We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like mom cooked for you”
Review of El Fogon

El Fogon
Ranked #12 of 188 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: El Fogon meaning the "fire-hearth" specializes in Authentic Belizean Cuisine. Our lunch menu includes Stewed Meats, Seafood & Soups. The items on the menu are all local favorites. Dinner consists of Grilled Seafood, Shrimp in Orange and Ginger Sauce or a Mango Sauce, Seafood Creole platter, Seafood Kebabs and much more...All served with a choice of Coconut White Rice or Rice and beans cooked on the open fire. Frozen Key Lime, Coconut Cheesecake and Local Ice Cream makes up our nightly desserts.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Like mom cooked for you”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We biked around town and were looking forward to having lunch at El Fogon.. Since it was a hot day, we ordered watermelon juice. They serve it in very big plastic cups. So refreshing when you're hot and sweaty.
Husband ordered chicken stew and I ordered the beef stew which reminded me of the Filipino dish kaldereta.
Very good food and good price too. Even the pilots stopped by for lunch after dropping their passengers off at the airport.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunflowii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,086
    344
    82
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Small Quaint and Fantastic”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Only a half block from the San Pedro Airfield. In the same family since it started 34 years ago. Still using Mama's recipe's. Marvelous local food!!! Menu could and usually does change every day and does change for Lunch and Dinner, don't worry, Fantastic no matter what you eat. Very Friendly staff and owners. Olive is the owner, Mama lives above and comes down to check on things now and then, to make sure everything is right. Louis is Olives husband and he is the other half of running the restaurant. Both fantastic people we met there while eating. Not to sound like a young girl but OH MY GOD, the food cooked over an open fire in a big fire pit and cast iron pots, then prepared further, the soups, the conch fritters, the fish balls, the amount of food served, the taste, OH MY GOD!!! BEYOND FANTASTIC!!! I can't believe they have not been reviewed on the travel channel or some food network somewhere sometime!!! Anythony Bordaine eat your heart out!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bthelud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding food - simple atmosphere”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our divemaster - Israel - recommended we try El Fogon. OMG. The food at this family-run eatery was truly outstanding - so much so that we visited twice! I had the garlic lime shrimp both times. In lieu of the rice that accompanied the dish, I requested the angel hair pasta, which was cooked perfectly and sprinkled with Parmesan cheese. The sangria is served over ice and is very, very tasty. The service was awesome. The owner offered, if we could call hours in advance, to make us a pot of conch chowder for lunch. Our schedules did not permit us doing so, but we sure would have enjoyed that. Our friends had the kababs and raved about them. One said the ginger shrimp was good until she tasted my garlic lime shrimp.

For an appetizer, we had fish balls - YUMMY. A concoction of mild white fish rolled into bite-sized balls (5 to an order), battered and fried and served with a tart, spicy condiment. The ceviche (fish "cooked" in acidic juice, usually lime juice) and mixed with garlic, onions and tomatoes was good but almost overwhelmed by too much lime juice.

It's not often that I visit the same restaurant twice in a one-week period, but El Fogon was definitely worth doing so.

Without spoiling any surprises, be sure to check out the hand bowl in the unisex restroom. Very, very clever!!!!

We stayed at the SunBreeze Hotel which was about a 1 1/2 block walk away.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scubajackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulf shores
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Great chowder”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and I stopped here one evening to inquire about their world famous conch chowder. The lady said they were sold out but that they would make us a fresh pot if we wanted to come back for lunch the next day. Heck yeah. We came back the next day and sure enough our fresh pot of conch chowder was waiting for us. We ate the soup with a large plate of rice and plantains and it was delicious. We were very full when we left. They cook all their food on an open fire. Nice touch. Next visit my wife and I are going to eat dinner here. Restaurants and people like these are what makes Belize a destination you keep coming back to. Thanks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nohassle1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cleverly Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

El Fogon is our number one choice of places to eat in San Pedro.
the food is Belizean and excellent. Everything we have eaten there has been a real dining treat. Try the grilled lobster and the conch fritters, you will not be disappointed. If you order fish be prepared for a lot of it. It is out of the way but only a block north of the airport, hidden off an alley. Don't miss the sink in the wash room it's beyond unique

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fogon also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to El Fogon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing