We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truely a Hidden Treasure”

Hidden Treasure Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 183 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Hidden Treasure is located about 1.5 miles South of San Pedro Town on Ambergris Caye. Travel South on the main cobble stone road then take the first right immediately after Royal Palm Villas. Look out for our Road Sign and Let the signs lead the way through the Escalante Neighborhood! It's off the beaten path but not hard to find.You can also make an early reservation and we will be delighted to arrange for a complimentary shuttle service from any resort that is situated South of the Bridge.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
271 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Truely a Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

The first thing that's great about this place is that, although it is a bit of a drive from the main area, they will arrange and pay for your cab to and from the restaurant because it is also difficult to find, in the middle of a small residential neighborhood. Make sure you have them arrange the cab and don't be fooled if your cabby asks you to pay. This happened to us and the restaurant reimbursed us and drove us home themselves after dinner.

The ambiance at the restaurant is beautiful and quaint. The tables are on an outdoor wooden deck which is covered and protected. Although there was no actual view, the inside of the restaurant itself was beautiful to look at.

We decided to order the lobster dinner which looked wonderful on the table next to us. However, when it arrived, it was tough and hard to cut which is unusual. We told them about it and they took it back and offerred us another meal. We happily ordered the Surf and Turf which consisted of medalions of filet mignon and a shrimp skewer. The meal was cooked to perfection, tender and delicious. I would definitely go back again and highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathylynne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,025
    279
    100
    28
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Our first night in San Pedro we decided to try Hidden Treasures (recommended by Sherlynn at Mata Rocks). It was a last minute decision. We assumed there would be a wait to get in. She got off the phone and told us they were on there way to pick us up! A couple minutes later, he arrives and two minutes later, we are at the restaurant. It was in the evening and the lights of the restaurant are beautiful as you walk in. The guys were disappointed they were out of steak that evening, but the waiter suggested the ribs. Thank goodness they were out of steak! The ribs were wonderful! The coconut pie for dessert was the best on the island! The waiter and staff were attentive. It was a very enjoyable evening!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great spot. Don't give up when you see the neighborhood.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

This had a great menu and great food. Our whole crowd was pleased and surprised. I liked it better than Palmilla or Cafe Picasso (both in the neighborhood), even though I really liked both of those.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank HouTexTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Really is a hidden treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

You need to take a couple of side roads (follow the signs) to get to this hidden gem. We enjoyed a leisurely dinner here, surrounded by its luxurious island decor in a bug-free environment. My husband loved the shrimp scampi he ordered. And the coconut breaded chicken breasts I had were superb. My only disappointment was that they were out of the desserts that I wanted. So if you're a dessert person, I suggest you go closer to their opening hours to ensure you have all the selections available to you. Overall, this was a wonderful evening out!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CurlyCurlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandboy70, Owner at Hidden Treasure Restaurant, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hi CurlyCurlyGirl,

It is nice to know that you had a wonderful dinner at our restaurant and sorry that you didn't get the dessert item you were craving for as it was sold out that evening. I am sure that we will have it available on your next visit.

Thanks for taking the time to write this nice review of our restaurant. It is truly appreciated.

Ruben
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure, hidden excellence the best in San Pedro Isla bonita”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Philip and MIrsa Austin Great Britain. We had a great evening meal at the Hidden Treasure restaurant with family friends the visit started with welcoming staff and presented with very cooling face cloths which was very refreshing. An excellent touch to an evening with tentative staff and highly recommended standard of food. This surpassed even many of the so called top restaurants here in UK. A highly recommend visit, once been you will definitely go again and again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandboy70, Owner at Hidden Treasure Restaurant, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hi Phillip A,

You have traveled very far to visit our Island and it gives us great pleasure to know that your dining experience at our restaurant will be a part of your "vacation memories."

From all of us at The Hidden Treasure Restaurant, thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice review of our restaurant.

Ruben
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden Treasure Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Hidden Treasure Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing