We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveler rating
206
69
28
8
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
206
69
28
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach taco shack family cottage garden cottage martini bar diamond member dirty martini water beds boat ride empanadas bunk room captain patrick food huts golf cart boat leaves food stands the cottages
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 323 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2019 via mobile

Just came back from a weeks stay, had a great time and found the resort amazing. We loved the room/cabin and the private beach was great! Service overall was very good with the staff friendly and attentive. Julio and Miguel were the best along with Norman. Loved the martini bar with Julianna. We would stay there again !

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ilkebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward D, Director of Sales at Mahogany Bay Resort & Beach Club, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2019

Dear Ilkebees,

Thank you for your visit to Mahogany Bay Resort and Beach Club and thank you for your kind words. We'll make sure the staff you mentioned knows of the impact they had on your stay. I know it will mean a great deal to them.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Booked Resort through Hilton Honors. Being a Diamond member means very little at this resort. We were of the understanding that breakfast was complimentary only to find out at check out that only certain menu items are. Also never lose a room key. We were charged 25 USD for a lost key. Beach club is probably the best part of the resort only problem is it is about a 20 min boat ride away. Room was comfortable and clean. Staff was helpful. Property did not meet up to what I’d expect from a $300+ a night place. Will look elsewhere next time we are in Belize.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank hale28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward D, Director of Sales at Mahogany Bay Resort & Beach Club, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Dear hale28,

Thank you for your recent visit to Mahogany Bay Resort and Beach Club. We are sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay fully. We hope you will continue to experience Belize and please know we would be delighted to welcome you back to Mahogany Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

This place is paradise! I love the look of this place, coastal living at it’s best. My family was looking for something different from all inclusive mega hotels in Mexico and thought this place was perfect! All the rooms are either single or two stories high and has a feel of a village more than anything. The Big house where there was pool and restaurant was perfect size and food was amazing. All the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. BUT the best part of this place is their private beach!!! It’s so pretty and chill! We rented the day bed and stayed there one day for 6 hours and we were not bored. Between the paddleboard, cornholes, volleyball, and floating mats, my kids (11 and 13 years old) were content to stay and play. Since it’s only open to people staying at the resort, it never felt crowded at all. Some people might not like the fact that you have ride a boat over to the beach but we loved it. It’s a short ride. Can not recommend this place enough!
Only con might be the windows. Because the are shutters, you hear every noise from the outside but honestly we did not have an issue. It was pretty quiet at night time. I don’t think this place gets the “partying crowd” , Most of the guest were families or couples.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank chris_says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward D, Director of Sales at Mahogany Bay Resort & Beach Club, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Dear chris_says

We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your recent visit to Mahogany Bay Resort. We sincerely appreciate you selecting us for your visit to Ambergris Caye and we hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2019 via mobile

We just spent the past 10 days here for our anniversary. As a Diamond member, we were upgraded to an upper keeping suite. The interior was beautiful, however, a big issue was the lack of water pressure. We wound up having to take cold showers and then get warm with the hot water trickling out. The front desk acknowledged that it’s an issue for the upper units and gave us a lower unit to use for showers. We’ve stayed at many Hilton’s around the world and we’re probably the most disappointed by this one. Also, looking at some previous posts, we were somewhat disappointed to not receive the same flower arrangement and/or floral bed display in celebration of our anniversary.

Pros:
- Jesus at concierge always went above and beyond with recommendations and planning our excursions. He also personally drove us to the airport at 6:30am for an excursion when we didn’t have a ride.
- Best 90 minute deep tissue massage I’ve ever had (Karen was my masseuse)
- Brandon and Maria were always very attentive at the Verandah dining

Cons:
- lack of water pressure
- unpaved roads (wear thick flip flops for the rocks)
- constant bites by sea roaches at the beach club (we only went once because of this)
- some of the staff on site lacked personality. This at times made it seem like they were indifferent or in bad moods.

We enjoyed our stay but probably won’t be returning.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank jessicaryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward D, Director of Sales at Mahogany Bay Resort & Beach Club, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Dear jessicaryder,

Thank you for your visit to Mahogany Bay and for your detailed review. We will use your comments in our ongoing training and the team will appreciate both the pro and cons you have pointed out. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

First of all, we want to properly thank Maria and Lovenia for making our stay exceptional.

Maria served us breakfast the first day but quickly became our go-to person for all questions, concerns, and advice. She went above and beyond to help give us recommendations for places to visit, address any issues with our meals, and make sure we had everything we needed for a pleasant stay. She is one of the original employees of the hotel and it shows. Her professionalism and hospitality are what we have come to expect as Hilton Diamond members. I am not sure what her official position is but she definitely provides management-level service!

Lovenia checked us in and was quick to apologize for the delay in our San Pedro airport-to-hotel shuttle. She made sure to always check in on us and that we had everything we needed. She made us want to come back and stay at this property again.

I was hesitant to be staying at a property that was not directly on the beach, however, quickly came to appreciate this location. The bay had beautiful views and is offset from the crowds of the rest of the island. The private beach is something straight out of a travel magazine and was the show stopper of the trip. The buildings feel very intimate and colonial. We recommend bringing earplugs if you are a light sleeper, the buildings are meant to utilize the natural breeze at night, which feels amazing but also is not sound proof.

Being a relatively new hotel, they are still working out some kinks. If you embrace the relaxed island-life spirit, these things should not discourage you from visiting. Overall though, the friendliness of the staff make up for any of the issues.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward D, Director of Sales at Mahogany Bay Resort & Beach Club, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

Dear Ben G

Thank you for selecting and staying with us at Mahogany Bay Resort and Beach Club. We sincerely appreciate your visit and your kind words.

We will also share your thanks with our team that you have noted in your review. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews