We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day trip to Xunantunich ruins, cave tubing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inland and Sea Adventures

Inland and Sea Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inland and Sea Adventures has been in business for over 15 years. We aim at giving our all for all. Our tours are fairly priced with top quality treatment and amenities. We focus on marine and terrestrial activities; thus, fulfilling your every vacation need. Want to partake in a customized tour, or are interested in something special? We can arrange that for you! Our friendly staff and guides are always on hand to answer any question.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great day trip to Xunantunich ruins, cave tubing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We found Inland and Sea Adventures, which has an office on the main (front) street in San Pedro. After checking out a few companies, including Tuff E Nuff, we found that Inland and Sea Adventures was the best value for our dollar. We did a flight from San Pedro to Belize City, and from there went to San Ignacio and the Xunantunich ruins (~2 hour drive from BZE). Glad we saw ther ruins while in Belize, and this one is one of the largest in Belize. Food provided by restaurants via the tour company for breakfast and lunch was tasty. The cave tubing was really fun, and walking through the jungle our guide pointed out wildlife (saw a tarantula!) and plants. The caves are huge, and well worth seeing! We asked to stop at the Belize Zoo before ending our day and flying back to San Pedro, and Eric kindly accommodated this request for no extra fee (we just had to pay our own admission fee to the zoo, $15 USD/person). Eric and Dave also made sure to pay attention to the cruise ships, timing things so that our small group of three would avoid the rush of cruise visitors. We had the ruins and the caves to ourselves, avoiding the large influx of cruise people. Overall, we liked the individual attention this company paid to us, and the value seemed to be the best we could find for this kind of excursion.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank WesternTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    11
    3
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Extremely Helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We took 5 different trips with Inland Adventrues over a 3 day period. Every trip was extremely relaxed, exactly what we asked to do, and cheaper than other companies. We stayed on San Pedro a couple of days asking around and searching out the best trips and prices, Eric was it! No other companies would work small groups with multiple trips in non-standard ways like he would. Him and his brother took great care of us. My wife had never drank out of a coconut before and without asking he found the next ranch along the road, paid the people who owned the ranch to get the coconuts, climbed the tree himself, and chopped open two coconuts. This is how they operate from my experiences: awesome customer service, a blast to hang with, and will bend over backwards to accomdate

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremiah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing trip to Tikal - Eric Andrews was the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I, along with another couple, recently spent a week in San Pedro. As with most tourists, we were excited to go on several tours during our stay. We rented a condo south of San Pedro and, ahead of our stay, our condo manager recommended a tour company other than Inland and Sea Adventures. If we had to do things again, we would have gotten off the water taxi and headed straight to the Inland and Sea Adventures office across the street and planned out our adventures with Eric. What tourists are not told are the 'inside deals' that exist between tour companies and hotels/condo managers that are not always in the best interest of the tourist. Do not assume that the tour company you are recommended is the best one for what you need/want. Whichever one is recommended, go talk to them and then head to Inland and Sea Adventures to speak with Eric and his team. Eric's business model focuses on word of mouth and positive reviews on sites like this, rather than the 'inside games' of hotels and managers that expect something in return for their recommendations. Unfortunately, we did not understand this until we had committed to another tour company for a couple tours earlier in the week. Had we discussed with Eric and his team straight off the water taxi, we could have structured a wonderful set of adventures that took advantage of overnight stays in San Ignacio and access to places such as Tikal and ATM that the other tour company steered us away from. We ended up taking a day trip with Eric from San Pedro all the way to Tikal, something the other tour companies refused to do. We took a flight from San Pedro to Belize City and then hopped into an SUV with Eric as our driver and set out for the Guatemala border. Everything ran like clockwork and Eric was a consumate professional. He handed us over to another driver at the border who took us to the Tikal site, where a pre-arranged park tour guide showed us around. Tikal was amazing, so much better than Xunantunich, and was worth all the travelling during that day. In summary, Eric worked with us and made the trip happen where no other tour company would. We thoroughly enjoyed our day and Eric was the KEY reason why that happened.

Remotely planning a vacation to somewhere new is tough enough and as tourists we sometimes put our blind faith in the advice and recommendations of our local points of contact, namely our hotel and condo managers. If you take anything away from this review, take away the fact that you should put Inland and Sea Adventures at the top of your list of any tour company you interact with to plan your vacation excursions/tours. Do your research and assess your options, but try to go with one operator. That will create the most efficient and connected set of adventures that will afford you with the best chance for doing exactly what you want to do. Also, packaging multiple tours creates the possibility of 'volume discounts' that lower overall expeditures. Inland and Sea Adventures will make it happen for you and you will not be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Not Very Friendly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Asked to book at tour the next day with island adventure. When we got there )island adventure booking office) the credit machine was broken and we stated we will pay when we are picked up the next morning to go snorkeling. Later that night, I got a call from ERICK stating that he did not appreciate me not paying and that if he was in the US, we will need to book and pay for any tours. I told ERICK the machine was not working at his office besides, we are tourist and we were not sure that they were going to pick us up, however, we wanted to go and will pay in the morning. Erick was very rude to me - so much so I hung on the phone, I do not think my request was unreasonable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank WendyMDavid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great people, great trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were planning to do the cave tubing and Xunantunich ruins trip with one of the big companies we found on the beach at San Pedro, but while roaming the streets looking for a grocery we ran into Eric who offered us the same package via plane ride from San Pedro for less than we were planning to pay the other company to ferry us there, which cut hours off of an already very long day. (Note: We were there at the tail end of the off-season which made competitive pricing more negotiable.) Eric sent a taxi to pick us up at our hotel. We were met by a young girl at the airport who gave us bottles of juice and a bag of warm chicken tortillas for breakfast. On the mainland Eric's brother David drove us in our own private vehicle to the ruins. (Note: At the ferry where you get out of your car to be transported across the river to the ruins there are MANY locals selling their bags, jewelry, art, etc. Sadly we only bought a couple of things there thinking we could get the same items back on San Pedro, but we later realized that the quality and prices at the ferry were much better.) We toured the ruins with David's good friend and Mayan native, Junior (I think it's short for Junanchinto!). Really impressive place to consider the history of the Mayan culture and the archeological effort involved in uncovering it; amazing views, howler monkeys in the trees, loved it. David had a huge batch of rum punch waiting for us when were returned to the car and then we were off to an outdoor restaurant for a sensational Belizian stewed chicken lunch and a few Belikins (all included in the tour price). From there to cave tubing with David - another amazing experience. More rum punch on the road back to the airport (apparently no open container laws to worry about), and a beautiful evening plane ride back to San Pedro. Absolutely fabulous day. We were so happy with tour experience that we booked our Blue Hole dive tour with Eric as well. Another sensational day that you can read about from anyone who has done it. The point here is that there are plenty of bigger companies you can book these excursions with, but we really felt like we got more bang for our buck and better supporting the local community by going through a truly local guy whose family is working hard to make ends meet. (P.S. very surprised and sorry to read about Mauro G's experience. We found Eric to be credible and trustworthy. Hopefully by now this has been resolved and Mauro can up date his post?)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inland and Sea Adventures also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Inland and Sea Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing