We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the town, walk everywhere”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
san juan, pr
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Oasis in the town, walk everywhere”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This hotel has the most comfortable apartments with full kitchen, 2 bedrooms, full kitchen, balconies and, contrary to the North of the island, in the Phoenix you will have a cool breeze all day and night long. The rooms were very clean and beautiful. Full A/C and very spacious. Great for families. The food and service was stellar and the pool was attended by two persons all day and afternoon. We always had towels ready to take to excursions as well as for the pool area. They never ran out of anything and we were a big group. Yoga, spa, great food and the people are so nice. Security guards walk and check around the premises during the night. There are palm trees so the staff got coconuts for us tu drink upon request @ $8.00.

Room Tip: Wifi everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank csach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    41
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
335
394
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Tx
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We just returned from our 3rd trip to San Pedro, and our 3rd stay at the Phoenix. Going back this time, my family and I joked that they'd probably do *something* to give us the slightest pause that they deserve to be #1 ... I mean, they can't possibly be at the top of their game every single time, right? Surely they would drop the ball somewhere.
But, to our amazement, they didn't. Our trip this past week was every bit as wonderful as our 1st two had been. From the minute you arrive to your departure on your last day, they treat you like they are genuinely appreciative you booked with them, and grateful for your business. Never any problems with billing, room service and/or poolside service was always prompt and courteous, the facilities are top notch (from condos, to pool, to Sol Spa, to the onsite restaurant, Red Ginger), and the people are simply wonderful!!
On our 3rd day, we went out on a snuba trip to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley. On the boat over, we chit chatted with some others who were on our same tour, who were staying at other places on the island. One couple talked about how their condo on the far north end of the island, while beautiful, was "totally lame." They said no one talks to each other or tries to get to know each other, and the staff acts like they are doing you some favor anytime you ask for something. They also didn't realize how much of an inconveniece it would be to get to town everytime they wanted to come in. We told them, "ya'll should come to the Phoenix! We feel like we've made new friends there! And it's central to everything!" The other couple was staying at a place on the far south side of the island, and said they were enjoying their stay but "wouldn't write home about it." I feel the exact opposite about the Phoenix! I want to write home about it all day long!
Stay here if you come to Ambergris Caye. You won't be disappointed!! There really IS a reason it's ranked #1 on the island.

Room Tip: We stayed in B2, which was a ground floor unit. This was the first time we have stayed on the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Huge, spacious, well-appointed rooms; great pools; friendly staff; Caribbean views; and, great location. The Phoenix pretty much has it all. The only thing missing is a huge sandy beach, but we really didn’t miss the beach because everything else was so great. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit on the third floor and couldn’t have been happier with our room. Everything was just as described by many of the previous reviews, and everything on the hotel website was 100% accurate. The resort is right in San Pedro, and we think the location was perfect. It was very quiet and private, but just out the door was downtown San Pedro. We found several good grocery stores and lots of great restaurants. The grocery stores are small, but you can definitely get everything that you need. Also, the small fruit stands were great for our daily supply of mangos. I also loved the tortilla factory down the street for a daily supply of fresh made tortillas. We really liked buying local stuff rather than just the U.S. brands. We used the free bike rental and sea kayak. The front desk arranges rental from local vendors, and it is very easy and convenient. The bikes allowed us to explore a large area. After riding quite far north, we are really glad that we chose to stay at the Phoenix rather than a resort farther north. A nice aspect of being in San Pedro is that there are many good restaurants in walking distance. We all found the restaurants to be excellent, and my kids really enjoyed trying some of the local cuisine like the beans and rice, coconut rice, fried plantains, and all of the fresh seafood options. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have sea view and nice balcony. Upper rooms are quiet with great view, but no elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RamblerMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

My son and I made our first trip to Belize in May 2014. The Phoenix Resort was recommended to us by a high-end travel agency. The staff was excellent from the greeting to our leaving. The condo we had was large and frankly more than we expected. The location was perfect being able to walk to the city, food and lounges. The resort handled all our excursions. We had one issue which they handled expediently and appropriately. I would highly recommend this resort for those that are looking for a really nice place to stay in Belize.

Room Tip: We had a water front room yet all the rooms look like they have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sdoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Many other reviews have highlighted the perks of the Phoenix, and I agree with all. The front desk staff is remarkably friendly and professional. They arranged several excursions and dinner reservations for us. Our suite was huge, we really did not use 3/4 of it, but if you will be cooking or entertaining, it is perfect. The grounds are meticulously maintained, pool is very nice. The resort's layout results in maximum privacy. There were a few points which resulted in my not giving it an excellent. We were there during the off season and the resort was not busy. One night we did not receive turn down service. Normally not a huge issue, but when you're paying $300+ a night, your room should not be skipped. The lounge chairs by the pool are not very comfortable, they should have padded cushions, the fabric is very hard. Also not many umbrellas up at the pool, I was lucky to always get one, assuming if you asked they would provide. The last day we were told our luggage would be picked up, but it wasn't. We went down to check out and the front desk had to radio several times to have it collected. A resort like the Phoenix should have these details worked out. Overall a wonderful vacation, would definitely go back. One tip-US $ accepted everywhere.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jixers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Yes, the resort is a little more expensive than others, but it is worth it. We found everything from the staff, to the unit, to the location... to be exceptional. We stayed in a 1 BR unit that was, I'm guessing, 1000 square feet and had a deck that could seat 6, plus 2 lounge chairs. It is not often that I am impressed, but I was.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rs9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here in Oct. 2010. Very nice Resort. We intend on going back soon. Right on water. Nice pool and bar area. Restaurant was very good and affordable. Easy access to all water sports. Also we rented a golf cart and toured the town.

Room Tip: All rooms ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamelashead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
1.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
801 reviews
3.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
853 reviews
3.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Property: The Phoenix Resort
Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing