful but very rich. We couldn't finish our piece after our huge meal. The prices are very reasonable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank bubbles8892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Yummy fish!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Six of us were vacationing in San Pedro and stoped in here for supper- 12 thumbs up. I had the deep fried snapper- oh so very tastiey. From the chicken to the fish we all loved our meal.stop in its worth it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank thesnowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, MN
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Experience at El Fogon”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Of all of the restaurants I was looking forward to visiting in San Pedro, El Fogon was at the top. It did not disappoint. The wonderful atmosphere was rustic yet charming. The food was outstanding. I highly recommend the Gibnut as it was incredible. Similar to perfectly cooked roast beef. The meal came with two different hot sauces – both of which were delicious. Our server was very attentive without being overbearing. El Fogon will again be a the top of my restaurant list when I return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RumBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best food on the island!! aMAzing is the word that describes this place”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I walked past this restaurant while walking to the convenient store and decided to come back for dinner. It's kinda off the beaten path in the side streets. We had the grilled shrimp and grilled chicken. My god the shrimp was delicious but the chicken was out of this world. We are heading back their for dinner tonight!! Did I also mention the prices are far cheaper than the other restaurants in town! Bonus :)

Helpful?
Thank myLense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fogon also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to El Fogon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing