We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Waruguma

Waruguma
Ranked #29 of 183 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Spanish, Salvadoran, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The fish tacos and tostadas are excellent. The lobster burger is good also.

Service leaves something to be desired.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bakbouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    894
    387
    111
    36
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best pupusas in town!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Nothing fancy about the decor of the restaurant. Portions are huge, food is excellent and the pupusas to die for! A must to dine here!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank fefa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointed”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I really wanted to like this place because I love the empanadas they have in LA, but fail!

Pork, bean and cheese empanada lacked flavor. Shrimp was slightly better, but still not mind blowing. Mostly because they serve it with a tomato based sauce that tastes like canned tomatoes instead of the brothy goodness that it's usually served with, and the cabbage slaw was very sub-par. Lacked flavor and freshness that it usually offers.

Will still to my $1 empanadas back home.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fish tacos!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

They had the best fish tacos. This was one of the places we went to twice. Which I usually do not do!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Turner1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great local food”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We went here for dinner to try out the local cuisine. It was recommended by our boat captain. Must try the lobster burrito and the papusas...awesome :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rukshra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waruguma also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Waruguma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing