We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the best place to stay!”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
In sunny Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Definitely the best place to stay!”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Phoenix in October for our honeymoon. We had such a wonderful time! We chose the resort based on the reviews, knowing we wanted to dive and stay on Amergris Caye. We did early research on trips, but due to wedding planning, work, and other obligations, never booked any trips before our arrival. Stacy did e-mail us lots of helpful information to help us decide what we wanted to do prior to our trip. Our suite was, as they say, "unbelizable!" From our arrival in Belize City with the pre-arranged flight to Ambergris Caye to every activity we wanted to do, the Phoenix staff was amazing! We would stop at the desk, tell them what we wanted to do, and our meal, activity or day would be arranged. The service was wonderful. We said to ourselves, "We don't have to think, just be where the front desk tells us to be when they tell us to be there." Upon our arrival, there were flowers on the bed with a heart and our initials for our honeymoon, During the stay, it was my husband's birthday and when we returned from our fun day, there were flowers on the bed wishing him a happy birthday. I don't even remember mentioning that it was his birthday! The hotel and grounds were immaculate and every staff member was so nice. The restaurant at the hotel was very nice and had good breakfast, dinner, and evening entertainment. We stopped at other hotels on the beach for a drink and there were always people trying to sell their wares or have you book trips with them, etc., but at the Phoenix, only guests were allowed in. The premises are gated and security is there monitoring the area 24/7. The location can't be beat, it's close to everything. I really could go on and on, but...
As for adventures, wow! We packed a whole lot of fun into a few days. Our flight to Belize was delayed a day due to weather - big bummer - so we had to try to do as many things as we wanted, plus some relaxing. We went diving at the Blue Hole - AWESOME! Even though the water was a little rough, the trip with Amigos del Mar, was so great! The boat was large enough to make it not so bad in the rough water. We saw sharks, eagle rays, a sea turtle, Goliath grouper, and beautiful coral and fish. The staff was there to make sure we were safe and had the best experience possible. We also enjoyed the rum and pineapple drinks on the return ride.
We went to the mainland to go zip lining and cave tubing. What a blast! We had the most amazing tour guide - arranged through the Phoenix, of course - Ed Allen, from Eco Tours. The other people on our flight to Belize City got on a bus and had a group tour, not us! Ed picked us up and drove just the 2 of us to the zip lining and cave tubing area. Along the way, he stopped and showed us birds, animals and plants that we definitely would not have spotted on our own. He is an ornithologist, horticoligist, and according to the other guides we met at the site, King Edward! We had a spectacular time zipping through the forest and floating through the caves with Ed's knowledgable stories.
We also went fishing, snorkeling and boating - fun. We rented bikes and rode them around the island. It's nice that you can ride all over on the beach.
And oh, on every trip we went, our fantastic Phoenix family called the tour operator to check on us and makje sure we were enjoynig ourselves. UNBELIZEABLE!
The restaurants were very good too. Wild Mango's was recommended by the Phoenix staff and was fantastic! The Blue Water Grill was very delicious! We watched the "Chicken Drop" - you have to experience that! We called the Portofino and took a boat to their restaurant. It was a very nice starlit boat ride for free to their restaurant on the north end of the island.
Overall, what a great time! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaSunnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    40
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
331
392
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife and I just returned from 5 nights at the Phoenix. With all of the great reviews it was hard to meet expectations let alone exceed them but this place did. Stacey and Mark and the whole staff were awesome. All of their recommendations were spot on. Our one bedroom condo was huge with a wraparound balcony and a fantastic view. The unit had cable tv and free wifi. It was is a very short walk to lots of great restaurants. We particularly enjoyed the Hurricane Bar for great ceviche.

Snorkeling (or diving) is obviously a must. We rented bikes one day from Joe's (golf carts aren't necessary) and road on the beach from pretty much one end of the island to the other, One day we walked up to the Palapas Bar and took a water taxi back (which cost $10 US for the 2 of us one way and are very unreliable) which gives you an idea of what it costs when you are at one of the resorts away from the town. We did one mainland excursion in which we went ziplining, cabe tubing and visited the zoo. The zoo was particularly cool with mostly (if not all) rescue animals in their own habitat. People that went to the Mayan ruins said that was great as well.

All in all we had no complaints and have already made our reservations for next year. We are already looking forward to it. The only other thing I would add in general is that you must be patient because everything is done on "Belizean time".

Room Tip: It is a good idea to buy duty free in Belize upon arrival. Liquor and wine prices a great. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My family and I just spent Thanksgiving at the Phoenix Hotel in the heart of San Pedro, Ambergris Caye. The hotel is two years old and the property and accommodations are attractive and immaculate. The staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant, from booking diving, a golf cart, travel transfers, fishing, and dinner reservations. Beautiful view from the property. Only negative is that the hotel doesn't have a beach but a beautiful pool with great views. The hotel is in San Pedro, which is fun to access for restaurants and shops. When inside the hotel it is quiet and private from the outside action of the town.

Room Tip: Hotel will reimburse you for your taxi from the San Pedro airport to the hotel. Make sure to get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFownes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We loved everything about this hotel. The suites were awesome -- the were fitted with every amenity, everything was new and nice, the beds were huge, the size was enormous, and the wraparound deck was a big plus. Everyone at the resort went out of their way to make sure our stay was pleasant -- both when we were at the hotel and in town. Their recommendations for activities were spot on. We rarely travel to the same place twice, but I would really consider it with the Phoenix. We can't say enough about this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Phoenix for the second part of our honeymoon and it was amazing. The location is perfect, you can walk to restaurants, bars, etc. Rooms are beautiful, and the staff is outstanding. They even upgraded us to a 2 bedroom condo. They take care of everything for you. Just tell the front desk what you want to do and they'll arrange all of your tours and excursions. We especially loved snorkeling with Alfonse and the BBQ/fishing/snorkeling trip with Oliver. The staff really goes out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect! It did rain the first day we got their, so we headed to the spa at the phoenix for massages, and they were incredible - great way to relax.I would stay at the phoenix again without hesitation - amazing resort!

Room Tip: ask for a beachfront or pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The hotel was amazing, great staff, food, location. The room was also amazing, we were upgraded to a two bedroom suite overlooking the ocean. In my opinion the best room on the resort. Anything you want to do the staff is ready to help, book, advise, and make reservations for you. The pool was private and relaxing, definitely get the drink Dirty Banana I had at least one every morning after breakfast, they were delicious! The spa is clean and friendly and normally priced. My husband and I got massages, while we got a couples massage we were both in different rooms which I thought was strange but it was fine. Yoga was very nice and refreshing. We went snorkeling, swam with sharks, went to the Mayan ruins and relaxed. It was a great balance. We booked this hotel and trip based off of other TA reviews and they all were spot on!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good there, however I would request a room in a upper floor overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steffig201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night stay at The Phoenix hotel, it was amazing.We arrived the day after Hurricane Rina and during the entire ordeal we were in constant contact with the hotel Manager Mark. He gave us updates and even offered us to re-book within 12 months (We did not have any flexibility with our travel dates, so we couldn't). Luckily everyone was safe and the there was no damage. I am so glad we glad we didn't change our dates...

The weather was great and the hotel was a dream. Our room was one of the most beautiful and spotless we have ever stayed in (and we always stay at 4+ star hotels). We stayed in an ocean view 1 bdrm and the view was to die for. We had all these plans to do activities but after seeing our room and spending time at the pool, we decided to just stay at the resort and relax.

The restaurant Red Ginger was one of our favorite spots too. We ate at a bunch of spots in San Pedro but coming back to Red Ginger, you must try the flat bread pizza.

All in all it was an incredible experience we will not forget due to the wonderful staff and incredible resort. Plus the location is perfect, in the heart of town with a bank and grocery stores right across the street.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CostaCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
794 reviews
2.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
453 reviews
3.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Property: The Phoenix Resort
Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing