We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible resort”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible resort”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Definitely one of the best resorts I've stayed in: fantastic view, spacious suites, good food on resort property, and service was excellent. The front desk helped book domestic flights for decent prices which was appreciated.
Definitely recommend for families, couples, honeymoon, etc.

Room Tip: Beachfront view - unbeatable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    40
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
331
392
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

What can I say? If I could.. I'd give The Phoenix 6 stars.

The staff, accommodations, food and drink were absolutely superb at The Phoenix Resort for our honeymoon. I did not regret one single moment of our honeymoon together. We arrived in Belize City, our flight was booked to San Pedro airport, taxi picked us up, we were greeted with drinks in the lobby and our vacation started.

One very notable thing that made our trip that much more special. We had booked a cave tubing tour over in Belize City. Upon arriving by water taxi, we were devastated to find out that our wallets were left in the room with cash, id and anything important for us to get home. Frantically we called the front desk at the Phoenix and Rose, one of the very helpful attendants, made sure to be calm, clear and collected letting us know that our wallets would be airshipped within the hour via Tropic Air. Our guides took us on the 1st part of the tour and sure enough, the wallets arrived safely with all items intact. This was above and beyond what I was expecting from a resort.

Room Tip: Pick a ground floor room facing the pool.. its the best to just walk out from your room, into the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaronj644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Over the top resort. Rooms are large and very well appointed. Pool and views are top notch. But all comes in second to the service! Could not be better. Matter of fact at the pool bar my wife wanted a drink with coconut so the bartender sends a maintenance guy to fetch a latter, climb a tree to get fresh coconut for her drink! How's that for service!!! Y'all come.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank brian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I have just returned from a seven night stay at the Phoenix and all I can say is one word - amazing! The staff, the location, and the view from the balcony were all top notch. My wife and I will definitely be returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank appst98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

What a fantastic resort. It is right in San Pedro. We had the 2 bedroom (D2) that is right on the water..literally walk 15 steps. The way the room is situated it seems like you have your own house with a yard. We loved it so much we had dinner out on our patio 3 nights...you just could not beat the view. The people are fantastic..they really make the stay that much more enjoyable. I want to say a big thank you to Keisha and Gabriela at the front desk...they worked with me for months to put together different excursions. They also provided a cake and decorated the room for our birthday girl. It was truly so thoughtful and above and beyond what one would expect. I also want to thank Ramon at the pool...within the first 5 minutes he knew our names and provided excellent service. The only down side is that there is no beach and no real access to the water from this resort...HOWEVER, rent a boat and get out into the bay and enjoy all that it has to offer..this is not the beach sitting kind of place. (see my review on Catamaran Belize for the best choice for rental) Thanks again Phoenix for a perfect week!!

Room Tip: D2 is the PERFECT room...ground floor..ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texasgirl020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Tripadvisor has informed me that I have only traveled 6% of the world. With 94% to go, it could be considered profligate to re-visit any one destination. With that in mind, we have attempted to broaden our travel horizons but always end up comparing our stay with Belize, Ambergris Caye and in particular, the Phoenix Resort.

Most destinations have at least one flaw. It may be too inaccessible, dangerous, expensive, touristy or exploitative. That flaw tends to loom over and color an otherwise acceptable holiday. I can say without reservation that the Phoenix and its surrounds have none of these.

The real strength of the Phoenix is that it is a fine and caring establishment located in a simple and non-touristy small town surrounded by the beauty of its beaches, culture and people. Here is a picture of some of that beauty.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harold O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpolliver
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just returned from a week at the Phoenix. All the reviews are spot on. The staff works as a team and treats you like a guest, not a booking. Our room (D4) was very well appointed and had a balcony overlooking the beach (very relaxing). I'm a diver, my wife not so much and she enjoyed lolling by the pool being served drinks by the guys. Overall, a near fantasy Caribbean island type resort. My only ding is the restaurant. We ate there one night and one breakfast. The food was good, the service excellent. However, the ambiance was.... sterile, especially compared to the rest of the resort. They should consider moving some dining tables out to the sand next to the beach, but inside the resort enclosure. At night, the resort is quiet.

A word of advice about Ambergris Caye. The town is a sleepy Carribean fishing village attached to a scuba destination, sprinkled with some fine resorts. Ramon's Village has a Disney-like Tiki-tiki village feel, Victoria House feels like an English seaside resort, Phoenix has more of a California Malibu resort ambiance. All are great, depending on your preference. We met many other vacationers during the week and rarely heard a complaint about any of the top 20 or so resorts.

But don't expect Cancun or Paradise Island. The beach restaurants are generally nice, a couple of the local restaurants are nice, the locals are welcoming and friendly, but the shopping is non-existent, and nightlife consists of a few beach bars ( mostly deserted). The one time we saw an evening crowd of tourists they were congealed around a game of chicken-poop bingo. Early May is the shoulder season and the town felt deserted. The three streets that comprise town are definitely not tourist oriented. As a scuba diver, it was great. As an accompanying spouse, it could have had more things to do.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jpolliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
794 reviews
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
453 reviews
3.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Property: The Phoenix Resort
Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing