We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you have to see to believe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
tx
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“you have to see to believe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

stayed at phoenix for my wifes birthday and our anniversary. i wanted everything perfect for these events and the phoenix delivered, including an upgrade.
even after reading reviews you just have to see/stay here. it is usually hard to be impressed after one reads great reviews, but get ready to be.

nice touch giving you a local cell phone with $10.00 worth of time, since we travelled with another couple this was handy.

front desk was great- booked us a last minute tour on the mainland, we gave them all of 45 minutes notice for booking trip and catching a tropic air flight.

enjoy!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank textraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    39
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
313
372
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

The Phoenix resort is a little oasis, right smack bang in the quaint ramshack town of San Pedro. We stayed for 8 nights with our Son and Daughter and their respective significant others in one of the 3 bedroom condo's in the resort, and I must confess to being a little concerned that we might be a little crowded. However, my concerns turned out to be totally unjustified. Each large double bedroom had a huge kingsized bed and the 2 enormous bathrooms and large living area were more than big enough. The gorgeous suite was fully kitted out with everything you could possibly need, including brand new full sized fridge feezer, dishwasher, microwave, blender, toaster, coffee machine etc etc, and a full in-suite laundry meant that I didn't come home to piles of dirty washing. The resort itself is small enough to be intimate and personal, yet large enough to be fully serviced. The Reg Ginger Restaurant is arguably the best on the island, but a little too pricey for a large group (who happen to all be poor students you're paying for) to eat there regularly. However, don't do what we did and leave it until near the end of your stay to sample the chocolate lava cake dessert - My husband would sell his first born for another one of those. The mutitude of staff, from front desk to the groundsmen who keep the place immaculate are genuinely friendly and happy and dealt with our very few requests within minutes of us making them.

We love the town of San Pedro, love the diving (we used Amigo's del Mar which is a 2 minute walk down the beach), love the climate, which is always warm and breezy and never oppressive and have been to the Island twice before, staying in other hotels just down the beach, but now, I would sooner not go back than stay anywhere else - I'd just feel cheated!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

The Good:
I LOVE this hotel! It is absolutely gorgeous and my stay here was my favorite thing about my trip to Belize. The pictures don't do the property justice. It definitely surpasses any of the other options on the island of San Pedro. Stacey, one of the owners, is super nice and very friendly. All of the staff that I encountered were nice and extremely helpful. The grounds are meticulously maintained every day. In comparison to the surrounding area (more in my Belize specific review), this hotel is like an oasis that you will not want to leave! I wish that the hotel could be picked up and moved to another island. Maybe Stacey will consider opening new properties in other areas.

The Bad:
The pool bar and restaurant closes early. No room service.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STACEY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

The Phoenix Belize is a very romantic condo resort! It is located within walking distance from the main strip of San Pedro. Our two bedrooms, sea view accommodation were exquisite and quaint. Stacey, Mark, Pam and staff treated us like family. The Red Ginger is one of the best restaurants on the island. Thanks for making our celebration memorable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2toTravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

This resort is first class, you will not find better in San Pedro. Try and get one of the beachfront condos with wrap-around balcony. I didn't want to leave!

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rjsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

Four of us stayed at the Phoenix for 7 nights in a very private and spacious two-bedroom. Everything from top to bottom was clean and spotless. The views of the ocean, sunsets & sunrises from our condo were some of the most beautiful things we've ever seen. It was a very romantic resort! The resort was located within walking distance to everything. Their restaurant, Red Ginger, is a MUST TRY. We felt like we stayed in a penthouse because not only was our accommodation immaculate, the staff members of the resort provided outstanding service. If you needed anything, one quick phone call to the front desk would send someone to your front door immediately. We highly recommend the Phoenix to our families and friends.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MP031409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

To begin a big thank you to The Phoenix for a fantastic stay but also for all the help in planning our daughters wedding. Mark was ever so helpful always e-mailing in a quick and timely manner. Stacey also. Helped us plan the perfect wedding. What a gorgeous site for a wedding and we can't wait for the photo's If we needed anything the staff would jump thru hoops to get us what we needed or requested. Rooms are fantastic, CLEAN and very comfy. We had a large group and they all only had good things to say about the resort. As you can see by other reviews this resort is top of the line.It is in town which makes it even more attractive and yet you feel secluded as it is quiet and cozy with a beautiful view from all the condo's. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and will return, just not soon enough. Thank you again to the friends we found in Belize you all are
UNBELIZEABLE !!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRIDESMOTHERTEXAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
6.9 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Property: The Phoenix Resort
Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort found on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. The Phoenix Resort features 27 beautifully-finished & spacious condominium suites, gourmet food served at on-site restaurant Red Ginger, the on-site services of Sol Spa, San Pedro's original and most popular day spa, a beautiful saline chlorinated and heated main pool & separate lap pool, pool bar, on-site fitness center, business center, front desk & concierge services from 6am to 11pm, free WiFi, 24 hour security, and the perfect location beachfront in the heart of San Pedro, the social center of Ambergris Caye. All suites face the Caribbean and offer plush Serta pillow top mattresses, 100% cotton linens & robes, Jacuzzi tubs & separate showers, Aveda bath & body products, flat screen TVs, DVD players, Bose wireless speakers, in suite iPads, full kitchens, washer and dryer, laptop friendly safes, central air conditioning, twice daily housekeeping, & much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing