We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Vacation”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We loved this resort. It was a great place for a family location. We took our one year old and had no issues. The staff was very helpful. It was a beautiful location. Try the frozen mojitos by the pool.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TBAALA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    40
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
327
388
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
westchester, ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and i just returned from 8 days in Belize and can't say enough great things about The Phoenix!! The rooms are big and beautiful and almost all have a view of the pool and beach. The grounds are exquisitely kept. The staff is wonderful and incredibly accommodating. Although located right in the center of the San Pedro strip, you would almost never know it when you are on the resort grounds. I could go on and on but suffice to say that we will return - and we have yet to say that about any hotel we've ever been to!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrjdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattapoisett, ma
Level Contributor
290 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a wonderful place to spend quality time with your family. There is an impressive collection of board games and DVDs to borrow at your leisure, there is every kind of water or beach activity and a wonderful spot to read and relax. We loved renting bikes and riding along the coast and strongly recommend the snorkeling trip with Lil Alphonse. I swam every morning in the lap pool which was just perfect!
The only thing they could do to make our vacation perfect would be adding a few hammocks either on the balcony or under some of the trees.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbythec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Everything went off without a hitch, thanks to the excellent staff at the Phoenix. We arrived mid-day and were greeted each by name, and handed a tasty and interesting beverage (with a rum mixer for the grown ups). Our 4 year old was so excited with the cool wash cloth he was given to refresh his face, that he asked to take it to our room with him. The "room" is more of a condo, and was far bigger than our first apartment in Washington DC. We had 2 bedrooms, 2 full baths and a lovely kitchen and living area. Everything looks exactly as it does on the website. Little gifts were in the room, such as a bottle of rum and mixers with recipes. Coffee and tea are provided in the room daily for the guest's kitchen. Robes and slippers are also in the room and are very comfy- the slippers are yours to keep. The views are spectacular- looking out over the pool and toward the water is a treat in itself. And speaking of the pool, the "Dirty Banana" drink prepared poolside is not to be missed. We look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Phoenix Resort is the best hotel on the island at least in my humble opinion. Lets' run it down. First its located in the heart of San Pedro, yet it is quiet and peaceful. You can walk to restaurants along the beach and if you dont like to walk, the hotel's restaurant is one of the best around. Our room was wonderful. A top floor overlooking the pools and the ocean. We loved the view even in the rain. We had two bedrooms and two baths and it was truly wonderful. Not pure luxury but not wanting in any way.

All that being said, what really makes The Phoenix stand out is service. It starts with being picked up at the airport. Then being met with a cold towel and drinks. Your luggage seems to wisk away on its own to your room. OK so some of you are saying that is true of lots of places. What amazed me was the helpful desk staff. We like to take trips. They set up everything and with the best guides. We did all the normal snorkle and dive trips and a few extra thrown in and all were top notch. We were asking about a trip to the ruins and magically we were given several options. We choose a trip with one of the best guides we have ever had, "Charlie Chan". I kid you not his name was really "Charlie Chan".

At the end of the day many resorts offer these type of services and accomidations. The Phoenix has a level of service that is worth noting and worth trying.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CollegeDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

You are greeted with a cold towel, a cold drink and a shot of rum by a smiling happy staff. Your luggage is whisked away. Next a short tour of the facilities, then entrance to your large beautiful unit, it is not just a "room". Flowers on your bed and bathroom, a personal welcome note with a small bottle of rum, coke and a delicious treat. Everything you would need is provided and staff is outstanding. Quiet as the hotel is, you are just steps away from the busy, active town of San Pedro and a beautiful ocean view. A warm rain came while I was there but not a problem, an umbrella is provided in your closet. I decided to move to San Pedro and the excellent staff called around until they found a long term rental (it took a few days because of the "high season" but they did it!). Great team!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ET A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Phoenix Resort is actually privately owned condominiums that are rented out by the resort on behalf of the owners. We had a 2-bedroom condo with 2 bathrooms, laundry, kitchen, and an ocean-facing terrace. We came here after a stint in the jungle of Belize so this was luxurious, wonderfully clean and air conditioned. There is a beautiful pool with a bar and food service. Like much of Ambergris, the beach is not sandy here. Our condo was on the 2nd floor and there is no elevator so if mobility is an issue for you, ask about this before booking.

The resort provides laundry detergent (which we needed a lot of after our time in the rain forest), toiletries for the bathrooms, and kitchen cleaning supplies. There is a grocery one block from the resort so it was very easy to stock the kitchen and was a great way to save money (despite groceries being twice the price as in the US). Credit cards are readily accepted as is US currency (the Belize dollar is pegged to the US dollar 2:1) but I still recommend having Belize dollars (there is an ATM at the airport).

The staff are wonderful and will help with bookings for scuba, snorkeling, renting bikes or golf carts, or restaurant reservations. I do recommend booking ahead for most everything on the island (we were there over Christmas).

If you are able-bodied, you can pretty much walk everywhere on the island (except the far reaches north--close to Mexico--which you will need a golf cart for). I do recommend taking the trek to the northern-most part of the island as it is hardly populated.

Room Tip: The ocean-facing condo was worth the extra money. There are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chai2girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
335 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
1,291 reviews
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
451 reviews
1.3 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#4 of 54 in San Pedro
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Property: The Phoenix Resort
Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing