We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT”

Palapa Bar and Grill
Ranked #29 of 184 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: MOVED into Town,Onto the Wet Willies Pier. Located 300' over the Caribbean overlooking the beautiful Reef. Enjoy cool breezes, no Mosquitos. Fresh Tropical drinks, ICE Cold beer. Delicious food,fresh made daily. Specialities are Humongous Cheeseburgers, BBQ Pulled Pork sandwiches, BBQ Beans, Fish Tacos, Shrimp and Snapper Dishes, Smoked Chicken Wings, Fresh Salsa, Sausage Dip. Bring your fresh catch and we will cook it for you!!!! Float in inner tubes in the cool Caribbean while you get cold drinks by the bucket.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“LOVED IT”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Best beach bar on the Caye! We could not stay away from it. Awesome atmosphere, and great service. Friendly crowd!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mcohen1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,262
    584
    192
    60
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Must do in San Pedro”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Good food and drinks. One of my favorite Bars in the world. You can sit in the bar and watch fish down below, absolutely beautiful. Or, float in the innertubes and they can lower the beers down to you in a bucket. Dont miss this place!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sandytntn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great place to chill on the water”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were staying right downtown San Pedro but we liked to walk so we had heard about the Palapa and decided to make the trek. It was a lot further outside of town than we thought and would definitely take the golf cart next time.
It was a very hot afternoon when we finally got there. But we were delighted to see it situated out on the water. It doesnt look like much but it has a lot of character and reminders of many a good times having been had there with names and dates scrawled all over every piece of every bit of wood in the place. We had a hard time finding a spot to write our names, but we did! We tried some special drinks (cant remember what) but they were delicious. My boyfriend ordered the deep fried battered bacon! Too much for me but he liked it. They had a nice variety of food menu items, pulled pork looked amazing. The staff were friendly and everyone was friendly with everyone else. It was nice to go in the afternoon for the view and the great breeze blowing through the place. Although we didnt venture, there were tubes in the water around the place to sit and soak up the sun. They were attached so you wouldnt drift out! A nice relaxing fun and friendly place to have a few cocktails and a bite to eat.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caro99Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What island eating is about”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

1-On a dock/peir. 2-Great, simple and fair-priced drinks 3- Impeccable, simplistic island food. 4- Great prices... Had the Lobster Burrito as well as Fish Tacos, chips and FRESH salso, and Smoked Fish dip.. We met Scott..one of the owners and everyone was amazingly friendly.. Grab a drink, a tube and float until you forget! LOVE THIS PLACE

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stanley Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dragon fruit Margaritta's”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Killer burgers, pulled pork off the charts, and try the dragon fruit Margarittas, they are a must have a become an addiction

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank savymommy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palapa Bar and Grill also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Palapa Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing