We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Phoenix Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Conch Shell Inn(San Pedro)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
SunBreeze Suites(San Pedro)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Capricorn Resort(San Pedro)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Spindrift Hotel(San Pedro)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Hotel(San Pedro)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ruby's Hotel(San Pedro)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,041)
Filter reviews
1,041 results
Traveler rating
995
42
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
995
42
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred gingersol spachocolate tastingin towngolf cartcell phoneambergris cayefull kitchenbottle of rumfront desk staffpool stafflaundry detergentwrap around balconypool barhuge balconybedroom suitedinner reservations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
541 - 546 of 1,041 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My husband and I were on our honeymoon in Belize and made stops to different parts of the country and one was to San Pedro where we stayed at the beautiful Phoenix Resort. Previously, we had been had a lesser quality hotel within San Ignacio so this spot was a definite upgrade! We we were blown away with how lovely everything was here. When brought to our suite we were given complimentary wine and champagne since we were there for our honeymoon, not sure this would be the case in other instances, but was a nice touch nonetheless. They also provided us with a cell phone in the instance that we would need to make calls while on the island and didn't have an international plan. Probably the biggest highlights to staying there was the location and views. We were right in the heart of downtown and could easily walk to all the restaurants and bars. Next comes the views. Absolutely breathtaking to wake up to beautiful sunrises each morning and eat breakfast staring at the sea. At night, we would sit on the balcony and stare at the stars, can't get that in Chicago! Everything from beginning to end was top notch and would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to San Pedro, Belize, even if they aren't on their honeymoon!

Room Tip: Having a view of the sea provided a beautiful view to wake up to!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyLobsterGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We loved our stay at The Phoenix. Pam, Andrew, all the staff really, were just excellent. We were there on a very rainy week for a long needed family vacation. We had stayed at Tranquility Bay before going to The Phoenix. Because of the weather, we were really bitten badly at TB and there was not much to do (but that's another review) and even though we had bad weather the whole trip (arghh) The Phoenix was delightful. We just felt pampered. We took a second floor corner 2 bedroom and we had a full corner balcony looking out onto the water. It was amazing. We walked in town, ate dinner at all the local spots, watched movies, got in one or two days at the pool and basically, just spent time together and relaxed. While better weather would have been preferred if you have to be away in the rain (or anytime), I highly recommend The Phoenix. We have been all over the world and this is certainly one of the top places anywhere.

Room Tip: choose a corner suite as you have the giant sweeping balcony on all sides
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Phoenix Resort is a place that we will remember forever. Although my wife and I were only there for 3 nights/4 days, the experience here is impossible to forget.
The front desk staff personally walks you around the property (rain or shine) upon arrival after paying your cab fare, where you eventually arrive at your "room". I say "room" because it is more like a lavish apartment that puts the Trump to shame. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite (A8) that overlooked the ocean, but there is not a bad room in this place.
The front desk scheduled every adventure for us and are on a first name basis with everyone they have to call to set things up. They truly care about you and it is very apparent from the moment you walk in.
Walking around San Pedro, you will quickly notice this is the nicest looking resort within walking distance. I only say walking distance because that is as far as we went. The barside pool is an excellent touch and you will have the best Mojito of your life here. Hands down.
They give you a cell phone with 10 minutes prepaid, which is nice to tell family back home that you arrived safely. You can get more minutes right on the phone if you want, too.
We will be back here for sure. Don't pass this place up.

Room Tip: Grab a corner room if available.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpreston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Went to The Phoenix for our honeymoon... It was just as great as the reviews, the staff was very courteous! They greeted us on arrival with drinks, invited us to the manager's happy hour, and gave us a thorough tour of the resort. The restaurant on site is very good, probably the best in San Pedro. We stayed over a week, and loved the 1 bedroom suite and view. One thing about the view... there is a cemetery right next to the hotel, so pick a suite where you don't have a first hand view of this. We had in room massages and did a fishing and snorkeling trip. Unfortunately a tropical storm came the second day and it was rainy most the time we were in Belize, so we didn't get to do much. This resort is probably the best and safest in San Pedro. We loved Belize, but just make sure you know what you are getting into... It is pretty much like traveling to Mexico. The pictures of the town were a little deceiving, we were expecting this Caribbean destination, and we were surprised when we stepped off our flight. Other than that, the resort was great, the manager and staff is amazing. Maybe one day we will return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kbee29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Six friends from 3 different locations with varying schedules planned a dive vacation on Ambergris Caye. We looked at hotels and chose to stay in town at the Phoenix. Every conversation, email or interaction we had with them while planning the trip was outstanding. They made it easy to plan. When we arrived, the friendly staff made us welcome. The apartments - 3, 2 and 1 bedroom - were outstanding, new, well furnished and well cared for by the staff. The location was perfect. We dove with Amigos del Mar and walked to their pier. Restaurants were all within walking distance. Mark and his team get kudos for helping us plan and then for providing an outstanding trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews