We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon!”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Phoenix for our honeymoon in September of 2012 and can't say enough wonderful things about this beautiful resort! When we arrived we were exhausted from our trip and were greeted with ice cold minty cooling towels and a ginger rum punch...what a way to start our vacation! From that moment on we had an incredible experience! The food was fantastic (you MUST try the black bean soup from Red Ginger!) and the service was impeccable. Our room was very large and kept very clean by the staff. We really could not have had a better honeymoon...we plan to return for our 5th anniversary!

We highly recommend Geo's next to the hotel for breakfast and coffee...the people in there are so fun and the food was great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    40
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
331
391
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night May 26th. We were greeted with punch, a shot of rum, and a wet towel. The room was beautiful and spacious. The welcome and room amenities were outstanding. The location although great for experiencing the town was wonderful, it could get loud as it was near a very public street.

Yes, there is no beach, but a nice pool with some bar service. Not too impressed with Red Ginger's tapas, but service was great.

Overall good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel looks modest as you arrive, and you might wonder why everyone raves about it... Essentially, it's modern for San Pedro without looking ritzy. Upon entering, you are greeted by fantastic, friendly staff.. they are all too willing to help; nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are beautifully appointed and BIG, very spacious. They are the size of large one bedroom apartments. Ahava bathroom products. Fully equipped kitchen. Rum and coke waiting in the room upon arrival (perhaps because it was our honeymoon, I'm unsure?)
The pool is very relaxing. A perfect place to read a book, particularly because the beach is pretty much non existent in San Pedro.
The Phoenix's location is brilliant. Close to everything. If not, you're after something afar, hire a golf cart and explore. Lots of fun.
All recommendations such as scuba, restaurants whether lunch or dinner were spot on. We would 100% stay at the Phoenix again should we visit San Pedro. Thanks for a perfect 5 nights.

Room Tip: I had two rooms. B1 was a beautiful one bedroom suite. Then we moved to A2 due to hotel vacancy, thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bg_ALoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at the Phoenix resort from may21-28 and it was great. we got married last year in San Pedro and wanted to come back. I am Belizean now loving in the States, but I try to visit home as often as possible. The Phoenix is very beautiful, we have been at many hotels here in the states and in Belize, but the Phoenix is everything you read about in tripAdvisor and much more. The rooms were big and beautiful and fully furnished with everything including a washer and dryer, which was as you can imagine, very helpful. The staff was very helpful with everything, especially housekeeping, they came twice per day to see if you needed anything. we will be staying at the Phoenix on our next trip to Belize..

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view, but I think rooms on the third floor has a little better view. one thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Phoenix is one of the best resorts we have experienced! The service was the best, super organized! We never had to wait for transportation to and from the airport or for our Lamanai Jungle River tour. We were very appreciative of NOT having to wait for hours unnecessarily at the airport. Location was perfect for walking to shops and restaurants. We enjoyed the staff and food at all three restaurants in the Phoenix 'family', especiallly the Red Ginger which is on site. We were pleasantly surprised how peaceful and quiet the entire resort was, especially since it is downtown. Beautiful resort inside and out!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trdonahue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Returned last weekend from a week of perfection. Doing your research here does pay off. I'm self employed so my rare vacation getaways really need to count and The Phoenix delivered - thank-you. We toured sown south on the golf-cart and while we could not go north with the current bridge works we did get up there by water taxi - so I can say The Phoenix is ideally situated. To the north of the more touristy strip you feel you have some privacy while at the same time the town is conveniently close.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom Oceanfront with friends. The condo units are modern and have everything you need. The deck was amazing. Nice bathrooms and great bed - makes for a great stay,

Front desk staff arrange anything you need - big asset to this property.

Red Ginger restaurant is very good - they did a superb meal for our wedding anniversary, perhaps topped only by the day we went fishing and came back with a bunch of Barracuda which they cooked up for us that evening - feasting on fish you caught that day was amazing.

I totally recommend The Phoenix - thanks for a great vacation!

Room Tip: Go for the sea-front rooms - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spold905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The service and quality of the Phoenix is impeccable! The staff goes out of their way to make sure your every need is met. Also, the entire resort is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are spacious with amazing views. The pool is like a little slice of paradise and the pool bar is the icing on the cake. Another great quality of the Phoenix is how close you are to everything. You can walk to all restaurants, dive shops and shops, but if you want to rent a bike or golf cart, you can easily head up the island. You will not be disappointed if you choose the Phoenix as your destination!!

Room Tip: I recommend the room facing the ocean... huge balconies and unbelievable views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
793 reviews
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
453 reviews
3.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Property: The Phoenix Resort
Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing