We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Less than we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of El Fogon

El Fogon
Ranked #14 of 183 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Soups, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: El Fogon meaning the "fire-hearth" specializes in Authentic Belizean Cuisine. Our lunch menu includes Stewed Meats, Seafood & Soups. The items on the menu are all local favorites. Dinner consists of Grilled Seafood, Shrimp in Orange and Ginger Sauce or a Mango Sauce, Seafood Creole platter, Seafood Kebabs and much more...All served with a choice of Coconut White Rice or Rice and beans cooked on the open fire. Frozen Key Lime, Coconut Cheesecake and Local Ice Cream makes up our nightly desserts.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
119 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Less than we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The grilled crab claw was great, but otherwise it was way too expensive for the food and atmosphere. Over-rated, but we went by trip advisor recommendation - not always a win for us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank timetogo132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,018
    331
    79
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Platte City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is authentic Belizean food for a very great price. The people are nice too :) and the dining facilities are unique as well, a little bit of all types of seating and surroundings

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VetPegasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth the search.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great little restaurant with delicious food. I had the venison and my wife had fish. Just one warning: if you try their habanero hot sauce, be prepared for some real heat! They serve one that is straight habaneros and another that is more like a habanero relish. But if you're going all the way to Belize, you might as well experience the heat! Dirt floors and limited seating keep the snobby tourists away. Seemed like pretty chill folks the day we were there. If we go back to Belize, we'll be bringing the kids to El Fogon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaineBeancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden away treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Wonderful meal, with appetizer, main course and desert all included. Great key lime pie. Off the main routes but well worth the hunt.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
205 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Our favorite lunch spot in San Pedro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

El Fogon has some great, fresh food. Lunch is better than dinner and is often frequented by locals and tourists alike.

Ambience/Location: Located near the airport on a small side street, it's a little bit away from the beach and main strip. Indoor and outdoor seating, with the outdoor being the preferred choice. Medium size palapa hut with wooden tables is also good for larger groups (largest table fits 10).

Service: Very good, attentive service. Friendly, knowledgeable, and always willing to satisfy you.

Food: Some of the best stews and soups are to be had here. They are slow cooked in large pots on the grill outside. Various meats and seafood like deer, beef, gibnut, chicken, conch...etc are tender and filled with a deep recado/coconut flavor. The red achiote spice mix is prevalent in many of their meat dishes. Their Conch soup, conch fritters, and grilled conch were the best we had on the island (and we had conch every day for 7 days).

Value: Considering locals also eat here, it's telling that the prices are fair.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobChills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fogon also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to El Fogon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing