We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOOO close to perfection (just needs a hot tub by the pool!)”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Phoenix because it was the top hotel in the world for TA's traveler's choice 2012. Well, it certainly lived up to the expectations and in so many ways exceeded it. After a tiring water taxi ride over to San Pedro from Belize City we were really surprised when we went to find a cab to take us to the hotel that it was literally a block away from the the caye caulker express water taxi pier. The moment we walked through the Phoenix gates bell men relieved us of our luggage. The manager got us refreshing ginger rum punches that were REALLY good with actual chunks of ginger in souvenir glasses which are yours to bring home. They even brought us cold towels to refresh ourselves.

After a brief tour of the grounds, we went up to our ocean view 2 bedroom 2 bath condo on the second floor--Condo A8. Our jaws dropped. The kids almost freaked out with joy. I can say without question that the actual condominium itself was the best accomodation we have ever stayed in (and if you check out my reviews, we've stayed in a lot of killer places all around the world). The kitchen had granite countertops and was fully equipped, full size stainless fridge and all. And don't worry about dishes, housekeeping does your dishes for you of course! The sink had a faucet connected directly to a purified water jug so you have endless drinking water. The living room and both bedrooms have flat screen TVs with over 100 channels and DVD players. The furnishings were beautiful and comfortable. The beds were deluxe with down comforters and pillow tops and 4! pillows per person. The washer/dryer were big and worked great and of course detergent is provided. Both bathrooms had walk in showers and the master had a jacuzzi tub. But the piece de resistance of the condo was its ENORMOUS balcony. The living room, 2nd bedroom, and master bedroom all have double doors which lead out onto it so you could walk out onto the balcony and enjoy the sea breeze and sunshine from any room in the condo. If you cleared out the dining table and lounge chairs you could probably have a decent 3 on 3 soccer match on the balcony it was that huge. We spent a whole day just lounging and sleeping out there and loved eating dinner out there. The view wasn't a full on frontal ocean view but still a great one nonetheless.

All the little extras at the Phoenix were amazing as well. The Aveda bath products are first rate. They have little pastry desserts, club soda, a bottle of coke, and a complimentary bottle of rum waiting for you as a welcome package. As a hotel guest you get a 10% discount if eating at the Red Ginger or Blue Fish Grill restaurants which ARE the two highest quality restaurants on the island IMO. Last but not least you get a complimentary local cell phone to use with 10 minutes free--We used it to make a quick free long distance phone call back home!

The location of the Phoenix is also fantastic. Right on Front and Middle streets, there are plenty of little stores, shops, and restaurants nearby. You can walk to them on the street, rent a golf cart, or instead just walk along the beach! Everyone there was so friendly and attentive--we were just spoiled. They have a great bartender by the pool and security at all the entrances. My wife and I also enjoyed really unique mayan abdominal massages at the Sol Spa.

Minor annoyances: The jacuzzi tub in the master bath had almost no water pressure and took forever to fill. The pool water is not heated so the water is a little chilly, and as stated there is no outdoor hot tub by the pool which I think is a glaring omission for a property of this class. We had one windy day where we simply couldn't enjoy the pool. But overall, the negatives were really drowned out by all the good things about the Phoenix. If you're visiting San Pedro, do not pass go. Head straight for the Phoenix Resort.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank wskungfuclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (987)
There are newer reviews for The Phoenix Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

591 - 597 of 987 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

I want to thank the Manager at The Phoenix, Mark for saving our trip to San Pedro, Belize. He went well above and beyond our expectations once again. This is the second time we have stayed at The Phoenix and it is truly a 5 star resort. The rooms are outstanding, the staff is the best on the island and the attention to detail is top notch. We look forward to staying there again when we return to Belize. Highly recommend to anyone looking for an outstanding experience, but book early they sell out fast for a reason.

Room Tip: all rooms are ocean view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiTown2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have to say this was the best vacation I have ever been on! The Phoenix far exceeded any expectations our family had. We were traveling with a 10 month old baby and I had many reservations about making the trip with her. The Phoenix was very accommodating and it felt like home! They provided a high chair and pack and play in our room. The staff is so professional and think of what you need before you even know you need it! The grounds are impeccable and there is not a leaf out of place! I am not kidding! The staff will book all your adventures at no additional cost and help you with any information you need. The on site restaurant Red Ginger is EXCELLENT! I highly recommend the stuffed grouper. It was delicious! The water is beautiful, snorkeling is fantastic, and people are super friendly. We can't wait until our next stay! Thank you Phoenix Staff! You know who you are! Matt, Sarah, and Scarlett :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

After fying in from the US and heading to Tikal for 2 nights flew to The Phoenix Resort in San Pedro and were welcomed with a great drink, a nice driver, everything was taken care of. It was a spectacular location and stunning grounds. The condo super clean and frankly out of this world. The pool is everywhere with a fun bartender and awesome views. It was my birthday and they even brought me a cake at the pool. The staff arranged snorkeling for us just a few minutes walk away. You couldnt ask for a better location, nice people, nothing bad to say about this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeepsgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Rented two condos, one was beachfront and the other a 2nd story one bedroom. The staff is so great, they think of everything! They do it with a big smile, too! Loved the frozen mojito at the pool bar with Rolando. We had a 10 month old so it was great to put her down for a nap and still enjoy the pool which was just steps out our door. Baby monitor came in handy. These condos are huge and so nice. We enjoyed all of our excursions. The food was really good at the Red Ginger. After a week all in our party were NOT ready to go home. We already booked again for next year and we rarely go to the same place. The weather in January was fabulous, nice breeze, not very humid. Thanks again to all the staff, they work so hard to make your stay the best!

Room Tip: beachfront rooms have the biggest patios but all are large.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeannesa52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Staying at the Phoenix was a great experience. Communication with the staff during the booking process was very professional from the start. They arranged everything and answered all questions promptly and curteously. We were greated at the entrance with wonderful ginger-rum drinks and escorted to our suitem, which was far nicer than expected. I must say, the pictures online really do not do the place justice at all. It is even nicer "live". the service continue dto be great throughout the stay and the staff was able to arrange trips or use of the golf cart on very short notice. The only (minor) drawback was the service at the restaurant, but I will review this seperately. The location is great as well: Right in town, but still quite quiet. I would not consider staying anywhere else in San Pedro

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rugger23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a very clean, safe and amazing place to stay. The condos are well furnished, the pool and the properties are perfect. Will stay at no other place when in San Pedro. The location of the Phoenix is right on the beach with a pool that looks out into the water. Close to town and great places to eat. The Red Ginger restuarant on the property also features fantastic food and tapas and drinks.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OceanBluePoulsbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
354 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
857 reviews
3.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $321 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing