We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Beautiful Resort on the Island 5 Star Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Terrazas Resort
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This was our first trip to Belize and we couldn't be any happier with our stay at Las Terrazas. Bored of the Caribbean, we were looking for an alternative sunny spot to spend Presidents Day weekend. Ambergris Caye and Las Terrazas was just that, offering the perfect mix of luxury, relaxation and adventure.

Friends of mine had recommended staying at Mata Chica and Victoria House but both resorts were sold out. We visited both for meals while we were on the island and after seeing both are SO happy we stayed at Las Terrazas. I was a little hesitant to believe all the raving reviews on TripAdvisor but when we arrived I instantly could see what all the hype was about. The rooms are HUGE, modern, and new. The staff is warm, welcoming and attentive. And most importantly the Pina Coldas are AWESOME. Instead of recounting our experience day by day. I'll leave a couple useful travel tips from our trip.

1. Call Lorraine (1.800.447.1553) in the Houston Reservations Office to book your stay. She spent around an hour answering all of my questions about the resort, the island and walking me through the different rooms that were available during our stay. We choose a Garden Terrace Room and were able to take advantage of the 4th Night Free promotion featured on Trip Advisor.

2. Ask for Room 220. This was not a Room, this was an entire 2 stories of a townhouse featuring a full kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and 2 terraces. The terrace connected to the master bedroom is where we spent ALL of our downtime. None of the buildings are more then 3 stories high on the island, so from the terrace you can see the ocean, the lagoon and the beautiful sunrise and sunset. The terrace is outfitted with two lounge chairs, a day bed and a built in banquet. This was a great place to read and enjoy occasional visits from the hummingbirds that roam the property.

3. Order fish at "O" Restaurant. Living in New York we are a little spoiled when it comes to food. Admittingly, we found the food at "O" nothing to write home about. The only improvements the resort could make is with the food. The traditional breakfast dishes are probably the most exciting thing on the menu and the fish entrées and burgers are done well. It’s the American dishes need help - think canned jalapeños and microwave cheese.

4. Do the Lamanai Tour run by SEAduced. Maurice at the front desk will book all of your tours for you, so no need to do so before you arrive. We wanted to visit the Maya Ruins and could not be more happy with the Lamanai river adventure guided by Ricky and Leon from the SEAduced team. The tour was small, less then 20 people, and there were NO KIDS. The whole team is very knowledgeable and a lot of fun. The team picks you up at ~6:45am and you take a 1 hr boat ride to the mainland, where you eat breakfast and then take a van to the New River. During the boat tour up the New River we saw 2 packs of monkeys one with a baby on its back and a bunch of crocodiles and birds. The ruins were beautiful and our guide did a great job getting us to the sites before the other groups so we could take pictures and explore without a ton of other people. Make sure you DO NOT do any these tours when cruise ships are at port or if its raining.

5. Eat at Victoria House. The Victoria House resort is on the other side of the island but if you make a reservation you can take the water taxi to town and then a member of their staff will come pick you up in a golf cart and take you to dinner. The food is exceptional and the service is great. Despite being a "white tablecloth" type restaurant, the atmosphere is laid back and fun. Guest were wearing sandals (not flip-flops) and island casual clothing. The resort grows a lot of its produce onsite and tries to use the freshest produce available. Again, we both got fish and LOVED it. We were expecting to pay over-the-top island prices, but were pleasantly surprised when we saw that the bill was comparable to a nyc dinner.

6. Walk or take a golf cart over to the Mata Chica Resort bar. Mata Chica is about a mile away from the resort and has a really cool, funky restaurant and bar. We walked over for lunch one day and had drinks and ceviche. We really enjoyed the relaxed vibe and enjoyed hanging out by their water front bar that has pool table and good music.

7. Visit Hol Chan Marine Reserve. The snorkel tour run by the dive shop next door is great. The equipment was new and clean and the tours are small. Our guide did an excellent job identifying all of the fish for us, and let us explore a bit on our own. We saw so many amazing animals, 2 sea turtles, sharks, rays, eels, and tons of beautiful fish. They bring water and fresh fruit to enjoy at the end of the tour. Was a great way to spend a morning.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 220! It isamazing has 2 patios, 1 that opens up from the master bedroom and is enormus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Crisanta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 880 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

My husband and I had a fantastic stay at Las Terrazas. The staff really did go out of their way to accomodate us, and they coordinated everything from our arriving to cocktails to arranging our excursions to providing us with checkout plans before we asked. The condo was HUGE! We could have very comfortably had another couple stay and it still be plenty big. The beach/water is fantastic, and while there was the sea grass, it really didn't bother us. The White Sands Dive shop was fantastic. The staff was very friendly, and safety conscious. Our only down side with regards to diving is that we weren't able to go to Turneffe Atoll because none of the dive shops had enough customers wanting to go.

Some overall observations:
1. Getting a golf cart was a huge benefit, but be ready to pay for it. It cost almost $300 for the week to rent it, and everytime you cross the bridge into San Pedro you have to pay a $5 BZE toll! You will also have to put gas in it and that is about $6/gallon!
2. The kitchens in Las Terrazas are beautiful, but not so practical. There was no blender, no baking sheet, and no measuring cups/spoons. So if you're planning on going there and making your own daquaris/margaritas or cooking some, good luck.
3. The kayaks that are available for free are perfect for taking out to the bouys, tieing up and snorkeling from. We saw some beautiful stuff that way!
4. If you reallly want to see the best marine life, go to Hol Chan.
5. Fido's bar in town is super laid back and often has live music. Their bar menu has some tasty stuff that is realatively inexpensive. Also, one of the bartenders, Christian, is awesome.
6. Crave restaurant has fantastic lunch specials during the week...for $5 US you can get a huge plate of food that is really good.

Overall the trip was incredibly relaxing and will definitely be one we repeat!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kpcarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I'm not sure where to start. We had booked a patio residence - but since they were quite empty they upgraded us to a veranda room at no extra charge. The room was beautiful - the in room washer/dryer was so nice to have. Having the kitchen was nice but since we didn't stop at a store we ate nearly all our meals in the restaurant and just used the fridge for chilling drinks and keeping leftovers.
The staff was fantastic. I've traveled a few places that claim tourism as their major industry - but the staff at Las Terrazas was better than any I've seen before.
This was our first time in Belize and before leaving we were already considering coming back next year, to Ambergris Caye and Las Terrazas - I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sparkee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We went to Belize primarlity to snorkel and enjoy the water. The water is incredibly beautiful and so are the people. Everyone was so nice, talkative and genuine. Never did I feel we were getting the "tourist smile job". Some of the great people - Mario, Noreen, Wallace, Nigel, Roldolfo and more. Went out on two snorkel / fish tours with Gasper and Tap - greate guys too - conch, lobster, snapper. Brought them back and Alex (Head Chef) of Las Terrassaz made them superbly for two nights of dinners.

The only compaint I had was not with the resort or people, but the beach. It is very shallow and lots of turtle grass. So really to enjoy the snorkeling and water (beside Kayaks) you really had to get on a boat at about $200 a pop 1/2 day.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Las Terrazas is fabulous!! Ambergris Caye is one of the most beautiful places on earth. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back.
Things that we would recommend:
1. Rent a golf cart. Las Terrazas is 3 ½ + miles from town---and you really need transportation if you want to go out to dinner at night. The water taxi upon arrival is wonderful, but would not recommend the water taxi every time you go to and from town. It is actually quite scary after dark. For parties of 2 or more, the golf cart is quite reasonable compared to water taxi fees. Also you do not have to plan your time around the water taxi schedule.
2. Recommended places to eat include:
a. Caliente---reasonably priced and awesome food
b. Sunset Grill—romantic and fun, you can feed the tarpon here
c. Caramba—reasonable and good Mexican food
d. Sail Away Café—best place for an awesome cup of coffee in the morning
3. The entire hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and attentive. Whenever we had a question, the staff was able to help us out.
4. For snorkel trips---avoid the dive shop right beside the hotel. They are much more expensive than the dive shops in town. We went through Searious Adventures and were very satisfied with the cost and the service and the range of trips available.

Belize & Las Terrazas were simply wonderful. We absolutely loved every minute & plan to come back soon!

Room Tip: Recommend a room by the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvidTraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Well,
Where to start, prior to this trip I had been to Belize using one of Captain Ron’s properties. It was great that time around, but this time 100X’s of times better. My wife and I travel a fair bit, and I have had the pleasure of being many places in the world. Belize is by far my absolute favourite Caribbean destination.

We were married several months earlier and had planned to skip a part of Canadian winter and head south. Las Terrazas was the PERFECT choice. Initially we had booked for 2 weeks, but due to Continental Airlines being incompetent we arrived a day late.
Upon arrival you are greeted @ the airport by a taxi, we had Mosquito and his new helper. Followed by a 5 minute ride to a dock where one of the staff on a boat picks you up. Our first encounter was with Mario, very friendly and smiley. When you arrive @ the biggest dock on the island (the resort) you are greeted by smiles and drinks, this is always good. Your bags are taken for you and you're escorted to the check in. Upon checking in, post a walk down a dock with incredible views of the beach and surrounding area, you are taken to your room. This is where we found a nice touch was it was shown to us and we were told "Welcome to your HOME for the next 13 days", very nice.

We had one of the 3rd floor 2 bed/2bath suites with a pool on the balcony. FYI - ANY and all pictures on the website are fully accurate and not "done in perfect lighting" or "airbrushed" by any means. What you see on the website is what you actually get, (in all honestly possibly a touch better). Anyhow, it was an amazing room with all the amenities as listed on the site. There are several grocery stores in town that you can purchase your groceries and have the delivered; we had them sent as the road IS a little bumpy for you to have eggs and glass bottle rattling around. There were no extra costs, so why not.
The beach itself is beautiful, for those with an issue with the sea grass in front of the beach there is a cleared swimming area at the end of the dock, nothing to complain about there. Beaches are groomed daily and very well kept, and the pool is amazing and clean as any pool need be with tons of chairs to sit in and not 1000 other tourists to fight off for space either.

The "O" restaurant on site is AMAZING. The food, the staff, the drinks, all FANTASTIC. There is a nightly special and generally we got whatever the special was for dinner, and lunch, but had 99% of what was on the menu, and it was all great. Now, we had previously purchased a 5 day mean plan, so we could get a taste of the food and just relax the first day or two. I am on the fence whether or not I'd do it again, the liquor is NOT covered nor was any of the lobster/sea food. The food is not super cheap here, but it is not mind blowingly expensive either as previously guests have mentioned. At the end of the day I had no issues whatsoever with paying the prices for the quality of food you get. The staff throughout the resort is all fantastic. Special Thanks to Miguel and Wallace for taking care of us and always smiling. I'd like to mention more, but a week after vacation the post vaycay depression is deleting names. The manager Dave was more than attentive and would always wave when you saw him and though we never had an issue, I am sure it would have been resolved quickly.

The power went off 1 night we were here for maybe an hour max one evening. I don't see the big issue, you are in the Caribbean, get out of the Condo and enjoy the candle light and stars. We used the golf carts to go to town several times and to explore the island. The roads are not your fancy paved, smooth as glass roads, you’re on vacation, have an adventure, it is about a 15 minute drive to town on a golf cart and lots to see on the trip and plenty of places to stop for food/drink. Upon one of our excursions in the evening about 3 miles to the NORTH of the resort the amount on the frame of our cart broke, it was a long walk home, but things happen, no one to blame, could happen to anyone. We stopped @ the store en-route back, purchased a case of beer (long walk makes you thirsty) and they were nice enough to drive us back to our cart. The resort dealt with the issue and there were no accusations nor accrued costs. We walked to town twice from the resort on the beach, it takes a good 2-3 hours (with washroom and refreshment breaks of course), but is a nice walk.

We did the deep sea fishing, and did well caught a multitude of Dorado, Snapper, Trigger, Grouper, Barracuda fish and had a fantastic day, this is just luck, sometimes you get skunked, sometimes not, but we had a blast. Also did a tour of xuanatunich ruins and cave tubing, the tubing was great as was the Myan ruins, if we were to go again I’d do the Lamani tour instead as the river ride there has a lot more wildlife on the tour as many other travelers had told us. Our guide for the tours was Wayne from SERIous adventures and he was fantastic and kept the libations flowing. Also managed the sunset catamaran cruise, it was fantastic, and a definite must do if looking for a touch of romance to start off an evening. My wife got certified in Scuba Diving from the White Sands shop (in partnership with the resort and a 2 min walk on the beach) Found they were MORE than accommodating and an absolute must do for anyone who enjoys snorkeling, the cost is VERY minimal when compared to home and you get 4 open water dives out of it in Belize (350$-ish) Highly recommend. On out walks up and down the beach and touring the island one of our favourite parts was the fact due to the lack of ALL INCLUSIVE resorts on the island you could stop anywhere, swim in the pool, eat the food, drink the drinks and pay and be on your way. A great way to get a feel for the choices of properties on the island. After a long day we had booked our couples massage, AWESOME, none better than being relaxed like this after a long day and going to your room, relaxing with a beverage and staring out @ the Caribbean. Also a must do for a real relaxing time.

Much of the time spent in town was for lunches and shopping, now, ladies, the shopping in Belize is NOT the same as Mexico, Cuba, and Dominican Republic. Things here are not all negotiable and 5$. There are street vendors in town and the odd place, they are who you may be able to negotiate with, and the majority of goods are ash trays, bracelets, belts, and figurines. But if you are planning on sun dresses, and clothes and a new wardrobe for under 50$, this is the wrong place. Things here will cost you 60%-100% of what they will @ home. We ate at most the places in town, Blue water Grill is a great place for a romantic night in town and great food. Fidos is generally the PLACE TO BE most nights, with live music playing and a great atmosphere and buckets of beer for cheap. Not to mention the water taxi is right outside and simple to get to. Another favourite restaurant on the trip was “AJI” is a short walk 20-30 mins, south of the resort on the beach, and has plants bent and formed around to from a roof, FANTASTIC food, drink, service and atmosphere. Even stop by for breakfast or lunch one day, it is all good food.

As for things to bring, leave your jackets and sweaters @ home, in Feb. When we were here the coldest we saw was about 25 degrees Celsius on our trip, you are happy in pants and a long sleeve dress shirt. Bugs for us were only an issue the one night, and there was no wind and we were walking the beach @ night. Sun screen is a must, as is burn cream, because it is going to happen regardless. We were on our honeymoon so budget was not a huge thing we kept our eyes on, though we weren’t completely out of control, but all the same with any vacation, expect to spend 100$ a day on random things, whether it be tips for staff, food here and there, a trinket for your better half (who will smile to get it) or some sort of memento.

At the end of the day this trip was one the best we’ve ever taken, we had our ups and downs, but there was never a negative issue with the resort. Ambergris Caye, Belize is by far one of the safest places in the world to travel and we SHALL be back again.

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms with a pool on the balcony........where else do you find that? At the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lazer_Beam_Oil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We just got back from an amazing trip to Belize and Las Terrazas Resort. The staff was extremely friendly and eager to help us in any way we needed. The resort was very clean, safe and well kept up, and the beach on the resort is absolutely beautiful. The pool was perfect, and the pool chairs were so comfortable, we fell asleep in them daily.

O Restaurant is wonderful, we ate there multiple times and were always extremely impressed with the food. The blackened snapper is amazing! (And the prices are definitely reasonable). The chef would come out and greet the tables every night - he was great and so personable!

The location was great - the water taxi gets you into the town of San Pedro within about 10 minutes max - it picks you up right at the resort. You can also walk by beach to a bunch of different restaurants near the resort. We did an excursion to the mainland to the Mayan ruins, which was amazing, and the tour boat picked us up right at the resort. It was so easy.

I also must say they make the BEST pina coladas! :)

The dive shop affiliated with the resort, White Sands, was also really great. It's located right on the beach in front of the resort, so very handy to go diving. The White Sands staff was also incredibly nice and knowledgable about the area, and the staff member Carlos that took us out was able to point things out to us that we would have never seen on our own.

I can't say enough great things about this resort, and will definitely go back in the future (and have some family members planning a stay here next year!). We had a great experience!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tifftiff57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.6 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
1,001 reviews
6.8 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 54 in San Pedro
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
365 reviews
1.4 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
976 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Terrazas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Terrazas Resort

Address: Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $393 - $894 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Terrazas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest luxury properties on the island of Ambergris Caye, Las Terrazas is the only member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts in Belize and part of the LVX Collection. Located just 3.5 miles north of San Pedro, Las Terrazas Resort invites you to experience exceptional, spacious townhome-style accommodations and gracious Belizean hospitality at our oceanfront retreat. Situated on one of the most beautiful and secluded private beaches, our Ambergris Caye resort is an exhilarating tropical playground where you can discover Belize; "Mother Nature's best kept secret." Experience world class attractions such as diving and snorkeling, the lavish Serenity Spa and Wellness Center, fishing, zip lining and cave tubing, Mayan Ruins, or relaxing on the beach. Take advantage of our FREE Amenities including Paddle Boards, Kayaks, Hobie Cats, an Aqua Bike, Bicycles and Yoga Mats. Golf Cart Rental is available to explore the island and town of San Pedro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Las Terrazas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Terrazas Hotel San Pedro
Las Terrazas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing