We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Month In Paradise”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2010

My wife, 7 year old son and myself spent the month of July (2010) at The Phoenix. We've tried to write a review a couple times and stopped because we can't find the right words to describe how magical it was.

Firstly - San Pedro the town is fantastic. Although it's very small (it's not a night club/party town) it is one of the cleanest and friendliest towns we've visited in extensive travels. We were there for World Cup Final as well and had a blast.

The Phoenix itself is everything you read in the 100+ reviews. It's beautiful, clean and has one of the nicest pools on the island. Pam, Stacy & Mark were absolutely terrific. Travelling with a 7 year old we spent a lot of time on family events but on the nights we wanted to go out Pam stepped up and helped us out by babysitting. Not a regular part of her job and don't assume she will, but so kind of her to help us out.

The Phoenix team also set up amazing day trips with Alfonso and Oliver for fishing, diving, snorkeling and everything else we did. Need a golf cart? Don't bother searching, just ask the team. I hurt my foot and needed a doctor the night before we flew out. The security team got on the phone at 11 p.m. and found me a doctor (who was also terrific and very reasonable.)

I could go on and on about how great San Pedro and The Phoenix is but if you're reading this you are already interested - book it and go. You won't regret it.

~Pen, Heather and Noel

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank penclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

867 - 873 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2010

By far, customer service is The Phoenix's number one priority. We were completely taken care of from the moment we landed until the moment we sadly had to leave! The facilities are beautiful, the views are breathtaking, the staff is just above and beyond. The suites are spacious and tastefully decorated. Whatever your plans are, The Phoenix provides the best in ensuring you have an amazing stay from snorkeling to cave tubing to relaxing at the pool. The Phoenix completely surpassed our expectations!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cevans2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

There is nothing that I can add except that if the resort was rated below a 4 or a 5 it must have been a fluke.

We would be back in a second, take the same condo, eat at the same places and leave with great sadness.

The only variable is the weather and it was not a factor in our stay.

Have fun!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlwaysExploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

The Phoenix is the most beautiful and modern resort on the island and lives up to all of the reviews that we read on TripAdvisor before we went. After a long day of travel, we were given a tour from Pam and were welcomed with a bottle of wine, a box of Belizan chocolates and a hand-written card from the staff. We had originally booked a one bedroom beach view suite, but we were upgraded to the 2-bedroom beachfront condo. It was amazing!

The rooms were very spacious and the furniture was very comfortable. The living room had windows and french doors on two walls and the view from every point was spectacular. There were two loveseats, a reclining chair and a pullout couch in the living room. The pullout couch made a great spot to curl up and watch a movie while enjoying room service on a day when I had had too much sun. The master bedroom and second bedroom both had French doors opening up to the patio which looked out on the pool and the beach. Both rooms also had two sets of curtains- one sheer set and one set of blackout curtains. The sunrise is around 5am in Belize, so if you want to sleep in, the blackout curtains are nice. Both the bathrooms were really spacious and had walk-in showers with rainfall shower heads. The kitchen was fully-stocked with a stainless steel refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, plateware and utensils. The filtered water from the refrigerator and icemaker is safe to drink, but the Phoenix also provides a 5 gallon water bottle with a spout for drinks, which was a nice touch. Crystal bottled water is available all over the island for $2 BZ ($1 US), even at restaurants. We stocked up at groceries at Super Buy, which is about 3 blocks away on the back street but has the biggest selection and the lowest prices. If you like to drink coffee, I suggest that you bring your own from home. We purchased some coffee roasted locally on the island from Super Buy. One of the girls at the spa told us that you can go directly to the roaster and purchase it fresh for less, but you can't be too sure how long the coffee has been sitting on the shelf. This is the case with most everything- look at the expiration dates carefully, especially on dairy products. We also stopped at The Greenhouse for produce. They get deliveries on Sundays and Wednesdays, so plan your shopping to get the freshest selection.

Every condo in the Phoenix also has a stackable washer and dryer. They provide powered detergent and they will replace it as often as needed, but you'll want to bring or buy your own dryer sheets, softener, and/or liquid detergent. We actually packed two people in one bag and we overpacked. You really only need one or two swimsuits, and two changes of clothes. You might also want a light sweatshirt or jacket, especially if its stormy or windy after dark. The island is very laid back and anything goes. You don't need nice clothes, even at the nicest restaurants, and shorts, tee shirts and flip flops will fit in anywhere.

Stacey originally booked our reservations and answered all of our email questions. She was on vacation while we were there, so Mark, Pamela and Rose took great care of us. Pamela and Rose were always available for anything we needed at the front desk and arranged all of our reservations and excursions for us. Pam recommended Lil' Alphonse for snorkeling. He was an amazing guide and pointed out everything. He even took underwater photos for one of the people in our group who wasn't experienced at diving so they would be closer shots. The trip was really reasonable- $35 US per person plus $6 for gear. Everything that you book through The Phoenix can be billed to your room, so you only have to settle up one time and you don't have to carry a lot of cash around with you. The Phoenix also took care of our Tropic Air reservations and taxi ride to/from the airport. The rest of the staff was so helpful. The security guards always there to open the beach gate and welcome you back. The grounds crew were always pruning palm trees and maintaining the pool. They wiped off every chair and table in the mornings from the sea spray and had everything cleaned up within an hour of the storm. The cleaning crew girls were equally as nice. They were meticulous about keeping the condo clean and would mop the floors and even do the dishes! Every member of the crew at the Phoenix was extremely helpful and seemed to enjoy working there.

The Phoenix also hosts an on-site restaurant, Red Ginger. The food at the Red Ginger was some of the best that we had on the island and the service was impeccable. The Red Ginger has breakfast, lunch, dinner, pool side service, and room service. The prices were very reasonable, especially for a resort restaurant. Prices are in Belize dollars. Aaron was our favorite server at Red Ginger. We were also given a card good for 10% off at Red Ginger, and sister restaurants Caliente and The Blue Water Grill. The Blue Water Grill was our other favorite spot. You can walk on the beach or on the front street. It's open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We had two dinners and two breakfasts overlooking the Caribbean. The food was just as good as the view! Jorge took care of us twice and came over to say hello when Karen was our server. The lobster and snapper were incredible! The Blue Water Grill also has sushi on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

Carrie at the Sol Spa gave me the best massages that I've ever had! I enjoyed 2 90-minute deep tissue massages, reflexology, and a facial. They were all blissful. I also got an amazing pedicure from Angie. The prices for the treatments are very reasonable and the therapists truly care about making sure that you are getting what you want. Carrie also gives yoga classes on Tuesday and Thursday mornings at 9am in the gym. The classes are $10 US and last about an hour. When I went, there were only 4 people in my class, so we all got individualized instruction and form corrections.

The entire stay at the Phoenix lived up to the reviews and more. September is part of the off season and the weather forecast called for storms every day that we were there, but we had plenty of sunshine. The weather was about 90 degrees, but the sea breeze kept everything very comfortable. It rained once very early in the morning and for about an hour at 10am on the day we left. By noon, everything was hot and sunny again. The accommodations and the food were first class and I can't wait to go back to San Pedro and visit the Phoenix again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kstrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

My husband & I after much researching & reading on TripAdvisor of where to stay, decided to book with the Phoenix, and of course to our expectation, everything was true to all the reviews other guests left.
The resort is well kept, beautiful, modern, walking distance to everything you need to see and do. Close to all the nice restaurants, super market if you want to do a little grocery shopping to stock up your fridge. Staff are friendly, polite, nice & trying to accomodate any request you might have. The management staffs are excellent, communicate well w. guest before & upon arrival, and follow up after stay.
We didn't use the Red Ginger restaurant, bc we really enjoyed the local joints of variety restaurant there...but it seems nice. My husband & his brother used the gym & liked it very much. The resort is always clean, there's always people cleaning & making sure everything is in place. There was even a security guard at the gate by the entrance from the beach making sure everything is ok, eventhough not for a moment that we feel anything less safe or being harrassed by anyone.
Master bedroom & secondary bedroom are equally great, very spacious & great bathroom. I have to give a thumb up to the bed here....AWESOME! I've been to the Westin & slept in their signature Heavenly Bed...this bed is as heavenly equal :-)
Everything is absolutely great, worth your time, money & effort. You might find something down the street for less, but this is by far, the best resort in San Pedro....Very happy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

My husband, 2 teenage kids and I stayed at the Phoenix, and it was PERFECT! Here are the many reasons why:

1) exceptional service... made great recommendations of tours & activities, restaurants, and even arranged for our flights to San Pedro and taxi ride from airport to hotel
2) the rooms are gorgeous... updated, clean, ocean views with every room
3) every unit contains a fully stocked kitchen including dishwasher
4) clothes washer & dryer in every unit
5) the hotel thought of all the little things... provided us with a cell phone for outgoing & incoming calls, wi-fi access, small but functional gym, spa
6) walking distance to the main part of town, which opened up a world of restaurant options & shops

I can't recommend this place high enough. The only knock would be the spa... it's small, not very luxurious, and very expensive.

One final tip: spend the money to go on an all-day tour with Oliver to snorkel, fish ,and swim with the manatees.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whereisnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Excellent Rooms
Excellent Kitchens
Awesome Views
The place is wonderful for a couple or family.
Walking distance to everything you need.
If I did not have some work to get done - I would return to the Phoenix next week.
The place is pretty incredible.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrbCarlsbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#4 of 55 in San Pedro
377 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
498 reviews
3.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 55 in San Pedro
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $354 - $690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing