We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful intro to Belizean cuisine”

Caliente Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 184 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Soups, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Caliente is located on the beach in the center of San Pedro. Our restaurant has been serving a delicious combination of Mexican and Caribbean cuisine in San Pedro since 2001. Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner. 1/2 Price margaritas on Fridays. Closed Monday.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful intro to Belizean cuisine”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was the first place we ate in Belize and it was where I first fell in love with Belizean food. I had the coconut chicken and my husband had the Jalisco chicken. We also got to experience the Thursday night chicken drop while we were there. Very entertaining!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    235
    73
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fun, well-priced Mexican”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had lunch and dinner here. The kids could find lots of choices and loved them. I had the fajita salad one night (great) and enchiladas another (fantastic). My husband said his burrito (which was enormous) was one of the best he has had. Patio looks on the water, friendly staff, good drinks, prices were very fair - what's not to like?!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mominOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
“Can't get enough ceviche!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

This was our go to spot when in San Pedro. Guaranteed excellent service, food and drinks. And very reasonable!!!!! Ceviche and chicken wings were out favorite!

Helpful?
Thank Kimeee101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful dinner lastnight. Food was very good. We had the curry snapper, and (something) chicken, spicy chicken with peppers and onions. I ate it all, very taste. Service was top form and very friendly. If the only thing I could complain about , which would be tough to do here, is that the app of guacamole was too small. Only nit picking now.

Helpful?
Thank patkano70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cos Cob, Connecticut
Level Contributor
201 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“We went during the chicken drop on Thurs night”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Every Thursday night, this restaurant hosts an event called the "chicken drop" Lots of fun, lots of action - just terrific fun. The food was also very good. The service was good and the priced reasonable. Good location on the beach.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank YandB_LabLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caliente Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Caliente Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing