We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot on the island”

Palapa Bar and Grill
Ranked #28 of 185 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Description: MOVED into Town,Onto the Wet Willies Pier. Located 300' over the Caribbean overlooking the beautiful Reef. Enjoy cool breezes, no Mosquitos. Fresh Tropical drinks, ICE Cold beer. Delicious food,fresh made daily. Specialities are Humongous Cheeseburgers, BBQ Pulled Pork sandwiches, BBQ Beans, Fish Tacos, Shrimp and Snapper Dishes, Smoked Chicken Wings, Fresh Salsa, Sausage Dip. Bring your fresh catch and we will cook it for you!!!! Float in inner tubes in the cool Caribbean while you get cold drinks by the bucket.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best spot on the island”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Palapa bar is an amazing place to be. They have great food, even better drinks and is located on a pier in the ocean. You can even sit in an innertube and have your drinks lowered to you in a bucket. A absolute must!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,294
    596
    197
    61
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Fun Bar Not to be Missed!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We really enjoyed the Palapa Bar. GREAT ATMOSPHERE! Wonderful scenary. The drinks were great as were the conch fritters. Worth the trip to the North End of Ambergris Caye.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sockmonkeys2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“It IS a bar...”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We tried this bar 3 different times. Had drinks and appetizers the first time and was not impressed with the food. The second time it was closed, it was not late... I don't think they had hours posted. The third time we had drinks and lunch, I had the grouper, coconut rice and onion rings. The grouper was "ok" the sides were good. The wind was pretty strong both times we were there, making it difficult to eat and hold everything. The servers were stretched pretty thin, but we weren't in a hurry. I would recommend Palapa for the atmosphere but not the food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank P-twink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to relax.”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was a great place to get a beer and kick back and enjoy the atmosphere. We had lunch here. The tacos and burgers were great. I would have to say though the service wasn't the greatest.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood
Level Contributor
132 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food/ drink”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Definitely worth the bike ride. My friends and I whereon the other side of the island and we rented bikes. The ride was long but the food, service, and drinks made it worth it. The fish tacos were fresh and tasty! Scotty's Palapa punch and the Watermelonwhatamacallit were awesome! Not diluted at all. This is a must visit restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamieko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palapa Bar and Grill also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Palapa Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing