We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Couldn't have been better”
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We had an amazing time at Akbol. it was perfectly rel;axing, very laid back and the Yoga was fantastic. it was such a relief from the tacky american resorts surrounding it. The owners have such a good relationshipo with the guests and staff and make you feel very at home. It felt like a little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkletoesVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    60
    16
    11
    13
See reviews for
38
122
47
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We loved this place, perfect retreat just far enough form the craziness of san pedro but close enough to catch a boat for dinner. The yoga was awesome although a bit pricey for drop ins (15US). The rooms were adorable and bathrooms super clean (we stayed in the yoga barracks). Make sure you grab dinner at "Art of life" just down the road. Its actually and art gallery that the owner turned into a mini restaurant and serves you her home cooked delicious meals. She opened the place just for a group of us form the retreat! Kirsten and Emilio are super sweet and helped my husband and I set up a scuba trip and arrangements to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uddani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We stayed at Ak'Bol for our honeymoon last month and loved it. The resort has two types of rooms - cabanas and yoga barracks. We stayed in the yoga barracks, which was much cheaper without sacrificing much space or quality. The shared bathroom was very neat, spacious, and had plenty of hot water. The room was impeccably clean - the housekeeping staff was incredible here. It is a bit small compared to most hotels, but we spent most of our time outside of the room anyway. My only complaint, as others have mentioned, is that the room is very dim at night, even with the lights on. Bring a headlamp.

While others have said that the service was slow, we didn't feel that way. It's not McDonald's, but that's because the food is homemade from scratch when you order it. And delicious at that. It is true that the restaurant sometimes appeared understaffed during busy times. That said, the restaurant staff was amazing - very friendly and cool.

Location is fantastic if you're looking to get away from the circus that is San Pedro. It's north of the bridge (about a 30 minute walk or 10-15 minute bike ride to town), so things are nice and quiet. There's a private dock, a clean beach, palm trees...a postcard-worthy scene. We biked into town most nights to eat dinner, but there are a couple of restaurants nearby: Legends and Art of Life. Legends is a burger house with a great black bean burger (we're vegetarian), while Art of Life is a really cool little art studio/bistro type place. Definitely check it out.

Value was good. The yoga barracks rooms are US $50 for two. Yoga classes are a bit expensive at US $15 per person, per class. The resort offers kayaking and snorkeling trips for reasonable prices as well.

Overall, we had a great time here with few complaints. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaremyColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

So you would think a yoga resort would be all about relaxation and service. Um, not this one. The owner / manager runs around barking orders at the overwhelmed and understaffed crew. We went there for breakfast one day and will not return to this place, ever. We sat for 2 hours waiting on food - the orders came out wrong, some did not even come out at all. The owner flitted around chatting with guests instead of pitching in to make sure everyone was satisfied with the service and food. The poor bartender could not even finish one task without being told about another 10 things she needed to get done (all the while, the owner / manager just chatted with guests at the bar). Maybe staying at the resort gives you a better experience, or maybe those with reservations are treated better than people who just stop by - either way, I dont care to find out. There are plenty of locally run establishments that treat their customers better for me to frequent.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank ScubaDunkletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2010

EVERYTHING about our stay at Ak'bol was wonderful, the food, the rooms, the yoga the staff......everything! We made so many new friends while there - the resort just attracts terrific people. Be sure not to miss the opportunity for a massage by Milio ! The best I've ever had. Snorkeling with Steven was excellent ! We could not have asked for a better vacation.
Thanks Kirsten and Milio ! I can hardly wait to return next year!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladylakeOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

A group of us decided to take a ride up to the North side of the island for a some breakfast. We stopped in at the Ak'bol Yoga Retreat. The location was amazing and the menu looked good. However, that was about it.

The restaurant is open to the public, but the staffing does not really support more than the actual guests at the retreat. The manager/owner really seemed clueless to the needs of her establishment. She was great at barking orders to her understaffed kitchen, but not so great at jumping in to help get things done. The restaurant/bar had about eight patrons when we arrived. Our group made it fifteen. However that seemed to be too much for the staff to manage.

We realize that while on vacation in Ambergris Caye, you learn to slow down and move at belize time. We have no problem doing that at all that is part of the charm of the caye. But waiting over 40 minutes for drinks is more than normal, even for island time.

The food orders were wrong, either missing ingredients or just not delivered at all. The group was not feed at the same time, there was almost an hour between the first person receiving their meal to the last person receiving theirs. The quality of the food was not worth the wait.

I would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dollipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2010

The service at Ak'Bol was excellent. Milo and Kristen, the owners, and staff were great hosts. The location was perfect, right on the beach and they provided access to quite a few tours. Cabanas on the beach offered more privacy and immediate proximity to the beach. The rooms at the yoga barracks were small but adequate. I loved the design of the room and had ample storage space for my belongings. Bring a reading lamp to supplement the lighting. There were community bathrooms and I absolutely loved the island style outdoorsy (no they weren't outdoors! just felt like it) showers. Ak'bol is two miles away from the main town of San Pedro and it was a comfortable walk along the beach. Also the people were amazing and very friendly in town. I would recommend taking the water taxi from Belize City to save money. Wifi access at the resort but you must have a laptop. Bug spray is a must and get your souvenirs at the airport, wide range to choose from and fairly reasonable in price.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trini1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.7 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
964 reviews
2.9 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
451 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort

Property: Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort
Address: One mile North of the Bridge, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service Yoga Center on the Island. Stay nightly (meals and yoga not included in room rate) Join 7 night yoga retreats with meals and yoga included, prices on our retreat schedule. Daily yoga classes open to the public at the end of our pier with mats available. Massage and snorkel trips with Ak'boL guide. We help line up all trips, so you can relax. Come unplug with us! namaste ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Ak'bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ak`Bol Yoga Retreat And Eco-Resort
Ak`Bol Yoga Retreat & Eco Hotel San Pedro
Ak'Bol Yoga Retreat & Eco-Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing