We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food , great view”

Caliente Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 184 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Soups, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Caliente is located on the beach in the center of San Pedro. Our restaurant has been serving a delicious combination of Mexican and Caribbean cuisine in San Pedro since 2001. Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner. 1/2 Price margaritas on Fridays. Closed Monday.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food , great view”
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

The food was good. Service was slow but nice. Try the snapper in coconut curry .. It is something different but really good

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    235
    73
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food & good service”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We've eaten here 3 times in the past 5 days now. The food is great and a good price (I've had the chicken and fish a la plancha, plus they make tasty guacamole and margaritas). The waiter was really friendly, too. It's nice that you can sit outside if it's hot or inside if it's windy. So far, it's our favorite place to eat (of about 6 restaurants we tried) on the island.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bibo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot, large portions, low prices, good pico de gallo.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped in for lunch, starving, after walking around San Pedro for hours. The service was practically nonexistent, but we were able to sit outside and enjoy the view and the breeze. We ordered nachos, tostadas, and rice and beans. The shredded chicken was moist and well seasoned, the pico de gallo was fresh and tasty, and the portions were huge. Four of us split the nachos and tostadas and left very full.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ErmMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great reputation, mediocre fare”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We heard about this restaurant from several different people and even some of the local dive masters swear on the ceviche. To be fair, we didn't try the ceviche (was all ceviched out after a few days in San Pedro), but we did try a range of dishes on two separate occasions. A few things we tried:

Fish tacos, a standard in San Pedro and almost always tasty, were, well, fishy. Supposed to be snapper, but after asking about the fishy flavor, the waitress said that they didn't have snapper and had used something else. Okay, still strange to have fishy fish in San Pedro. Head down the beach to Estel's for excellent, fresh fish tacos at a much better price.

Conch fritters were not bad. A bit too greasy (yeah, I know it's a fritter, but that doesn't necessarily mean heavy and greasy), but a good flavor.

Coconut curry was mediocre. Not bad, not great. Again, unnecessarily heavy, unlike most Belizean coconut curries.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MoodyMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best meal in San Pedro yet!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We checked out a lot of menus on the island before settling on Caliente's. The Stuffed Jalapenos lured us in but wasn't the stand out dish of the evening, although they were very delicious. The Veggie Coconut Curry (also served with chicken) was absolutely amazing!! The flavors were incredible and the portion size was perfect. We also ordered a garden salad with tortilla chip strips and chips with pico and guac...all equally as great as the curry dish. With live music being played next door, we couldn't ask for better ambiance. All around a wonderful experience and a delicious dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank velvetsea1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caliente Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Caliente Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing