We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of El Fogon

El Fogon
Ranked #11 of 185 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: El Fogon meaning the "fire-hearth" specializes in Authentic Belizean Cuisine. Our lunch menu includes Stewed Meats, Seafood & Soups. The items on the menu are all local favorites. Dinner consists of Grilled Seafood, Shrimp in Orange and Ginger Sauce or a Mango Sauce, Seafood Creole platter, Seafood Kebabs and much more...All served with a choice of Coconut White Rice or Rice and beans cooked on the open fire. Frozen Key Lime, Coconut Cheesecake and Local Ice Cream makes up our nightly desserts.
Belize Cayes, Belize
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I were on vacation in San Pedro, Belize, after 7 years and went back to visit El Fogon. They were closed and was prepared for a large party that nite. Suzanna, ran out to say hello and after we told her our experience she said that we could come have dinner.

Dinner was wonderful. True Belizean food with all the right spices. The rice n beans is just the best and I am Belizean. Everyone was so warm and friendly and constantly checking to make sure were happy and had everything we needed. If you ever go to San Pedro, this is a must stop, because we have had many things on the menu and it was all excellent. We looked at the large party and everyone's plate was clean...good sign.

Keep up the good work. See you soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsDangriga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,066
    338
    80
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
248 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Belizean Style ”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a great lunch my first day on the island with my wife. Awesome food and great prices. Had the best conch fritters to date. I've had fritters in Bahamas and Roatan but El Fogon's fritters knocked it out of the park! Very flavorful, not very doughy and just the right balance of seasoning.

Helpful?
Thank Fries_with_Ketchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level Contributor
117 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Should of tried something else...”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I was hoping to try the conch soup but the only conch on menu that day were the fritters. I was quite disappointed. Hard to find the conch in the fritters and they were served with a honey mustard dipping sauce ?? NOT a complimentary sauce at all. Sides were fine...a tiny little bit of fried plantain. The bill with a lime slushie (non alcoholic) was 26$
Too bad the meal was not so great as the service was outstanding!

They are super friendly and I would go back to try another dish because of the great service. I understand they recently reopened after some renos... the main cooking is in a back kitchen.

I would NOT recommend the conch fritters .... Again the service and atmosphere was so good that I would like to give them the benefit of the doubt though and revisit for a dif item.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaPeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

As others have said, El Fogon is tucked away on a street very close to the airport. Great local atmosphere, and great food. Cooked in a traditional way, makes for a excellent meal and excellent atmosphere. Drop by and enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 599MikeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great local place”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The menu here is short but the food makes up for it if you can find something you wanna try you wont be disappointed. The soups are great as well as the seafood and stewed meats.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timmy131970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fogon also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to El Fogon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing