We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lunch”

Caliente Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 183 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Soups, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Caliente is located on the beach in the center of San Pedro. Our restaurant has been serving a delicious combination of Mexican and Caribbean cuisine in San Pedro since 2001. Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner. 1/2 Price margaritas on Fridays. Closed Monday.
Hilliard
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is the first place we ate at on the island. Very tasty food, fresh guacamole and yummy drinks. Nice little lunch spot right on the beach.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amber J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    240
    73
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
earth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Much better options on the beach.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Had a very mediocre meal one night here during a 1 week vacation, and would recommend a few of the other great places to eat. Good location right on the beach, but that's about it. The waiter offered no specials when asked (other than sarcasm) and dinner was disappointing, especially given the price. I had a piece of snapper, and paid $5 USD extra to add guacamole, which turned out to be about a tablespoon full. Vegetarian options were limited and disappointing as well. Probably the worst dinner during my vacation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diverdiver10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Mexican style cuisine”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Good location on the beach but the food can be disappointing given other favourites nearby and the service is just Ok. Tends to lack atmosphere in our experience other than when it is Chicken Drop night next door!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LondonNick55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Come to watch the chicken drop and drink”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice view when sitting outside and plenty of good people watching. We ordered a mixed seafood ceviche, mole enchiladas, and some spicy fish dish, snapper I think.

All of the food was just okay. Portions were pretty large, but it wasn't the cheapest place around. Service wasn't anything to get excited about. The staff clearly wasn't.

Probably wouldn't come back except as a spot to drink while watching people stare at a chicken and wait for it to crap.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tanner C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Way better places to eat on the Island”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I stopped in for a light dinner while going to the bar next door. I had the chicken nachos and my wife had some guacamole. The guacamole was ok but it's hard to screw up guacamole. My chicken nachos on the other hand were not good at all. The chips were soggy before I even started eating them and the staff seemed like we were disrupting them from something more important. The only good thing I can really think of was the view.


We won't be going back to this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klt1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caliente Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Caliente Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing