We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch dining experience”

Hidden Treasure Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 190 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Hidden Treasure is located about 1.5 miles South of San Pedro Town on Ambergris Caye. Travel South on the main cobble stone road then take the first right immediately after Royal Palm Villas. Look out for our Road Sign and Let the signs lead the way through the Escalante Neighborhood! It's off the beaten path but not hard to find.You can also make an early reservation and we will be delighted to arrange for a complimentary shuttle service from any resort that is situated South of the Bridge.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Top-notch dining experience”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

By far, after 2 weeks on Ambergris Caye Hidden Treasure lives up to its name. Excellent food, excellent atmosphere and excellent service. Latin food was divine. Pork ribs - 10 inches long were the right balance of sweet and spicy, angel hair pasta with homemade cilantro pesto simply yummy, almond covered snapper prepared perfectly, and grouper stuffed with fresh vegetables. Earned the highest rating for us. Decent wine collection from Argentina and Chile and the best and largest fresh Pina Colada on the island. Live music by an excellent local musician on Thursdays and Fridays and Latin music CDs the other evenings. While the road to the restaurant is a pot-holed mess, Hidden Treasure will come and drive you to and from your hotel and what a surprise when you arrive. The place is on a enormous dark wood platform sheltered by ivory curtains pulled back to let the warm breeze waft in. Tables are covered in white table cloths and the staff has been properly trained as if in a 4 or 5-star restaurant. Don't miss Hidden Treasure.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MACF-PMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandboy70, Owner at Hidden Treasure Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of our restaurant. Owning and running a restaurant must be one of the most challenging job there is in this world as it is hard to meet all the expectations from the many patrons we serve taking into account that food is so subjective. Your review is very inspiring to all of us especially to our staff members who really put a lot of effort in trying to make each and every customer's experience at Hidden Treasure, a memorable one.
Thank you once again and it is great to know that you had a wonderful experience at Hidden Treasure Restaurant.

Ruben
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,068
    283
    101
    28
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great "hidden treasure"”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

It is in fact hidden and it is a treasure. It wasn't inexpensive but it had great food, wonderful service, and beautiful local decor. I would definitely recommend it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mkmv1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandboy70, Owner at Hidden Treasure Restaurant, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi Mkmv1210,

We all appreciate that you have taken the time to write this nice review of our restaurant. Our staff members are always on the look out on Trip Advisor to get feed back on their performance. They try very hard to provide the best dining experience to each and every customer.

Once again thank you and we look forward to serving you on your next vacation to our Island.

Regards,

Ruben
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were recommended this restaurant by the hotel reception staff at our resort. As the name would suggest this place is really tucked away but a free shuttle service is offered collecting you from your hotel and dropping you off and then returning you back after the meal. A real perk bearing in mind the location which would be quite a walk late at night for hotels based in the centre of San Pedro. Our pick up was there waiting for us.

The meal was slightly average, but the Seafood Bisque was one of the best I have ever tasted - definitely a highlight of the meal. The staff were really friendly and really knowledgeable about the food and how it was cooked. The setting and ambience are the highlights and a lovely way to start or finish your trip.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandboy70, Owner at Hidden Treasure Restaurant, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Jen S,

It is nice to know that you enjoyed our restaurant and that you appreciated the complimentary shuttle service we provide to our many patrons. For future patrons, just make a reservation and let us know what time you would like to be picked up. There is no charge! We provide this service for most resorts and condo's that are situated in the town of San Pedro and the Southern part of the Island.
Thank you once again for this nice review and we look forward to serving you on your next vacation to San Pedro.

Ruben
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunwoody
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stood us up not once but twice!!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Can you believe it! They stood us up not once but twice!!! We were told by all that we had to go on the 1st and last night because it was so good.. a real hidden treasure. Well we waited and waited for them to pick us up as planned by the concierge on our 1st night and they never came. After assurances from the concierge, we made New Year's Eve reservations, 4 days in advance. They cancelled our reservation for 9 at 2 pm on 12/31. We had no where to go. Everything else was full. We hear the food is great. We know their follow through is lousy.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mariadunwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandboy70, Owner at Hidden Treasure Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Mariadunwoody,

I have recently sent you a personal message through Trip Advisor with my sincerest apology and a detail explanation for the mishap regarding your dinner reservation at our restaurant. I had personally called your concierge at the resort that first evening you were to have dinner at our restaurant and I explained to her that we were not able to accommodate your party due to circumstances beyond our control. I asked her to please extend our sincerest apology for the dilemma and if possible, to reschedule your dinner reservation for another night with a 20% discount. I had ask to personally speak to you that night but your concierge stated that she would pass on the message. I never heard back whether you had decided to take up our offer.

In your T.A post, you stated that your reservation for New Year's Eve was made four days in advance but I am very certain that we did not receive any reservation for your party. I was the only person managing all reservations during the Christmas and New Year's holidays and I did not receive your reservation.
Our administrator recalls that on the afternoon of New Year's Eve, she had received a call from your resort asking for us to confirm your dinner reservation for a party of nine people. We were completely booked out for almost a week prior to New Year's Eve and she stated this to the concierge who had placed the call, that no one had made your reservation and even if they had attempted to make your reservation four days prior, that we would not have been able to confirm your reservation as we were completely booked out long before then.

Once again I apologize for this dilemma and whenever you visit San Pedro in the future, I hereby extend an invitation for you to visit our restaurant and receive a 50% dinner discount.

You can send me a direct email if you wish to further discuss the details of this dilemma. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ruben
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Expensive and food was average”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were here for dinner, the food was overpriced and nothing special. We had the stuffed grouper which was overstuffed and couldn't taste the fish, the fish steamed in a Banana leaf which was not cooked well enough, the chicken curry was quite peppery. The restaurant was nice and service was great and offered free pick up and drop off to your hotel. Considering the price and the food only being average we would not go there again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pcat4mjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden Treasure Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Hidden Treasure Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing