We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little beachfront grill”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Capricorn - CLOSED

Capricorn
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Little beachfront grill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

An informal, open-air restaurant right down the beach from our resort. we tried breakfast there first and loved it. Their omelets were large and very nicely cooked. The fruit was very good as well as the Fry Jacks. Very nice.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank njtonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    97
    60
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Ate here for breakfast and dinner. Both were great -- dinner was pretty exceptional. The service was good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LHsunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

we came to Capricorn for dinner on valentine's day, the place was packed. we called in at noon to see if we could make a reservation, and they said they were all booked. decided to come anyways, knowing that we would probably have to wait, which was fine since our hotel wasn't that far from the restaurant. the manager (he might have been the owner, not sure) was stand-offish from the beginning. kind of grilled us even though we told him that we had called earlier. nonetheless we were told that it would probably be until 8-830pm before we would be seated, but they would let us know if there was table available. so we waited. and waited. around 8 we went over and asked the same guy if he knew how much longer it would be, he said that there was a table open earlier, but he couldn't find us, so it was given to another group. BS!! we were waiting in a visible area, where there were other ppl waiting for a table too. the place was packed and there was limited space to wait around. we ended up getting seated around 845ish.
the food was lackluster, overpriced for food that they call "good" (that in reality is food cooked a little bit better than food you find at a red lobster). we ordered drinks from the bar, and waited for quite sometime; it appeared to us that the drinks server had forgotten to put in our order. so when we asked our server where our drinks were, he talked to the drinks server and lo and behold, he had forgotten to put in our order. he did give us our drinks on the house because of that slip up (kudos to him). i will say that the overall ambiance of the place was nice, open spaces, open air, right next to the beach. they had some fun garifuna musicians that were going at it for almost the entire time we were there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Colorado
1 review
“Excellent from start to finish.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I traveled to San Pedro, Belize from 2/20/14 - 2/26/14 with my Wife and 4 friends. We stayed just north of Capricorn. One evening after a long day of doing absolutely nothing, we decided to try for a late dinner. Most places close a little early if business is slow(which I don't blame them for doing) so we were a little worried about finding a place that was still open. After being turned down at our first stop, one of our party ran ahead to Capricorn to see if they were still open and try and get us a table. Upon arrival, he discovered that they were already closing up. The staff could have just went on with their evening but instead they graciously seated us and offered the entire menu! Our drinks included margaritas, strawberry colada's and daiquiri's.(all excellent btw) Kenrick was our server and was great from start to finish. He even educated me on the music of Lucy Dube (which he pronounced way cooler than I can) Dinner was excellent. Our plates ranged from the Seafood Platter which I had to a pasta dish that my Wife enjoyed. Thank you very much to the entire staff for staying open for just the 6 of us. We loved our entire trip to San Pedro and look forward to visiting Capricorn again very soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Good food, good service and a pleasant atmosphere. They had some of the best stuffed grouper on the island.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ksmushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capricorn also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing