We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great resort”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Phoenix. My husband and my two daughters (6 and 9 years old) went for a week in the third week of March. We rented a suite with two bedrooms. The suite had 2 bathrooms (one with a full jacuzzi tub), washer/dryer and full kitchen as well as a living room and full length patio. it was quite luxurious and it was expensive.

It was a wide mix of guests. There were some other families but also couples (both straight and gay) and groups of friends staying there. The front desk was always helpful in finding places for us to buy things, making restaurant reservations, etc. They have computers, as well as book and game libraries for guests' use. They provide you with a cellular phone with $10 credit to start. We took two of the trips they recommended: a short snorkeling trip with Alfonze, and a private fishing/snorkeling trip with Erik. Both were awesome and memorable.

There are 3 pools. The lap pool is about 18 yards long, and the two larger pools are attached (one is deeper than the other). There isn't a great beach area so the pools were nice to have. (If you want to swim, there is a nearby pier off of which you may swim.) It was relaxing to read by the poolside while my kids played.

The fitness center is alright. It was hot for outdoor running so I used only the treadmill, which is old but useable.

The only complaint I had: because it is near the beach, I was kep awake one night by a beach bar where the music was too loud. This bar was not part of the Phoenx, however.

Attached is one of their three sister restaurants: Red Ginger. We ate dinner in there once and had lunch serviced by them, while we sat by the pool. These were very good meals.

I would recommend the resort highly for the cleanliness, helpful staff and the luxurious accomodations.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,024)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is our second stay with the Phoenix. The experience was the same as last time..superb. Every need is cared for quickly and with a smile. Most things are thought of long in advance. The grounds are clean and secure. The staff from the time you get there until the moment you leave make you feel as though you are the only person that counts. Pam and Rose met us at check in and were there for our departure happy to see us arrive and genuinely sad to see us leave. We have already booked our next vacation with them. Don't tell anyone else about this great secret.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent with a view of the ocean. They have great wifi coverage and close to shoppi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Longga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed here the week of March 3rd, had a wonderful time. We had a two bedroom, ocean front on the top floor. The view was fantastic, and the rooms were spacious.
This is the place to stay if you want to be close to the town, but still in an upscale resort. It's nice to be able to just walk to things. We also took a walk over the bridge to the Northern part of the Island. It is less congested and a little more "beachy" . There are many places to stay, but most require a golf-cart ride into town. Just to clarify, the town can be congested and messy. There are hotels and restaurants next to run-down shops and houses.There is sometimes garbage in the streets. It took a little getting used to. That being said, I never felt un-safe and the people were always freindly.

Dining: Red Ginger (on-site) was very good, we liked Blue Water Grill just a little better. (You get discounts at both if you are staying at The Phoenix). Highly recommend the restaurant at The Victoria House (Palmilla). Also had a casual lunch at the restaurant at Ramone's Village, right on the beach.

Shopping: Mostly small shops, plus vendors on the beach. Bought a beautiful necklace at The Jade Museum. The wood carvings done by the locals are fantastic. Bought items in Bomba Village (mainland) and from a street vendor. Graniels Dreamland has a huge selection of wood items from small bowls to chairs & desks. I tried my best to be sure I was buying items made in Belize, as some items in the more commercial gift shops were made in Mexico. Also, the locals will often offer to make something to your specifications if they don't have exactly want you want. Shop early in your vacation to give them time.

Tours: Went to The Ruins, Cave Tubing & Zip Lining. Loved all three. (All required speed boat trip to mainland, but there is an option to fly).

Gym: Don't bother, two of the four machines didn't work, and there weren't a lot of other options. (One of the reasons I originally picked this hotel was the on-site excercise room).

Overall, I enjoyed my trip very much & would stay at The Phoenix again. The reason for four stars instead of five was the sub-par gym. Five stars means perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank CMC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Our second trip to your resort was just as good as the first trip, so good in fact that we booked our February 2013 vacation prior to leaving. The accomodations are superb and the entire staff is extremely friendly...each one gives more than 100% to make the visit comfortable and complete.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south or north side are quieter. Rooms along the street can be a little bit noisy, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Can't help but share how great the Phoenix is! From check in to check out you will feel special. Location is ideal - walkable to almost everything. Condos are brilliant - all the comforts of home and luxurious. Best part - the staff. And I mean ALL of them. We rebooked next year at checkout Don't pass up an opportunity to experience the Phoenix - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyMc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I really didn't want to write this review because I am worried that the more people that know about The Phoenix Resort, the harder it will be for me to get reservations when I want to go. My wife says, "It's not fair to keep it a secret!" "What secret, it's the Number 1 hotel on Trip Advisor?" Of course, she is right, so here goes: The Phoenix Resort is everything that people have been writing about and more. The rooms are not only spacious, but incredibly well-maintained. We stay in a one-bedroom condo which is about 1500 square feet, with stainless steel appliances, 2 flat panel TV's, washer and dryer, jacuzzi tub, and king size bed.

My wife and I cerebrated our 40th and 41st wedding anniversaries at the Phoenix during the last two summers and are not only looking forward to our 42nd anniversary in 2012 but even as far out as our 50th - that would be really special! From the moment you set foot on the property, you are at home. It seems like every waiter, housekeeper, and front desk clerk not only knows your name, but knows what you like and what you need - often times before you do! San Pedro is a nice little town (was nicer before they paved the streets a couple of years ago) and the Phoenix is situated so that virtually everything is within walking distance. There are some really great restaurants in town, including the Red Ginger on property, and the front office can make suggestions and reservations as needed. While there is not a great beach in San Pedro, there are three great pools at the Phoenix, including infinity edge and lap pools. The spa at the resort is very nice and has all sorts of possibilities.

While for our anniversary, just the two of us travel, I have spoken to lots of families who enjoy the Phoenix very much. The two and three-bedroom condos work great for them. As soon as our granddaughter gets a bit older we will be bringing our daughter and her family for a visit. Years ago, we had an opportunity to buy a condo at the Phoenix Resort, but did not because we didn't want to feel obligated to always have to go to the same place for a vacation. Boy were we shortsighted - we can think of no better place for a vacation and in hindsight wish we had bought the condo. The Phoenix Resort is a very special place. Ssssh - don't tell anyone!

Room Tip: While the 2nd and 3rd floors have better views, we like the 1st floor because it has the most conven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YayaShare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This place is absolutely amazing in every way...location is perfect for walking almost everywhere in San Pedro, the staff is so helpful and accommodating, the pool/bar is awesome and yummy, the rooms are SO clean and the views...the views are just to die for!
We stayed in a two bedroom condo with another couple and it was quiet, safe and always felt like I was staying at a friends condo and not a hotel.
The ONLY downside was the housekeeper was a bit lax, but it was never dirty. but It is Belize... go have a drink by the pool or arrange a dive. You will quickly forget about it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two bedroom condos facing the water with the wrap around porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texas_traveler750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 55 in San Pedro
390 reviews
2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#5 of 55 in San Pedro
1,277 reviews
3.2 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in San Pedro
1,414 reviews
3.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#9 of 55 in San Pedro
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $354 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing