We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Ginger

Red Ginger
Ranked #32 of 184 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Latin, Spanish, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Red Ginger is located at The Phoenix Resort on Ambergris Caye, Belize. We serve fresh tropical cuisine in an elegant air conditioned indoor setting and in our garden patio. We are open for breakfast, brunch, lunch, and dinner. We would love to have you eat with us.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at the resort where Red Ginger is located. We ate
breakfast there on 2 different occasions, and both times were
WONDERFUL!! The Cinnamon Toast was the best I've ever had.
It is made with "Texas Toast" (and made from scratch ---- homemade)
--something we can't get even in
our state of Texas!! The traditional breakfast was great and cooked
per our request. The service both days were was unmatched by
Elias. He is very courteous, friendly, and is an asset to
The Phoenix and Red Ginger.
If your looking for a good breakfast, I suggest Red Ginger,
if in the area or staying at The Phoenix. And, the prices were reasonable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LiebeBenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    72
    38
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belize
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

For the higher end restaurants, this by far is the best that I have tried. Everything from the wine selection, to the applies, entrees and dessert were perfect. The service was excellent as well. Will go back this week actually as we have friends visiting. More higher end restaurants should strive to be like Red Ginger.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kristen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Must eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

This restaurant was awesome. We had a large group dinner here and everybody raved about the food. We shared numerous appetizers as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank murdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great spot for a Romantic Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Even though it doesn't have an ocean view, this was one of our favorite meals on the island. It was very nice, the service was spectacular, the setting was elegant, and the food was amazing! I had lobster, which was fresh and delicious, for $30 U.S. Don't pass this up if you are looking for a memorable meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Benton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not your typical San Pedro restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Red Ginger is a great idea and hopefully is a work in progress. Most of San Pedro's dinning options are your typical casual, beach atmosphere restaurants with laid back approaches to everything. Red Ginger attempts to have a more upscale environment and attitude. In some areas they succeed and others need improvement.

The menu throughout the day provides plenty of options. Some of the food is truly great but other selections were very disappointing. Red Ginger is one of the more expensive restaurants on the island and with that comes higher expectations. A little more consistency from the kitchen is definitely needed.

The service at Red Ginger is hit and miss. Some of the staff is professional and a pleasure to be around. There were a few others who have no business attempting to serve others and clearly had no interest in doing there jobs. When inquiring about ingredients in a dish due to severe allergies we expect truthful answers. One "server" blatantly lied because he was too lazy to ask the chef. Thankfully a few of his coworkers had more integrity and saved us a trip to the hospital.

We have a lot of hope for Red Ginger. The Phoenix is a wonderful place to stay and this on site restaurant is certainly convenient. There are a lot of things to like about Red Ginger and if they work a little harder it could turn into an excellent choice for any meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank afro_fiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ginger also viewed

 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Red Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing