We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of Red Ginger

Red Ginger
Ranked #30 of 188 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Red Ginger is located at The Phoenix Resort on Ambergris Caye, Belize. We serve fresh tropical cuisine in an elegant air conditioned indoor setting, outside in our garden patio, or at our Upstairs rooftop lounge. We are open for breakfast, brunch, lunch, and dinner. We offer specials every night of the week. We would love to have you eat with us.
belize city
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at the Phoenix for two days and we had our meals at this restaurant.
The setting is very moderm and appealing at the same time inviting.
The food was always good. We enjoyed every meal we had.
The staff was very friendly and at the same time very profestional. When in doubt we asked the staff and they were very knowledgeable of the food they offered.
We recommend this restaurant when in San Pedro.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    76
    38
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice and right on the water”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

made for a nice romantic setting. Excellent food and great service! Prices were up there also, but tasty food! I would love to go back!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mcohen1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Evening Dinner”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This restaurant is at the Phoenix Resort. We had heard about it, but actually stumbled upon it at the far north end of town. We actually walked by it and had to turn around to go back and we were glad we did. A nice, modern atmosphere. A little pricier, but the the food was outstanding. We had the Red Ginger Combo, shrimp and Grouper, yummy! Just thinking about it makes me want to go back! Instead of the usual bread and butter before a meal they brought us Plantain chips and a tasty dip. It was a fun change. We will definitely go back when we return to San Padro!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious, but very expensive”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was simultaneous the most expensive and most delicious food we've had in Belize. We probably did the most expensive option, the 5-course tasting menu, but still, I didn't expect to spend over $150US on one meal here! I'd recommend going with a cheaper option or just preparing yourself for this to be your one pricey dinner in the country!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I call it Island-Upscale”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

as in- you should wear shoes. You can dress up (collared shirt, nice shorts, previously mentioned shoes) or you can play it casual. We dressed up for a friends birthday party. This place was amazing from the time we sat down. We started with the lobster dip and chowder which were excellent.. we had the house white/red wines and were pleased with both. I recommend the Red Ginger combo and add the wonderful lobster tail. I shared my wife's stuffed grouper as well- both were perfect. For dessert we had the Key Lime pie and Chocolate delight. We left stuffed and very pleased with our entire experience. I'll get the 5 course flight next time to experience even more at this excellent place on the sea.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stanley Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ginger also viewed

 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Red Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing