We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Phoenix - worthy of its rating”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We selected the Phoenix based on Trip Advisor reviews, but otherwise knew very little about it. We stayed there from Jan 25 - Feb 1 2014 and had a super time! Everything was outstanding - the staff was always friendly and courteous, and anxious to help in any way. They enthusiastically made numerous arrangements for us (airport transfers, excursions, etc.), all of which worked out perfectly. The outdoor staff at the pool and pool bar (Rolando was a great bartender!) were friendly and helpful, and made it a point to call you by name. Overall, it was a great week and we would not hesitate to return to the Phoenix, or to recommend it to anyone considering a trip to Belize.

Room Tip: The three bedroom suite with ocean view, if you have a number of travelers, was really perfect with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 997 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Phoenix resort surpassed all expectations we had and after reading all the reviews, our expectations were high. For 4 nights we stayed in a 2 bedroom unit that was beautiful, clean, quiet, well equipped with a full kitchen and washer/dryer. From the moment we arrived, I felt at home. The staff was amazing, warm and friendly and making sure all details were attended to. We went for a private guided day trip and the staff called the guide twice during our tour to make sure everything was going well and we didn't need anything. I've never felt so cared for at any hotel I've ever been to - literally. I 100% recommend them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kkimik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was our second stay at the Phoenix. We received a wonderful welcome back, our names on welcoming card and the bed with floral decoration. The staff is incredible, always willing to help with any request. They really go over and above with their advice and attention to detail. Tropic Air reservations were all taken care of and a check on our flight home done for us also. So many things to enjoy, Red Ginger had delicious food, wonderful staff and our housekeeping staff did a wonderful job also. Great location, great amenities and we look forward to our next visit and would recommend the Phoenix to anyone planning a trip to Ambergris Caye.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lefty89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Having stayed at the Phoenix 4 times in the last year, there is not another resort on the island that compares. Great location, unparalleled guest services staff, best restaurant on the island. Pools and suites are beautiful and perfectly maintained.
What makes this resort so special is the attention to detail. When you walk through the front door, anything you wish for is yours, with a smile. From spa appointments to coordinating your flight over from Belize City, there is only one choice on Ambregris Caye. Kuddos to Mark M and his staff for a job well done. My husband and I call this resort our Four Seasons of Ambregris Caye

Room Tip: Top floor building A and C
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawnLo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I would highly recommend the Phoenix Resort in Belize. I choose this hotel because of the reviews and it's #1 position on Trip Advisor. They have definitely lived up to the reviews. We rented a 2 bedroom unit since the 1 bedrooms were booked, however, coming back every day after scuba diving, it was great having 2 separate showers. The master has a jacuzzi tub and both rooms King size beds which were very comfortable. My only complaint is they didn't have down pillows, but I brought my own just in case (due to neck problems).

The staff are very friendly and helpful. They paid for our taxis to and from the airport, arranged our local flights on Tropic Air from Belize International to Ambergris Caye and back, arranged taxis for us when necessary, made sure we had everything we needed before we left for a day in Cayo where we did the ATM Cave Tour, and confirmed our local flights the night before flying on Tropic Air. The correspondence from the hotel prior to our trip was fantastic, and they are happy to arrange any day excursions you would like to do.

Upon arrival, they greeted us with the traditional island rum drink and off the glasses as souvenirs if we'd like to keep them. On the counter in the kitchen, we found wrapped homemade coconut-lime bars for us to enjoy, compliments of their family of businesses (The Red Ginger, Blue Water Grill, Caliente and Wine de Vine), and on a small side table, a small bottle of the local Rum, Coca Cola, soda water, and a lime as well as the recipes for drink suggestions, and a post card with our first names on it, welcoming us. The 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen and living rooms are spacious and there are flat screen TV's in each room. In addition, the Wifi is free and they gave us a local phone to use in town with some minutes on it since phone calls are almost $3US per minute. When we needed more minutes, we went to a store to purchase them. Local calls on the loaner phone was very inexpensive and a great asset since buying a local phone can be expensive. They also had an iPad with the menus of their restaurants on it as well as other local things to do and restaurant menus.

This hotel is located close to the center of San Pedro town and the airport and it is very convenience to walk to most places in town. We didn't need to rent a golf cart and only had to walk next door to the pier to meet our scuba boat. It was worth the extra money for the 2 bedrooms even though my mother and I could have shared a room, but wanted to stay at this hotel, and I'm glad we did. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room A7 which faces the pool and courtyard. However we had a huge patio spanning the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathylynne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed for 10 days with two children - 12 and 10 in a two bedroom, oceanfront condo. You have already read about the size of the units (true - enormous), the décor and stock (kitchen, bed, bath - all true - nothing missing), the cleanliness (possibly the best we have stayed at). The pool and grounds are wonderful (ok - only big suggestion - heat the main pool - apparently this is in the works - and consider a hot tub). What truly sets this resort apart is the staff, particularly the front desk. We booked all excursions through the resort. Not going to lie - they were kind of pricey, but considering that most of them involved us driving away to a remote location in a car or boat with strangers (with our kids), I was more than willing to pay a bit more than what we could have negotiated with a tour operator down the street for the security that I felt. Without exception, the hotel booked excellent, safe and gregarious tour guides. I believe that the hotel has done research to ensure that it is aligned with the best guides operating. The hotel checked in twice during one long tour to ensure that we arrived/were returning soon. The staff also booked dinner reservations and were excellent with advice. At no time in our earlier travels have we ever experienced that level of service.

Here are some tips/suggestions:

1) we did cave tubing/zipline/Belize zoo tour with Carlos from Blue Morpho Tour. He was fantastic with my kids, extremely knowledgeable and just generally fun. We did the Lamanai tour through the hotel - interesting but the boat ride was a bit long for my kids (1 1/4 hours to the site, a 1 1/2 hour walk and tour of the site, lunch then boat ride back). We did a day long fishing/snorkeling/beach bbq with Oliver and Jimmy which was the highlight of my son's trip. We went snorkeling twice with Lil Alphonse company - once with Lil Alphonse and once with Iver. Both were amazing trips and came with more instruction/assistance than we have experienced on previous snorkeling trips.

2) had a nice facial at the spa. Very pretty - similar to a spa at home

3) one of the owners of a unit gave me the phone number of her massage therapist who she uses every visit. Miss Shirlene (666-3536). Three of us had massages one day. It was $40 per hour. She has a tent/hut on the beach about 15 minute walk north of the resort. It's (mostly) private and you hear the ocean and birds (and occasional people) outside. The massages were excellent and frankly, 1/3 of the price anywhere else. Miss Shirlene is warm and very friendly. I highly recommend calling her.

I will only rave about something if I truly think that there is little to improve upon - The Phoenix qualifies.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mominOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We spent a few days here after a week's birdwatching at Chan Chich. I settled on the Phoenix after emailing several hotels - their response was the most helpful. They suggested and organised a direct flight for us which gave us valuable extra time in the resort rather than at Belize city airport. Room and balcony great (B3), restaurant great including room service (full menu available), front desk gave good advice and the recommended snorkel expedition was the most informative we've been on. We also snorkelled off Ramon's pier which was pleasant in a roped off area to protect from all the boat traffic. D and E's ice cream place is nearby and worth a visit.

Belize is not easy to get to from the UK and personally I wouldn't come for the coast alone, but as an add-on to another trip or tour San Pedro was fine and a lovely, friendly, laid back resort.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Deiagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
358 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
478 reviews
3.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $354 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing