We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So fun.”

Palapa Bar and Grill
Ranked #27 of 191 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Description: MOVED into Town,Onto the Wet Willies Pier. Located 300' over the Caribbean overlooking the beautiful Reef. Enjoy cool breezes, no Mosquitos. Fresh Tropical drinks, ICE Cold beer. Delicious food,fresh made daily. Specialities are Humongous Cheeseburgers, BBQ Pulled Pork sandwiches, BBQ Beans, Fish Tacos, Shrimp and Snapper Dishes, Smoked Chicken Wings, Fresh Salsa, Sausage Dip. Bring your fresh catch and we will cook it for you!!!! Float in inner tubes in the cool Caribbean while you get cold drinks by the bucket.
Springfield, MO
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So fun.”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We sat on the upper deck facing the ocean. Live music that afternoon - and lots of drinks. Everyone having a wonderful time in the Tropic air. I saw 2 stickers from dive shops in my home town, Springfield Mo.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PLEsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,515
    707
    233
    73
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montauk, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We drove our golf cart to the palapa bar not really knowing what to expect. The food and ambiance was wonderful. Servers were great. Just sorry it was too cold to watch people floating in tubes and getting drinks delivered!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Favorite spot during the entire trip”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We came back to the Palapa bar over and over again. We watched football, enjoyed drinks, floated on the inner tubes, and the ceviche was very good. We even brought home the Palapa Bar tervis tumblers. The staff and owners were amazing and we loved it. We can't wait to come back. The breeze is great sitting out on the water like that. Very relaxing and friendly environment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, il
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ultimate ocean bar”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Wow, this has the views. The bar is out 300 feet over the ocean and we sat two times on the second story stools looking out to sea with the breeze in our faces and drinks in our hands. The place could serve anything and we'd still love it, but the drinks were actually decent- liked the limeade with blue curacao in the bottom, beautiful like the ocean and nice refreshing tang to it. Only 1.5 miles north of bridge, bikes make it there just fine.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank toering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everyone should experience at least once!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Very fun and quirky - A must do in Ambergris Caye.
Float in the tubes, pet the dog and be sure to sign your name on the wall, railing, floor…really anywhere. Great low key fun!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palapa Bar and Grill also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Palapa Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing