We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Just spent an amazing 5 nights in San Pedro and cannot say enough about this resort. From our pick up at the tiny airport moments away, to our being greeted by Ted and Rose with refreshing rum punch, everything was perfect. Gorgeous accommodations with hibiscus everywhere. Our suite overlooked the water and had a huge private veranda. Loved our location, our pool and Rolando our bartender (who made the most refreshing mojitos). Excursions were set up by Pam without any hassles (the tours were amazing-thank you Oliver, Travis, Alfonso and Russell). Red Ginger restaurant on the premises, delicious and easy. Topping all off was Carrie who we had a private yoga class with on our veranda! We will be back...San Pedro is a wonderful place!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Glo360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
There are newer reviews for The Phoenix Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 986 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2012

I think the most amazing part is that it's in town, but when you walk thru the gates, you're in heaven. The other really nice resorts are a golf cart ride away - here the golf cart is optional.
The second most amazing thing is the staff's memories of who you are, what unit you're in, what you've done and what you need to do - which of course they're helping to make happen.
And I don't think I've ever been in more comfortable, upscale accommodations.
All very special!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank escapetonature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at the Phoenix Resort 1/3/12 - 1/13/12. It is a wonderful resort. I can not give the resort a 5 rating because the condo next to ours had smokers on the patio. My clothes all smelled like smoke.

The condo was everthing I could hope for. The bathroom 5+. The sevice excellent.

We had a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shelby93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Celebrating grandma's 85th birthday in a 3 bedroom suite...bloody fantastic! The staff had a birthday cake in the fridge when we arrived, the grounds are immaculate and the rooms are about the best we have stayed in anywhere in the world. Dont think twice about The Phoenix, it has a great location, super friendly and helpful employees and extremely clean. (I am a clean freak).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank My_Lady_of_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Just returned from 12 days at The Phoenix it's unbeliezeable...top knotch. We stayed in C5 a 2 bedroom unit all decked out even our request for a Barbecue was met so we could cook turkey dinner on Christmas day! Yes a turkey and all the fixings. The Phoenix aims to please and they do from assisting with booking flights, excursion, arranging a golf cart and restaurant reservations and more. How they remember everyone's name and seem to know what we want/need even before we ask is amazing. Our boys ages 22 & 19 had a fantastic time and enjoyed making new friends with other guests similar ages. The location of The Phoenix is perfect close to the shops and town 24 hour security and the best restaurant ever The Red Ginger. I could go on and on but it's all been said. Stacey, Mark and all the staff at The Phoenix thank you for everything you exceeded our expectations! We loved The Phoenix so much we re booked for next year.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
8  Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I don't have much to add to all of the superlative reviews except to confirm that they are absolutely correct. Service at the Phoenix was spectacular. Our enormous 1-bedroom was perfect. The location was ideal - right in the heart of town and yet completely private and secluded. The spa was wonderful - the Maya abdominal massage was an experience that you can't get in many places, and I ended up going back for another massage and scrub after our day trip to Lamanai got rained out - no problem getting an appointment on short notice, even at the height of the busy season. I have been to excellent spas all over the world and the massages here were among the best I've had. I would definitely recommend the Phoenix.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EyesOnTheHorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I am a totally picky well traveled New Yorker, this place is a 10. Our 2 bedrm suite, D3, has a full out kitchen with dishwasher (not that you need to do any dishes), toaster, full large size fridge, coffee pot (and they provide coffee/sugar etc every day) two gorgeous bedrooms with lovely baths (ours has large sunken tub) and a wrap around porch thats incredible. The staff is completely willing to do anything they can to help and they have a really good and apparently well known spa where I had one of the best massages I have ever had (my son said the same and my husband and other son are booking asap) Perfect place for my family with two sons 19 and 22 although we are here the week after new years and it is a bit slow for them but the diving and fishing are exhausting them anyway!!!

Room Tip: our 2bdrm was D3, one of the largest with that great porch!!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hillbills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.7 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
354 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
857 reviews
3.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $322 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing