We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The drinks are dangerously delicious!”

Palapa Bar and Grill
Ranked #27 of 190 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Description: MOVED into Town,Onto the Wet Willies Pier. Located 300' over the Caribbean overlooking the beautiful Reef. Enjoy cool breezes, no Mosquitos. Fresh Tropical drinks, ICE Cold beer. Delicious food,fresh made daily. Specialities are Humongous Cheeseburgers, BBQ Pulled Pork sandwiches, BBQ Beans, Fish Tacos, Shrimp and Snapper Dishes, Smoked Chicken Wings, Fresh Salsa, Sausage Dip. Bring your fresh catch and we will cook it for you!!!! Float in inner tubes in the cool Caribbean while you get cold drinks by the bucket.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The drinks are dangerously delicious!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We made the pilgrimage to the Palapa with another couple we met at our resort and we are so glad we did! I had a lot of really good libations while in Belize, but hands down the Palapa Bar's can't be beat. Add in the location and the vibe and it's an unbeatable combo. The appetizers were really tasty too, which made drinking more of their yummy cocktails a bit too easy.

We're heading back to Ambergris next year and will be bringing our own souvenir from home to tack up at the Palapa Bar ... as if I really need an excuse to go back and drink more of their concoctions.

So glad we made the time to check this place out! Very fun! We'll be back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,513
    705
    232
    73
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roosevelt, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Fun!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Although it's over the TOLL bridge, it's at the end of a pier and has views ... to die for. Don't know yet if I'll be able to attach photos, but I will if I can. Food's good, and they encourage you to write on the walls, everywhere, with Sharpies. This year, when we went back, I found my appropriately-placed "Joe Luvs Diane 4-EVR" right where I wrote it. The kids found their similar stuff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“really fun and relaxing place”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

it is at the end of a pier, over the water. You can watch stingrays swimming underneath. They have inner tubes where they will lower buckets of beer to you. Didn't eat there, so can't comment on the food, but what we saw served didn't look especially appealing. Stick with the bar end. You won't have a bad day!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Favorite place in Ambergris Caye”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We love this place for drinks, food, and the view! We took our kids this time, and they had so much fun sitting in the tubes eating their lunch. Everyone is so friendly. We had great service, and wonderful food! We can't wait until next time!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank IslandDiverGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome bar with excellent fish tacos”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We went here a couple of times on the north end of the island (took our golf cart). Great atmosphere and a fun place to hang out over the ocean and have some drinks and food. You can sit in inner tubes in the water and they will lower a bucket of beer down for you so you don't have to go back up to the bar. Definitely a place to visit when in San Pedro. The food was pretty good, the fish tacos were excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palapa Bar and Grill also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Palapa Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing