We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overwhelmed. Almost impossible to improve.”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed for 10 days with two children - 12 and 10 in a two bedroom, oceanfront condo. You have already read about the size of the units (true - enormous), the décor and stock (kitchen, bed, bath - all true - nothing missing), the cleanliness (possibly the best we have stayed at). The pool and grounds are wonderful (ok - only big suggestion - heat the main pool - apparently this is in the works - and consider a hot tub). What truly sets this resort apart is the staff, particularly the front desk. We booked all excursions through the resort. Not going to lie - they were kind of pricey, but considering that most of them involved us driving away to a remote location in a car or boat with strangers (with our kids), I was more than willing to pay a bit more than what we could have negotiated with a tour operator down the street for the security that I felt. Without exception, the hotel booked excellent, safe and gregarious tour guides. I believe that the hotel has done research to ensure that it is aligned with the best guides operating. The hotel checked in twice during one long tour to ensure that we arrived/were returning soon. The staff also booked dinner reservations and were excellent with advice. At no time in our earlier travels have we ever experienced that level of service.

Here are some tips/suggestions:

1) we did cave tubing/zipline/Belize zoo tour with Carlos from Blue Morpho Tour. He was fantastic with my kids, extremely knowledgeable and just generally fun. We did the Lamanai tour through the hotel - interesting but the boat ride was a bit long for my kids (1 1/4 hours to the site, a 1 1/2 hour walk and tour of the site, lunch then boat ride back). We did a day long fishing/snorkeling/beach bbq with Oliver and Jimmy which was the highlight of my son's trip. We went snorkeling twice with Lil Alphonse company - once with Lil Alphonse and once with Iver. Both were amazing trips and came with more instruction/assistance than we have experienced on previous snorkeling trips.

2) had a nice facial at the spa. Very pretty - similar to a spa at home

3) one of the owners of a unit gave me the phone number of her massage therapist who she uses every visit. Miss Shirlene (666-3536). Three of us had massages one day. It was $40 per hour. She has a tent/hut on the beach about 15 minute walk north of the resort. It's (mostly) private and you hear the ocean and birds (and occasional people) outside. The massages were excellent and frankly, 1/3 of the price anywhere else. Miss Shirlene is warm and very friendly. I highly recommend calling her.

I will only rave about something if I truly think that there is little to improve upon - The Phoenix qualifies.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mominOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
There are newer reviews for The Phoenix Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 988 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

We spent a few days here after a week's birdwatching at Chan Chich. I settled on the Phoenix after emailing several hotels - their response was the most helpful. They suggested and organised a direct flight for us which gave us valuable extra time in the resort rather than at Belize city airport. Room and balcony great (B3), restaurant great including room service (full menu available), front desk gave good advice and the recommended snorkel expedition was the most informative we've been on. We also snorkelled off Ramon's pier which was pleasant in a roped off area to protect from all the boat traffic. D and E's ice cream place is nearby and worth a visit.

Belize is not easy to get to from the UK and personally I wouldn't come for the coast alone, but as an add-on to another trip or tour San Pedro was fine and a lovely, friendly, laid back resort.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Deiagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Our suite was beautifully appointed with stunning views of the ocean. The location of the Phoenix allows one to walk to everything - dining, entertainment, along the shore. The feature that truly sets the Phoenix apart from other establishments is the staff. Every request we made was met with a smile and was acted on immediately. We couldn't have asked for a more perfectly relaxing and pampered setting for our vacation away from our bleak Michigan winter.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor with an ocean frontage. It was wonderful.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncm11653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Just enjoyed a fabulously relaxing week at the Phoenix. The units are spacious, contemporary, very comfortable and fully stocked with everything you need - full kitchen, filtered water, flat screen tv's, free wifi, iPad, local cellular phone etc. Food at Red Ginger is excellent. Pools are wonderful- always plenty of room and towels available. Easy access to the pier for ocean swimming. Highlight here is the staff (front desk, pool, restaurant and bar, cleaning staff)- extremely friendly and helpful (thank you Pamela!), and always aiming to please. Front desk/ concierge will make all arrangements for excursions, dinner reservations, and any other activities you want to plan. Highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank jackzvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

First time in Belize, and candidly, all the amazing TA reviews made me a bit of a skeptic. Can anyone live up to such an exalted standard? I had picked their brain about everything months before and they were extremely patient and full of valuable information, but its another thing to execute for 7 nights flawlessly.

Happily, the answer is they do it without breaking a sweat. Free taxi, cool towel, and a rum punch at arrival, attentive and well informed staff, first class room and accoutrements, robes, cell, Ipad, etc. They even had a bottle of rum and a lime in the room waiting for us.

Every time they made a reservation for us, we got the white glove treatment from other hotels, it was amazing, best tables etc. They are so connected, everyone of their vendors treats you like family. The weather was mediocre and it rained off and on, but they had rainy day evernts, cocktail specials, umbrellas, ponchos, everything you need. Mark, Pam, Rosa, Andrew and all the staff were awesome.

We booked for next year, and they gave us a nice discount as happy campers. Cant wait!

Room Tip: Third floor has best views, but lots of stairs, no elevators.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluewaterk330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This was our first trip to Belize. We stayed the first full week of January. The Phoenix had the absolutely best service of any hotel or resort we have ever stayed out. The team at the front desk were truly at our beck and call and helped us with our every need. It was by far one of the cleanest, nicest hotels we saw while in San Pedro. Pools were great. The tours they booked us on were all excellent. Red Ginger was in the top 2 restaurants we ate at. We stayed in A9 which had wonderful views, and was absolutely huge. everything was modern and clean. Would we go back? Absolutely! We can't say enough about the staff. They were amazing!

Room Tip: All rooms seem quiet. There are no elevators so if you have trouble with stairs, choose a lower roo...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed at The Phoenix hotel during the first week in January. We had a two room ground floor suite, and the accommodations were clean, comfortable and modern. All of the amenities were high end. It;s located at the northern border of the main town, which is essential if you want to stay at a classy place and be able to walk into town where all the shops, restaurants and actions is. The front desk staff is OUTSTANDING and will help you with anything you need. The restaurant services delicious food, but it took forever to be served. The spa was nice, and the "fitness center" was just a couple of machines in a mainly empty room - not even really a gym. But nowhere is perfect, but the Phoenix was close. One tip - put the do not disturb sign on your door if you don't want housekeeping to wake you up early in the morning to clean your room.

Room Tip: Pick a suite closest to the water as possible.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank YandB_LabLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
354 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
857 reviews
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $320 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing