We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fun dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Grill - CLOSED

Sunset Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Sunset Grill Restaurant, Bar & Marina a "must visit" Located over the Lagoon in San Pedro town at the end of Black Coral Street,a short 3 minute walk from downtown.We are touted to have "The best food on the Island" featuring both local and international cuisine.The only place to Dine as you enjoy the amazing Belizian Sunset.Participate in Feeding the tarpon, an exciting experience you will always remember.Our friendly staff and talented chef await your arrival 11am to 9pm daily. The restuarant is under new ownership as of August 15, 2011, Mark and Linda Moore have turned it back to Mr Feger
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“fun dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

this is a great venue for watching the sunset, lingering over drinks and dinner and feeding the huge Tarpans. The food was really good, just don't be in a hurry there - it takes a while and the servings are on the small side, but worth waiting for.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PurpleSeah0rse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    53
    26
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winterset, Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

on the lagoon side. Come and feed the tarpon then eat their awesome food. Great coconut rice, lobster, and local fish

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DefinitelynotDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The only thing this place has going for it, are the jumping Tarpon.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We went there for dinner. Got there early for happy hour, but no happy hour and a lot of construction noise next door. However we did have very good margaritas. The Bartender told us the place was for sale. Not that we had ask. It was obvious the owners want out or just don't care anymore. They were out of several items on the menu. Only 2 people working (bartender waiter busboy) and the chef. There were 8 tables of people for dinner. Needless to say after the very good margarita, it went down hill fast. It's a nice waterfront location, a place a new owner could do a lot with. Right now all it has going for it are the jumping Tarpon. We will come back when there's new management.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vintage-Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Expected better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Truly expected better after reading all these great reviews. Wife and I arrived around 1745, only 1 other table with approx 6 people in the restaurant, so not busy at all. So not sure why it took over 10 minutes to get served. We noticed a group of 2 that arrived after us, was not happy and left. As time went on, it got busier and only 1 waiter. Once we ordered, our Conch cerviche, drinks and main course arrived in a timely manner. I had a shrimp fettuccine in a white sauce and I would give it 4 out of 5. Wife had a Shrimp pesto fettuccine and she stated it was very dry.

I guess the highlite of the night was feeding the tarpons!

Maybe it was just an off night!! We enjoyed ourselves, drinks were good, I would give it a 3.5/5 if I could. Was around $60 usd for the 2 of us, I was the only 1 that had an alcoholic drink, 1 appy and 2 suppers. I would still give it a try if I came to San Pedro. As when it did get busier, I think the owner showed up to help the 1 waiter.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flames9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I waited until the last night to visit the Sunset Grill. What a mistake! The bartender Sammi was awesome. He gave us a few bags of sardines to feed the tarpon at the dock. We got some hysterical videos. Don't miss this!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Grill also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing