We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon destination”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Phoenix staff was amazing. They really handle everything from tours to renting carts to suggesting restaurants. They don't jack up the prices on tours and activities and try and make an extra buck. They stick to the agenda and that is to make the guests 100% happy. The units are very modern with all the amenities for everyday living. The views are great from all units and they are located right in the middle of town so all the restaurant options are a short walk from the resort.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinDan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 997 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Phoenix is a phenomenal place to stay in Ambergris no matter how long the stay. They know how to make you feel at home without trying too hard. I felt as if the staff was trying to anticipate my needs instead of reacting to them...which was refreshing. If you want to leave all the planning for the hotel, they will take care of it for you or save a few $ and do it yourself. I travel weekly for my job, and i've stayed at some sketchy places, if you have a complaint or a bad experience with the Phoenix, I truly feel that you are looking for a problem (or perhaps you should have chased different vacation spot). Bottom line: book with confidence, great location, pay a little extra and enjoy.

Stayed: October 2012
2  Thank stewiestud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I went to Belize for a relaxing stay and we lucked upon this property by recommendation of a friend, and wow, what a great recommendation! it takes a little while to get there by boat (roughly 90 mins, but you can take a 10-15 min flight), but when you get there, it's such a pleasant surprise!

We took a cab from the dock and the hotel takes a few minutes. The hotel reimburses the cab from the san pedro dock to the hotel only. You could easily walk it in the same time given the route the taxi takes. I'm about to write and comment on the services of what this property does. it was an awesome experience, but if you want to savor the moment, dont read any further. Just know this property does not disappoint you.

actually, let me just squeeze this in with highlights... i could go on about what they did for us, but let me save it for your visit... so when you arrive at this property, you meet the staff from bell man to upper management. they greet you by name as if they know you (you feel at home instantly). they give you a nice glass of rum and a wet towel to wash off right there. they take your baggage, and escort your to your room. they give you all the features of the property. and it was awesome. they give you a nice treat, and even more drinks upon entry into your room. they even give you a phone to call anywhere your lil heart desires. now this may not seem like a lot to you, but given our connection to family back home, this is huge! now you may say other hotels have done this or do this currently, but the level at which they execute it was timed perfectly and surprisingly. you dont expect this level of service to be executed so well at this property, but they do it!

it's not a small property relative to the island, but it's not a big property either! so you get a lot of personal attention. everyone we met there from the staff to the guest were completely awesome and friendly!!! i dare say that even the local wild life was friendly (there's a family of raccoons that add to the ambiance of the island that will visit) :) Everything was completely clean and access to the pool and ocean is a few steps away. There's no "beach" as the shallow portion of the ocean has a lot of underwater vegetation at the shore so you have to go to the pier/dock to bypass it all. it's a huge diving community so enjoy that! there's only one mayan ruin on the island from our understanding... all the other tours are more mainland.

Rolando is a very nice pool bartender. he'll make sure everything is going great. He even grabbed us fresh coconuts for drinks poolside! turndown/housekeeping is awesome and quiet job even if you're in the room! plenty of games and dvds for if you just want to be lazy and relax! The restaurants has great food and there are plenty of quaint activities at the hotel and near by.

most of the island is/can be covered by foot, but most of the islanders and tourist use golf carts. it's very fun to do so! and there are 2 grocery stores 3 minutes down from the property by foot. we felt VERY safe on this property. i mean the police station is literally across the street from this property along with the fire station! No problems there! You also get discounts (10%) on about 3 other restaurants in the area. MAKE SURE YOU ASK ABOUT MEAL PORTION/SIZES AS SOME ARE VERY SMALL FOR THE PRICE! if I have to have a complaint, that would be it. We had room C3 and it was place perfectly to view the pool, ocean, and property!

Like many of the reviews, we like to consider ourselves travelers of all cultures (Oceana/Australia, South America, Africa, Europe, Asia, Middle East) so given the hype from our friend, we came in with high expectations. The Phoenix did not disappoint on any level! The bar has been raised as the little details and big "stuff" was not overlooked. if you get a chance, stay here! You wont regret it.

Room Tip: - make sure you ask if price is in US or belizean dollars to elminate confusion/mistakes. - be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tonyshelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We recently returned from an 8 night stay at The Phoenix. Given the number of "Excellent" reviews on TA, we had put some rather high expectations on the resort and its service. We were extremely pleased right off the start with the level of customer service from the day we booked (and even before while making accommodation decision). They were very helpful in answering our many questions in advance - from setting up diving to Blue Hole to currency to what is or isn't open during low season. That level of service took another step forward when we were delayed on our arrival because of American Airlines' ongoing issues. Stacey and Pam had confirmations for our Belize City flight quickly - handled with great empathy and professionalism. Once arrived, we were greeted on a complete personal level - sympathy for our travel snafus and talk about our plans for our stay. It may sound minor, but that level of service really makes the difference. We didn't need to introduce ourselves - they knew and were tailoring their arrival procedure specific to us.

We stayed in D3, 2 bedroom oceanfront. Being only a couple it was more room than we needed, but we really wanted to be close to the water (and 1 bedroom OF all booked during our time). The layout is excellent should 2 couple be sharing that unit since bedrooms are on opposite ends. The separation would create a degree of privacy even while sharing. That said, with the wrap around veranda and massive amount of light made it worth the extra cost for us even though much more space than we could possible use. The bed was most comfortable I’ve had in any Caribbean / Central American destination. The kitchen was completely outfitted with anything we needed. Not once did we look for something that wasn’t there. The balance of the unit was just as excellent – huge double tub in master bath, views from everywhere, high quality / comfortable furniture inside and out.

The pool was gorgeous and quiet – the views wonderful. Entire grounds and pool were kept immaculate by the friendly staff.

Service from the resort staff really stood out above all. Little things such as asking the front desk if a certain restaurant was open were addressed better than one could expect. Not only would Rose let us know they were, she would phone ahead before we left just to make sure – and let them know guests were on the way. Or asking how our evening was the next morning after seeing us at a local restaurant. Small, yes – but it is things like this that set them apart from others.

Food at Red Ginger was very good. We enjoy dining at home and look forward to doing so while on vacation. Our usual waiter Gini was friendly and cheerful. The first few days given poor weather and getting used to the area we didn’t venture too far from the resort. It certainly helped that the food onsite was good – which seemed to be mostly Belizean food with an international influence. We especially enjoyed the tapas evening and just sharing some plates. Our most enjoyable dining was off the resort though. The local places offered some simpler, regional food that was great – My Secret Deli, Waraguma, Estel’s, El Fogon all stand out for us. It was nice to have the convenience of higher end food on the resort and location as a gateway to the other options.

Overall, the top level service, intimate and luxurious facilities and fantastic location are what made The Phoenix for us. As seasoned travelers we are comfortable comparing resorts / hotels, critically evaluating, and gauging our expectations accordingly. Without a doubt the lofty expectations we had placed on The Phoenix were not only met, they were exceeded. We look forward to returning next year as we booked a return trip on check-out.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MercerTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Phoenix is the nicest hotel, in the best location, with the best pool, best drinks, and over the top service. We were greeted with a complimentary cab at the airport, greeted with a 200-dollar voucher and a bottle of rum in our room. Every day was better than the last, we couldn't have been happier than staying here.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Awbrown77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Phoenix has set the bar high for hospitality in the resorts of Belize. From the moment we walked in, we were welcomed by the very sweet staff with drinks and cool towels. Our condo was incredible. We got a two-bedroom, and it was VERY spacious with large, nice bathroom, a washer/dryer and a HUGE kitchen stocked with every utensil, etc., that you can imagine. Our huge patio had a view of the gorgeous pool and even more gorgeous ocean. The pool is great and the views when you're sitting out at the pool are just unreal. The pool bar is a nice touch as well. Overall, this resort cannot be beat. The hospitality, awesome accommodations and breathtaking views make this place a cut above the rest. I would stay here again, no question.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We just returned home after 5 nights at The Phoenix Resort from October 13th through October 18th, 2012. My friend and I have been to many hotels and resorts between the two of us and the staff here was the best! A special thanks to Pam, Isabella, Ted, Danny, Rosa, Daniel, Pedro, Rolando and Oscar. Sorry if I've left anyone out. The condo was fabulous as was the pool. I think anyone condo would have wonderful views of the pool and Caribbean. Stacey and Mark run a top notch resort-thank you so much for everything!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dede C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
358 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
478 reviews
1.3 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#5 of 54 in San Pedro
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $354 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing