We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Certainly the most modern hotel in the area. Service was very good. Location was great. Food at restaurant was well above most of the other restaurants in the area. Front desk is also very happy to give advice about other restaurants outside the hotel group. If going back there would definitely plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a good view. Enormous in size. Ocean can be seen from almost any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ranger4542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    39
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
313
372
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Today is my last day here in San Pedro, but I felt compelled to take a few minutes and review this fabulous place. We decided to stay here based on the countless positive reviews and the resort has exceeded our expectations. We booked 30 days before our arrival (last minute trip), and since they didn't have any one bedroom condos left, they booked us in a 2 bedroom at the same rate as the one bedroom. We stayed in A2 with great views of the beach and pool. The decor is beautiful, kitchen has everything you need. My husband and I went grocery shopping the first day to stock up on food for breakfast. We are divers and often had to be at the dive shop at 530 in the morning. Having our own kitchen made it so much easier to prepare a quick breakfast and go.

The resort has a great location -- in the middle of san pedro but extremely quiet when you are inside the resort. We walked to a bunch of great restaurants and bars. We dove with Ecologic Divers and the shop was just steps from our room. The staff at the Phoenix was outstanding. 5 Star Service, very responsive and helpful. Having a washer and dryer in the room was also great. You don't have to pack very much because you can do laundry right in your condo. Housekeeping refilled the laundry detergent every day. They also refilled coffee, creamer, and sugar.

We would definitely stay here again. Ok, off to enjoy my last day in paradise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lel7176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband and I just returned home yesterday from a 5-day trip to Ambergris Caye, and we stayed at the Phoenix based off what I had read on TripAdvisor prior to booking. Let me just say, we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived, the front desk lady (Rose) greeted us by saying "Welcome Larry & Ellen!" We were surprised they knew our name but you could tell they were expecting us! Immediately we were given cool hand towels soaked in something fresh and minty to refresh our hands and face from the travels getting there (2 hour flight from Houston, 15 minute flight on TropicAir, 2 minute drive to the Phoenix). We were also handed complimentary ginger punch cocktails that really hit the spot, and told we were allowed to keep the glass they came in. Rose gave us a quick but informative tour of the grounds, then escorted us to our room. We had a booked a 1 bedroom/1 bath, but were told we were being upgraded to a 2-bedroom/2-bath. When we walked in, I was blown away. VERY NICE!! Beautiful kitchen and den area, with welcome gifts waiting for us (coke, fanta, bottle of rum, and ginger coconut bars). They do this for everyone!! We were also given use of a complimentary Ipad and cell phone to make local calls. The bedrooms were very well appointed w/ comfortable bedding, huge closets, a safe in the master bedroom closet, gorgeous bathrooms! Loved all the teak cabinetry thru-out the whole unit. Our unit was A6, which is on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool. Our balcony alone was 750 sf with a table and chairs and 2 comfortable lounge chairs. The view was magnificent. The way the resort is situated, all units have an unbelievable view of the grounds and ocean.

The Red Ginger (onsite restaurant) -- to die for. We ate there several times because it was convenient and we kept getting great, friendly service and excellent food. The pool bartender, Rolando -- makes the greatest drinks we had! I have friend requested him on FB because we hit it off and loved him so much. Be sure to try one of his mango-coconut frozen mojitos, or the Amigo Freeze, or the Horny Monkey. And, he makes the best bloody mary's on the island. Sol Spa -- we had 1 hour massages there on our 2nd day, and they were terrific. Excellent, friendly staff, beautiful spa and gym area to relax in.

I won't lie -- the town of San Pedro is unlike anywhere I have been (on vacation). It takes a little getting used to, but by the 3rd day of our trip, I was taken by its charm. I say it takes a little getting used to because the locals in town (versus the resorts in the far north or south of the island) are intermingled with all the tourists. So, right outside the Phoenix, for example, is some tiny, somewhat dilapidated by American standards housing of people who live there. It was disconcerting at first to be in such a beautiful place, but right next door was the reality of how most locals live. However, on 2 different days, we rented golf carts (right there at the Phoenix) and toured around town, familiarizing ourselves with stuff. Our experience is that all of the people there are friendly, honest, and happy to see tourists. There wasn't a feeling of resentment or indifference toward us as we have encountered in some other places. Just know that this is a lazy beach and fishing town, with a lot of poor natives, where beautiful condos and resorts have popped up, largely in the past 10 years. So there is a mix, which I think gave it a particular charm and differentiated it from other tourist destinations.

More on San Pedro and how resorts are situated: Many beautiful places to stay on both the south and north ends of the island, however beware that once you are there, you are pretty much "there." Travelling into town from those parts via golf cart is dicey because of the condition of some of the roads. We know -- we tried to take a golf cart to the far north side and it was a very bumpy ride!! So, getting into the town area for shopping, or many of the cool things to do while staying there (north or south) is not easy, as you have to take a water taxi back and forth and it only runs ever so often, and isn't free ($5 US one way). The Phoenix does not have this problem, as it is right there in the middle of everything. Very convenient to everything we wanted to do, right across from the police station (which for some reason made me feel secure even though I never felt scared), right next door to the utilities substation so when power outtages occur (as they occasionally do), the Phoenix is practically the first to get power back (even though the Phoenix also has back-up generators -- but still).

What some of the other reviewers have said is true --- Alphonse is the best if you want to snorkle at Hol Chan Marine and Shark Ray Alley. Extremely fun and saw some of the most incredible underwater sights due to the reef -- very bountiful marine life! Fido's is a fun place with live music and good food, big screen tvs, etc. Caliente is a great mexican/carribean restaurant. Estel's on the beach (3 min walk from the Phoenix) is best place for breakfast. Definitely try the fry jack there, and pour a little honey on it for a delectable treat! Blue Water Grill is as good or better than any place I've eaten, and they have sushi night on Tues/Thurs. We couldn't try everything but everywhere we did go had great drinks, friendly people, and the most amazing ceviche you've ever eaten. Don't ever pass up an opportunity to eat ceviche, anywhere there.

We are planning to go back in either December or March and taking our 3 kids -- there is no other place we'd consider staying than The Phoenix! I hope when we go back, I can avoid gaining 10 pounds though ...... ;)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ellen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just returned this week from Belize and staying at the Phoenix Resort in San Pedro. It was one of our best vacations ever.. Mark was fantastic with booking our room, we were upgraded to a huge 2 bedroom corner suite. Loved the wrap around balcony and well appointed amenities. Mark really delivered.

The onside Red GInger was fantastic. Special thanks to Mac (MC) and Elijah. Truly best servers around and so humble and gracious. And the food, amazing. I seriously had one of the best meals of my life there. I have talked about it every day since returning. The lobster with pasta!!! Mac let me meet the chef to thank her personally. I wish she could cook for me every night. Blue Water Grill, and Caliente were good restaurants too, but red ginger was our favorite. Loved the quiet pool time with Rolando as the bartender and the best dirty banana ever. The mango mojoito was a close second.

I did yoga one morning and it wax great. Relaxing, yet still enough intensity to keep me energized. We did the snorkeling half day trip with Alphonse and Gerry. Wonderful trip with them. I was hesitant to do it and was then so happy I did. Saw so many sea creatures and those guys walk you through everything, step by step.

The Phoenix was top notch in customer service and loved the location. Loved the iPad given to us at checkin and all the other things they do to make it special. Thanks to Rose and the other ladies at the front desk. And to whoever makes those amazing coconut lime bars. We couldn't get enough of them. We normally wouldn't go back to a place we've already been to when the world is so vast, but with the Phoenix and Belize, we will return. Go and see for yourself!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raigan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

When we were escorted to our one bedroom beachfront condo, we could not have been more pleasantly surprised. It was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. The onsite restaurant, Red Ginger, is very good. We did not want an all inclusive and this fit the bill of a nice restaurant, plus easy walking distance to others. Our scuba dives and Mayan ruin trips were booked quickly and there was no problem.
Some have mentioned in reviews that San Pedro is a dump but we found it to be a normal beach town. We were asked for money a few times but nothing overly annoying. It was a perfect mix of nice accomodations, yet being able to enjoy the local atmosphere.
If we return to Ambergris Caye we will definitely book the Phoenix.

Room Tip: Unit A-9 was the perfect one br condo.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sdamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We were in a two bedroom suite on the second floor at this resort for a week and really enjoyed our stay. It is however, as you are in a different world while you are in the resort in comparison as you walk out the door. I guess no different then as in Phuket, or Krabi (Thailand). The staff is great, still have fond memories of the town and people, but would not recommend going in August.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2truv3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

May 11th - l8th
I am a Belizean, born and raised there, who now resides in Canada. I have been back quite regularly over the years to visit my family and have always brought my children (4) and friends along on every trip home. On every trip we spend some time in San Pedro at a resort. We all (10) agree that on this trip - the Phoenix - won hands down!! The young adults loved the convenience of being in town for the night life and not having to take a boat back up north or south in the early hours of the morning or driving a golf cart after a night out!! The only negative was that we had booked a 2-bedroom beachfront ground-level condo and a 3 bedroom beachview condo, which happened to be on the 3rd Floor, away in another building (no elevators). Not recommended for older folks with bad knees or other health issues. Next trip we will be sure to book condos closer together! The Red Ginger restaurant had the best Coconut Shrimps and the Molten Chocolate dessert was to die for!! Hello to Mark, Gabriela, Mac and the rest of the staff from all of us. Thanks for everything. We will be back to stay for sure! Can't wait!! Until next time!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tlee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
6.9 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Property: The Phoenix Resort
Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort found on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. The Phoenix Resort features 27 beautifully-finished & spacious condominium suites, gourmet food served at on-site restaurant Red Ginger, the on-site services of Sol Spa, San Pedro's original and most popular day spa, a beautiful saline chlorinated and heated main pool & separate lap pool, pool bar, on-site fitness center, business center, front desk & concierge services from 6am to 11pm, free WiFi, 24 hour security, and the perfect location beachfront in the heart of San Pedro, the social center of Ambergris Caye. All suites face the Caribbean and offer plush Serta pillow top mattresses, 100% cotton linens & robes, Jacuzzi tubs & separate showers, Aveda bath & body products, flat screen TVs, DVD players, Bose wireless speakers, in suite iPads, full kitchens, washer and dryer, laptop friendly safes, central air conditioning, twice daily housekeeping, & much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing