We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to truly getaway from it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Terrazas Resort
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day trip to Las Terrazas, while we mistakenly booked our trip during the rainy season it did not matter at all... The resort is truly top notch from the suites to the staff - it was a great get away. I would suggest as others have to stick with the water taxi option when going into town. The golf cart ride is just too bumpy in my opinion... If you get the chance to visti Las Terrazas, I can assure you won't be disappointed...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 916 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was my first trip to Ambergris Caye, Belize and I was very glad that we chose to stay at the Las Terrazas resort. I went with three peers of mine from University and we loved every minute. Particularly, the food at the O restaurant and the friendly service from the employees were some of the many highlights of this trip. Also, the location of the resort was ideal as it was only 10 minutes from the resort by water taxi or 15 minutes by golf cart. We stayed in the penthouse which gave us a great view of the Caribbean Sea as well as a convenient plunge pool all to ourselves. The front desk was most helpful in providing restaurants to go to in town as well as excursions to go on in Belize. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdub1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hotel handles all travel - boat, plane, cab... Airport is easy both in Belize city and San Pedro. Resort is gorgeous and well kept. The flats fishing was fair, lots of bones but no permit / tarpon to be found over 3 days... Order some food for your room from www.mantagrandegrocery.com on line for dinner, breakfast, etc... or just for snacks in your room. I ordered a case of beer, rum, gin, and lots of food. This made the stay lots of fun and probably saved a ton on drinks and snacks we would have had to buy.

The restaurant on site was very good. And next door, Rendevous was good as well. The best food we had was lunch at Capricorn. It is a short bike ride on the beach, South just past Capt. Morgan's resort. Get the fish tacos!! Also the Palapa Bar is not to be missed it was another highlight of the trip. Great place!! We used David's private boat rides to get around the island. The hotel will call him for you. He is prompt has a great boat and charges 20 -25 US per trip.

I highly recommend the resort dive shop and the instruction in the resort pool by Ruban. He will take you after a short lesson on a beautiful dive. You will see turtles, nurse sharks, grouper, snapper, shrimp, crabs, etc... It is gorgeous and the resort instruction is all you need, not a certification. It was our first dive and it was the highlight of the trip.

Room Tip: Pool front room is fine. the oceanfront is not necessary, its a 100 yard walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is my 4th trip to Ambergris Caye, Belize and we always love staying here. Perfectly located just far away from town, but not too far, only a short 10 min. water taxi ride. The service here has always been great, from the greeters to the wait staff. Never once an altercation that they could or would not fix promptly and with pleasure. As anyone can see the rooms online from the photos, they are what they advertise, excellent! We alway stay in one of the Seahouse Villa's located right on the beach, so we walk out of the front door straight into the sand. Exit the rear door and walk right into the pool. You just can't get any better place. The food is alway great and It's never overpriced as many resorts overcharge for average food. No disappointments here. Although not advertised as an all adult resort, it is nice for us that this place really doesn't have too many family's stay here. So the peace and quiet we come here for, is what we get.

On this trip we decided to extend our stay, and the management staff reduced our rate almost in half, for us to stay a few extra days to enjoy the tranquility. So were staying!

Room Tip: As my review mentioned, stay in one of the Seahouses! You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1BadBull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I'm already looking forward to going back to Belize. This hotel was perfect. The rooms were clean, all have multiple bedrooms, a kitchen and a lounge area outside. The pool is great, the food is excellent ( lots of healthy choices) and the serve was top notch.

Worth every penny!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taramarievan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

PROS:
- new modern townhouse style
- the cleanliness

CONS:
- the WiFi is horrible and did not work- AT ALL (Before the staff comments with their condescending reply about guests wanting to get away from work..and working on the issue with the cable provider.. at $350 a night, WIfi should be working properly. No excuses)
- Cable TV was an issue.. it was not working at all. Horrible.. especially when you advertise certain amenities.
- No complimentary rum punch (not just juice) upon arrival. (your competitors are offering it.. you should probably do the same)
- You have to pay for bikes??? (Really? At such a high end hotel, it comes off very tacky to charge guests for bike use.. We stayed at 2 other hotels in Belize who offered this as complimentary)
- The 'O' Restaurant is truly overrated (we witnessed guests ordering and sending their food back). The food is horrible. And to charge US prices is a crime. Word of Advice: Do not order the 'Spicy Chicken' Sandwich.. you'll regret it..
- No complimentary airport transfers??.. I struggle to understand why this hotel is a such a high price point.. It is very tacky to charge $25 per person for an airport transfer.. especially when the hotel owns and operates their own taxi/boat.
- Check your bill before you check out.. We were overcharged and luckily had them investigate a restaurant charge we did not incur.

Overall, I would not recommend anyone staying here. We ended up checking out and staying at a wonderful luxury hotel in town and it WAS AMAZING, It is acutally the 2nd rated hotel on here.. read those reviews! We wish we took them serious before coming here. IT is actually a hassle to be this far away from town. Trust me.. there is nothing in the surrounding area.. you need to be closer to town.

Room Tip: Rooms that have a pool entrance and view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamrock831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasTerrazasTeam, Director of Sales at Las Terrazas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing your opinions of Las Terrazas Resort. While the stay with us was not to your satisfaction, we are glad you were able to enjoy beautiful Ambergris Caye at another resort. TripAdvisor provides a great venue for guests and owners to learn from one another and we value this forum. I would like to use this forum to address your points.


- In regards to WiFi; we wish you would have addressed this with the Front Desk team as we are not aware of WiFi challenges. We upgraded our routers late May and have not had any complaints since then.



- We did learn after you checked out that one of the TV cables was disconnected from the input inside the room. If that was brought to our attention while you were with us, it would have been immediately fixed.



- We appreciate your comments regarding the bicycles. We charge a rental fee to help offset the costs due to the heavy wear and tear the bicycles receive from our guests. However, your comments are allowing us to re-address this and we hope to announce soon that bicycles will be complimentary for our guests along with the hobie cats, paddle boards and kayaks.



- Your comment regarding the Spicy Chicken Sandwich is of course based on personal preference as it is one of the most popular dishes on our menu. We reviewed Guest Checks from the night of your dinner and noticed that only one dish was returned and not because the guest was unhappy with it, but due to a mix up in the order. In regards to our quoting in US Dollars, the restaurant at the resort you located to, is one of few that cater to US clientele who quote in Belize Dollars. As quoted from Frommer's Guide: "Many hotels, restaurants, and tour operators actually quote in U.S. dollars"



- The $25 one way transfer fee per person is not uncommon; especially for resorts north of town. While we do own our boat, the fee helps offset the costs associated. As you may not be aware, fuel on the island is currently $6.25US per gallon.



Lastly, in regards to Las Terrazas being a hassle due to our location; our guests actually enjoy the privacy and exclusivity that our location provides. The majority of our guests book with us directly and we spend a large amount of time with them on the phone explaining our location and what we offer. This helps us both ensure that the resort is a great fit for their vacation.



For your future travels, we would like to strongly encourage you or other guests to discuss any concerns with the Front Desk team and / or on site manager. As noted above, most issues; especially the small ones, can easily be remedied. Hoteliers definitely want the guest to walk away with a good experience and knowing they received value for their stay.

If there is anything further I can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact me personally via our US Reservations & Sales Office.

Warm Regards,

Carolyn Stone
Director of Sales
Las Terrazas Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Spacious accommodations. Fine dining... you will not need to dine anywhere else. Terrific amenities. A wonderful spa. But it is the staff's personal attention to each guest's needs that makes this resort a must for the traveller that insists on being pampered.

Room Tip: All rooms are new, spacious and beautiful, so unless you really need that sea view... don't both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
6.8 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#41 of 55 in San Pedro
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in San Pedro
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#16 of 55 in San Pedro
677 reviews
1.4 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 55 in San Pedro
1,002 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 55 in San Pedro
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Terrazas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Terrazas Resort

Address: Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $387 - $927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Terrazas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest luxury properties on the island of Ambergris Caye, Las Terrazas is the only member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts in Belize and part of the LVX Collection. Located just 3.5 miles north of San Pedro, Las Terrazas Resort invites you to experience exceptional, spacious townhome-style accommodations and gracious Belizean hospitality at our oceanfront retreat. Situated on one of the most beautiful and secluded private beaches, our Ambergris Caye resort is an exhilarating tropical playground where you can discover Belize; "Mother Nature's best kept secret." Experience world class attractions such as diving and snorkeling, the lavish Serenity Spa and Wellness Center, fishing, zip lining and cave tubing, Mayan Ruins, or relaxing on the beach. Take advantage of our FREE Amenities including Paddle Boards, Kayaks, Hobie Cats, an Aqua Bike, Bicycles and Yoga Mats. Golf Cart Rental is available to explore the island and town of San Pedro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Las Terrazas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Terrazas Hotel San Pedro
Las Terrazas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing