We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Best place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Phoenix Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, SC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Best place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Was here with a group, and I really enjoyed our suite! Upon arrival, they had cold towels and rum punch waiting on us! I was very pleased to find purified water in the kitched for us to drink along with the refridgerator being hooked to purfied water for clean ice! The daily housekeeping was excellent, and people at the front desk were exceptional. Can't get a better location than the Phoenix. Its right on the beach, and within a short walk from MANY shops, piers, and activities. Their pool was beautiful and had great view of the ocean and beach, and had a poolside bar stocked with clean towels. The grounds were immaculate and well taken care of! There are no elevators, but the hotel staff carried our luggage upon check in and check out. I would definatley stay here again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Gadget76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    39
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
308
358
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Phoenix is a wonderful place to stay in San Pedro. We considered several other resorts that are on the north end of the island. We chose The Phoenix because of its location in San Pedro. It is perfect for those who like to experience the culture, food, and atmosphere of their destination. We rented a golf cart and drove to the north end of the island to check out the other highly rated resorts and found them to be very isolated from San Pedro thus confirming our decision.

The staff and service at The Phoenix are top tier. Prior to our arrival they helped to arrange our snorkeling trip and a Mayan tour both of which were awesome. They gave us excellent restaurant suggestions. Our two bedroom condo was immaculate and exceeded our expectations. The grounds and pool are well kept as well. We will definitely be staying at The Phoenix on our next visit to Belize.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FriscoTxDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The best hotel in town, modern, nice and great service, much better then anything else we have seen in our stay...The food at the small restaurant is great and service is excellent. the beach like most of the Island is so, so but this is Ambergris Caye, not Cancun 9How did this Island finished firt in 2013 in Tripadvisor? only god knows)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosaEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed recently at the Phoenix in an oceanfront suite for a week. Our first time to the island and the hotel, and we fell in love with it all. From the warm welcomes very day (Rose, Gabriela, Rolando, and Gini, among others) to the fantastic food, incredibly large, clean, well laid out condo suite and wonderful suggestions as to what to do and where to go, we felt right at home from the first moment. We highly recommend this ogle especially to couples who want to be within walking distance of fantastic restaurants and cute shops, but in a luxury setting. We can't wait to return! Thanks to everyone at the Phoenix for making our stay so incredible.

Room Tip: We had an oceanfront suite and it was large, well stocked and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curljaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
175 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Upon arrival at San Pedro's tiny airport, grab a taxi which The Phoenix will pay for upon arrival to the hotel. Note that this is NOT a resort, but more of a hotel of condos. The Phoenix can also book and handle your domestic flight needs and add it to your bill.

Grounds: For San Pedro, the grounds are top notch, but don't compare to some of the resorts I've visited around the world. I think they tend to be somewhat eco friendly here so there's no wasted water or chemicals to keep non-native plants alive. The grounds are clean and surrounded by local fauna. There are people always keeping it tidy throughout the day and you feel very secure (also located across the street from the police and fire station). Located in the heart of downtown (if you call that), everything is easily accessible by foot.

Room(s): Stayed in a B unit, 3rd floor 3BR (we had friends in A12, too). This was the central view of the resort with the balcony facing the pool and ocean directly head on. Spacious, modern, clean, and unique. While the furniture and tiles seem to be similar in other rooms, the artwork, paint scheme, and actual room layouts differed. Bathrooms were very nice, clean, and large plus stocked with Aveda goodies. If there was something you needed that wasn't in the bathroom, ask the front desk and they'll probably have it (aloe, shaving kit, qtips...etc). Kitchen was well equipped and was an open space with the LR. The 5gal of spring water and welcome drink(s)/bottles were a nice touch. The balcony was large and could accomodate plenty of people. It had a teak table w/6 chairs, and 4 chaises.

BR(s): Master was beautiful, well lit, and shared the balcony. Comfy bed and soft linens. Plenty of storage and beautiful teak closets. Ipod dock in each room was also a nice touch. Other rooms were also a good size, and were like full-size apartment bedrooms.

Service: Impeccable service was expected based on previous reviews and my expectations were pretty much met. While I must say, the service was not as opulent as my two stays at "Four Seasons" resorts, it was better than any other place I've stayed at. The workers are friendly, helpful, and will do anything they can to make your stay worthwhile. For example, I lost my wedding ring in the pool on the 1st day and had no idea I even lost it. Lo and behold, the next morning, a pool/groundskeeper found it and somehow knew it was mine. While tipping is not expected at the resort, a little tip here and there can always get you even better service. Rolando at the pool bar was great. The ladies at the front desk were also extremely accommodating.

Activities: The activities list at the front desk is top notch. They use the best operators on the island and have good prices. While you may find cheaper excursions, they will not be of the same quality. We did the private fishing/bbq/snorkeling speedboat (5*), Hol Chan/Shark alley tour (4.5* due to crowds), and played a round of golf at Caye Chapel (5*). The gym was adequate for basic workouts and the free tue/thurs yoga was worthwhile. The free drinks on Fri for happy hour was also nice.

Food: We never ordered room service since there are so many good restaurants in the area just a few steps away from the hotel where they don't charge resort prices. The pool food was above average, and the dinner at Red Ginger I'd give 3.5*. Blue Water Grille, which is at the other side of the town (10min walk) was much better, but also much more crowded (4.5*). I will provide separate reviews of the various places we dined at outside of the resort if you're interested.

Overall, this was one of the best places I've had the pleasure of staying at in my vast travel portfolio. Our 8 day vacation was amazing thanks to the wonderful service, beautiful accommodations, and lovely/friendly people.

Room Tip: 3rd floor B unit has a great view of both the street and the ocean/pool. Be forewarned that there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobChills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Phoenix is absolutely the best place to stay in Belize! The apartments are enormous, beautifully decorated and have a stunning view! And for all of this, the price was very reasonable. The staff is all top notch and very willing to help in any way they can. Belize is different from other island vacations we have been on, in that there are no sandy beaches, but the pool area at the Phoenix is more than adequate. The diving and snorkeling more than make up for the lack of beach, too. We would love to go back to Belize, and would not consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms have a lovely view - as good or better than the ocean front rooms because they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSims473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Phoenix for our honeymoon in September of 2012 and can't say enough wonderful things about this beautiful resort! When we arrived we were exhausted from our trip and were greeted with ice cold minty cooling towels and a ginger rum punch...what a way to start our vacation! From that moment on we had an incredible experience! The food was fantastic (you MUST try the black bean soup from Red Ginger!) and the service was impeccable. Our room was very large and kept very clean by the staff. We really could not have had a better honeymoon...we plan to return for our 5th anniversary!

We highly recommend Geo's next to the hotel for breakfast and coffee...the people in there are so fun and the food was great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
#4 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#8 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
3.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Property: The Phoenix Resort
Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort found on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. The Phoenix Resort features 27 beautifully-finished & spacious condominium suites, gourmet food served at on-site restaurant Red Ginger, the on-site services of Sol Spa, San Pedro's original and most popular day spa, a beautiful saline chlorinated and heated main pool & separate lap pool, pool bar, on-site fitness center, business center, front desk & concierge services from 6am to 11pm, free WiFi, 24 hour security, and the perfect location beachfront in the heart of San Pedro, the social center of Ambergris Caye. All suites face the Caribbean and offer plush Serta pillow top mattresses, 100% cotton linens & robes, Jacuzzi tubs & separate showers, Aveda bath & body products, flat screen TVs, DVD players, Bose wireless speakers, in suite iPads, full kitchens, washer and dryer, laptop friendly safes, central air conditioning, twice daily housekeeping, & much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing