We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very very good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Treasure Restaurant

Hidden Treasure Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 184 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Hidden Treasure is located about 1.5 miles South of San Pedro Town on Ambergris Caye. Travel South on the main cobble stone road then take the first right immediately after Royal Palm Villas. Look out for our Road Sign and Let the signs lead the way through the Escalante Neighborhood! It's off the beaten path but not hard to find.You can also make an early reservation and we will be delighted to arrange for a complimentary shuttle service from any resort that is situated South of the Bridge.
Bluffton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

What great service and food. Had the corn chowder soup which was the best I ever had. The entree was amazing and the coconut cream pie was to die for!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hummingbird5_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,007
    274
    97
    28
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

This restaurant is off the beaten tracks, south of the Xanadu Resort, because of this we arranged a ride to and back with the restaurant shuttle.

Was very happy with our choice. The restaurant would be considered upscale for the area and the ambience of the place reflected this.
Service was excellent as was the food. Only disappointment would be that we did not have room for dessert.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rellum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
178 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A treasure to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

It was a dark and stormy night when the van with a woman with her daughter, son and grandchild picked us up at our hotel. Off the beaten track, a lovely open building with linens and arm ambiance. The conch was superb, the grouper encrusted in almonds was so good I ate half my girlfriend's and naturally the key lime pie was a solid 9. Food, atmosphere, service .........all the best. Going back before we leave Belize.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank denverchucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a good value for money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We came to the restaurant late in the evening. Even though several tables were available, we were seated at the bar and asked to wait. No drinks were offered. When we were finally seated, the table cloth was stained with grease. Service was quite slow, we waited about 20 minutes to get "chips and salsa" and then about 30 more minutes for the actual dinner.

A lot of people here say about ambiance but I haven't found much of that in Hidden Treasure. Sure, outdoor seating is cool and the grass thatched roof is nice but that's about it.

Food was, at best, average. Curry chicken -- the meat was hard, as if cooked too much. Vegetables were tasty. Surf and Turf -- the meat was "well done" even though ordered "medium rare", Perhaps my understanding of "medium rare" is different than the cook's. The seasoning on the meat was good. Garlic mashed potatoes were really, really good. Portions were quite small, which is an advantage because it allowed us to eat a dessert.

The desserts were reasonably sized, if not too sweet. Nothing memorable though. The Caribbean (rum and tropical juices) was bland, almost no alcohol could be detected. Red wine was OK.

For the above dinner we paid $100 US. I believe this was way overpriced for the kind of service we received. Food quality was not worth the price, either.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MiroslawX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandboy70, Owner at Hidden Treasure Restaurant, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Hidden Treasure Restaurant. We realize that we have failed to meet your expectation on that particular night. Our staff members always enjoy and look forward to reading reviews written by our patrons as they put a lot of effort in trying to make each customer leave with a lasting impression of our restaurant. We are very proud of our team as almost all reviews are very positive and are very uplifting to our hard working staff members. However, it is obvious that we failed to provide that "Hidden Treasure Experience" to you that night.

We wish that you would have mentioned your concerns to your server as it would have given us an opportunity to immediately make up for the shortcomings that you had experienced. Upon speaking to your server, she had no clue whatsoever that you had left with a negative impression of our restaurant.

Nonetheless, we thank you for taking the time to write about your experience through this medium as it will help our team to improve in the service and quality of food to all our patrons.

We invite you to visit us again in the future and we will do our best to meet your expectations on the second time around.

best regards,

Ruben
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Hidden Treasure indeed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Such a beautiful place. The decor reminded you of Africa. The staff was very friendly. The almond crusted grouper was the best I ever had. The owner was our driver and shared with us his beginnings as this is a family owned restaurant. Well worth the trip. Have your hotel call and they will pick you up. Be sure to tell them not to rush the dinner though if you want to relax with a cocktail first.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patxcaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden Treasure Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Hidden Treasure Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing