We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was one of the most amazing places we've ever been. The grounds are gorgeous, the room was fantastic (they gave us a free upgrade for our honeymoon to a suite bigger than our apartment), the people were just great. Seriously, it was unreal.

We split our time in Belize between two different regions (Placencia and Ambergris Caye) and while both were excellent, Ambergris and the Phoenix definitely came out on top. The town of San Pedro is definitely more active and there's a lot more choice in things to do and restaurants to eat at. I would encourage people to go out and eat, since we definitely enjoyed the local food more than the bar/pool food (which is theoretically from the Red Ginger, but in our experience, was not on the same level) and then eat at the Red Ginger if you want to have a nice dinner. There are lots of places along the beach. We felt completely safe walking around the city, including at night, and everyone seemed nice and friendly.

We did excursions to the reef and to Lamanai, a Mayan ruin, both booked through the hotel, and had a blast on both. There are lots of other options, both in the ocean and on land, that you can book through the hotel or that you can arrange on your own through local operators. I can't speak for the legitimacy of the dozens of places along the beach offering trips, but there was certainly loads of variety!

We were actually pleasantly surprised by the beach, since we'd been told that there really wasn't one, but there actually is; there isn't one directly in front of the Phoenix, but if you walk even just a little ways in either direction, there are plenty of places you can walk in from white sand to warm, wonderful, ocean. There's usually seaweed about 50 feet in, but we still quite enjoyed it. And if you want deeper, you can go onto one of the many piers and jump off. It really worked out quite nicely.

Room Tip: The room we got upgraded to was a 2-bedroom suite with a beach view, but pretty much all the rooms s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,023)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

668 - 674 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

This place is great! It is close to all the action (San Pedro) but yet feels like once you are in the center of the resort you are in paradise. Right on the water close to all the dive shops, fishing, snorkeling and I would highly recommend Reef Adventures with Ched for diving or Cari'bean with Oliver for snorkeling both were amazing. Now back to the Phoenix the restaurant Red Ginger had fantastic food and staff was wonderful. I have nothing negative to say about this place it was so great and we were traveling with myself, my husband, our two young kids and my mother, and the 2/2 was the perfect size and the pools were perfect and everyone was so nice to our kids. Can't wait to come back soon.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sara j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed at the resort in July. We loved it. The Resort is beautiful the staff is friendly, professional and made us feel like they were welcoming us to their own home. The special treatment started from Stacy making our reservations and booking our flights from the Main land to the San Pedro, Pam and the staf welcoming us to the Resort with a Ginger Rum Punch and a cold towel, a personal private tour of the facility all the way to our suite, the beutiful modern style furniture and decor, the courtesy drinks, the beautiful ocean view, Warm careing staff. Grade A number 1 Service from all of the staff from the Front desk to the restraunt, pool bar tender, Security guard, and the rest of the staff. Especially Pam and Elias, Elias Thank You for trying to find us that special Tamarind sweet candy on the Island on your own time. To all of the non Belizean guest I recommend the Belizean Breakfast and in the restraunt the Lobster quesadillas were the best. Thank You The Salazar Family
PS. We are telling all our family and friends how geat our experience was.

Room Tip: All of the Suites have a great Ocean Veiw!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jadsalazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at The Phoenix for our destination wedding/honeymoon in April this year. Our experience exceeded our expectations! Stacey and the staff at The Phoenix made sure every detail of our stay was perfect.

The Phoenix is located on the edge of the city of San Pedro. We enjoyed the location as we could walk in town to the grocery store, have a lunch out, or just go shopping. We had a 4-wheeler excursion during our stay that took us to the Northern tip of the island. We passed the Las Terrazas Resort (another place we had considered) and we were relieved we had not chosen this resort... too far out and excluded for our taste. Our room was huge... more like an apartment! We had 2 bedrooms, a full kitchen and a beautiful ocean view from the master BR and LR.

Our wedding ceremony was perfectly orchestrated. Stacey set up the minister, our flowers, a champagne toast and coordinated wonderfully with our photographer, Kay Scott. The day of our wedding involved laying out at the pool, getting a manicure and pedicure at Sol Spa, having a couples massage on our balcony... so relaxing!! While doing my hair for the ceremony, I realized I needed a hand-held mirror; after checking with the front desk and finding out they didn't have one, there was one delivered to the room within 30 minutes (someone had gone into town and purchased one!). WHAT SERVICE!!

We did multiple excursions throughout our stay and all were booked through the hotel. We had a full day trip to the mainland where we visited Xunantunich, went cave tubing and zip-lining... all with a private tour guide! We also did a half-day 4 wheeler trip and a snorkeling trip. The tours were all wonderful and the hotel coordinated all transportation for the trips and even called to check on us.

Most importantly, we were able to RELAX at The Phoenix! The frozen mojitos poolside were refreshing and yummy! The Red Ginger and room service were both delicious. We even used the exercise facilities once and they were more than expected.

Thank you, The Phoenix, for making our first trip to Belize exceptional!! We are already planning a return trip!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jolene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just returned from a 1 week trip in early August. Traveled with spouse and 2 teenage sons. Because we had teenagers along, I wanted a location close to town to provide opportunities for more restaurants, shops and things to do. All that considered, we loved the location. The rooms were amazing, perfect for a family. We had a 2 bedroom condo with a huge balcony. We were there when the hurricane came through and it was such a good place to be. We had a full kitchen (since all of the restaurants in town - and at the Phoenix) were closed. It was very comfortable. Also liked having a washer/dryer in the room, very handy.

The staff at the Phoenix really pamper and provide top notch service to the guests. They know each family by name and help with restaurants, excursions, etc (more than I have ever experienced before). We utilized the spa on site - Sol Spa which was very nice.

The pool side bar was intimate and friendly. The on site restaurnant Red Ginger was really the best place we ate at all week. It is small but lively and not that much more expensive than other local places.

We loved being able to walk out our door to local restaurants and shops. We also liked walking to the grocery to get breakfast and lunch items and drinks for the room.
THere is no beach per say at the property. The 'beach' is a public walkway about 6 feet wide in front of the resort. Guests can walk to the end of the pier and jump into the ocean for swimming. THis was ok for us since we were quite active and really didn't want to lie on the beach.

The resort provides free wi-fi, ipads and a free cell phone to guests. They arrange pickup and drop off to the airport, golf cart rentals and all excursions with a great deal of detail.

Highly recommend the Phoenix for a fun filled vacation.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kykiminhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Three of us stayed in a two-bedroom for three nights at the beginning of August and experienced no rains during the day (just some passing clouds) and it was hot and humid. We left right when hurricane Ernesto was about to pass through as a tropical storm, we were very fortunate!

- Hospitality is top notch – I’ve never encountered genuinely hospitable people like this anywhere else. Everyone says hi, in a non-obligatory manner, and you can strike up a conversation with just about anyone but I think that may be Belizean culture, everyone is just approachable and talkative.

- Attention to little details – You have everything you need included in the price you pay per night but not like a B&B type of stay, rather a luxurious apartment with huge king size beds and spacious bathrooms. To list some of these: filtered water, fully equipped kitchen, washer and dryer, room service twice a day (we noticed that on our last day!), bath robes and spa slippers, complementary transportation to/from airport, complementary cell phone with $10 credit, lap pool and infinity pool, and a map of everything that’s nearby. All they need is a sandy, clean, secluded beach and it would be total bliss but it was still gorgeous.

- Location might be a hit or miss depending on what type of travel experience you seek - If you’re looking for a location in the middle of town where everything is within walking distance and touristy, then this is a great and safe location but everything is EXPENSIVE. However, if you are seeking a more down to earth, local and secluded location, then you probably won’t like it. San Pedro caters a lot to tourists and at a high price but everything is very convenient and safe.

- The complementary coconut lime bread and ginger rum punch that welcomes you upon your arrival is AH-MAZING. I’m not a huge pastries person but that bread was just something else, probably lots of buttery goodness.

Bottom Line: I would love to return to this resort because they really know how to provide an unforgettable vacation experience for special occasions. This place is expensive but considering the quality of room, amenities, and service they provide I think that you feel well taken care of during your stay. On the other hand, if I want to experience a less touristy side of Belize and I am on a budget, I might check out other keys where it’s less catered to tourists and where it’s easily accessible.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor facing the pool and had a partial view of the ocean but no sunshine or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judylovesthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

First trip to Belize + a stay at the Phoenix Resort = BEST VACATION EVER! The location, the staff, and the management are all EXCELLENT. The attention to detail and the pampering is so amazing. I cannot wait to visit the Phoenix again! Thank you to all the wonderful staff and management! Muah!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 55 in San Pedro
390 reviews
2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#5 of 55 in San Pedro
1,276 reviews
3.2 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in San Pedro
1,414 reviews
3.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#9 of 55 in San Pedro
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $354 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing