We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like we owned our own beach home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belizean Cove Estates
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Felt like we owned our own beach home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I happened upon a "deal" on a week at Belizean Cove Estates when I was searching for a good airline price for air travel from California to Belize. Every October for our anniversary I try to plan a lovely beach escape for hubby and me. So I booked a 2-bedroom villa and researched the area. We normally stay in timeshare resorts with full kitchens and we like to cook in addition to trying local restaurants. Recognizing how far we were from San Pedro I ordered a week's worth of groceries from Lagniappe Provisioning. Everything was beautifully displayed in the villa kitchen when we arrived. I also maintained regular e-mail contact with the manager up until we left California. She gave me advice on the various options for getting from Belize City to the resort from least to most expensive. We chose Tropic Air from Belize International to San Pedro and the Belizean Coves arranged a cab to take our luggage to the Tuff E Nuff docs where a water taxi took us to the resort. Not expensive, and absolutely no hassle. She even e-mailed me a day or 2 before our trip suggesting that we bring raincoats because they'd been having some rain. Since it was off season, we were the only guests, so we had Villa Marbella all to ourselves. We paid for 2 bedrooms and got 3 bedrooms and 3 baths. The property is secluded but was just what we needed to get away for a romantic week. We bought the $30 week pass for the water taxi and took it to San Pedro every day to walk, shop, and see the sights. When we arrived the groundskeeper, Gato and manager, Carmelita met us at the dock. He took our luggage and she showed us to our villa. Amazing tropical punch was cool and waiting for us in a pitcher. She asked if we wanted rum, and added rum to our taste. We enjoyed the private jacuzzi on our patio. The groundskeeper, Gato, brought a barbecue up so we could cook steak and shrimp. The housekeeper cleaned the full villa daily and did all the dishes, so I could enjoy cooking, but didn't have to do the clean up. There are bikes and kayaks to use at no cost. If you choose, you can ride a bike to town. We didn't do that, but did use the kayaks. The groundskeeper got the kayak ready for us with life preserver and paddles when we were ready to use it. The interior of the villas is beautiful and views of the ocean from all the windows was amazing. You can also rent one of their golf carts and take it to town, but the water taxi was more fun, we thought. I was a little surprised that for a 3-bedroom villa there was only one television. It was an excellent flat screen with tons of channels, but hubby and I like to watch different television at night and we are accustomed to staying in accommodations with two or 3 TVs. It did give us more together time, though, which is a good thing. I was still in school and needed online access to the computer every day and the internet worked flawlessly. With no other guests and the staff catering to our every need, we felt like we were in our own private beach home. It was an amazing vacation. Snorkeling was incredible, weather was great, and people were awesome. I plan to return again next year at about the same time. Why hassle with the crowds? And yes, some restaurants in San Pedro and Caye Caulker were shut down for off season, but it was no great loss. We enjoyed eating in the villa as well as at local foods in San Pedro and Caye Caulker. This place is amazing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trinarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
33
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a stunning property no doubts-ideal for a family and meticulously maintained and looked after.however be aware of the limitations.

It is 3 miles north of San Pedro - so you need to get a water taxi in and out of San Pedro-not cheap at $10 return or a pass at $30 . Secondly if you go off season nothing is open -most of the good restaurants are shut in that area-so you have to go into San Pedro.

Thirdly-and I found this the most irritating- the place is a condo,yet there are no supermarkets nearby-guess what -you have to go into San Pedro. there is no on site restaurant or cafe.

When I discussed this shortfall with the manager she said that her guests normally get set a list of supermarkets beforehand that can be ordered from online.Where was our e-mail??-we were the only guests at the resort so Im surprised that this was overlooked.


These thing aside the property is as luxurious as anything in Ambergris- I challenge you to find anything better.but make sure you have your groceries ordered and get your water taxi pass into san Pedro-its great fun and all the best restaurants are there anyway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmsaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We spent a week here with our 4 teenage children and had a great time. The condo was spacious, extremely clean and very well kept with all modern fixtures and appliances. The housekeeping staff was very thorough and did all our dishes every day (no dishwasher). Carla at the front desk was great and very friendly, but not always around. Never met the Josh that the other reviews spoke about. The kids used the complimentary kayaks and had fun with them, and they had complementary bikes to use as well. We borrowed a golf cart one day which was a disaster! Got swarmed with mosquitoes and the pot-holes in the road were terrible--stick to the beach path and walk or ride the bikes. Also note--the beach has very little sand and there is lots of sea grass. Pretty, but not a place to swim! However the diving and snorkeling is awesome, and really what most come here for anyway!
We bought a week pass for the water taxi with Tuff-E-Nuff which we thought would be convenient. . . but they were always on island time. Sometimes they never came, especially if it was drizzling, and other times they were 20-30 min late. Also their pick up schedule is not very frequent. Consider using a different water taxi service if you can find one.
The pool is beautiful, with water fountains going all day long...very relaxing. The only drawback is that it is a saltwater pool. We walked down the beach almost every day to Coco Beach which is a sister resort. They had a great water slide, swim up bar, volleyball in the pool and FRESH water.
Also, no exercise equipment here or at either of the sister resorts down the beach--a big minus for people who want to work off their vacation excess!
Otherwise the property is beautiful and luxurious. Maybe a better choice for adults, and not teens--a little too quiet for our family. Of note, this is where the girls stayed in the Bachelor show with Ben this past season!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I recently honeymooned in Belize and had the greatest time at Belizean Cove!! The room we stayed in was absolutely amazing! The views from our bedroom and the patio were so incredible. I can't describe the beauty of the island and how happy we were that we chose this place for our experience! The pool there is very relaxing, and next door there is a really good restaurant called Capricorn (try the stuffed grouper!). We recommend staying at Belizean Cove to everyone who travels here. The next time my spouse and I vacation there we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

From the moment the complimentary private boat picked us up in town to the farewell wave by Josh (the manager) on the dock, our stay at Belizean Coves was extraordinary.

For our family of 6 (with kids from 16 to 24 years old), this was the PERFECT combination of private luxury with comfort.

We stayed at Brushstrokes Villa which exceeded expectations in every way. The setting of swaying palm trees and cobalt sparkling waters is stunning. The architecture and layout have a wow-factor but make you feel instantly at home. The collection of quality local art is charming and happy. The bedrooms, bathrooms, and kitchen are extremely spacious and well equipped. Everything inside the villa, from linens to TV/internet to kitchen equipment is high quality. The location on the beach is picturesque but far enough from town to feel special but not isolated. The photos don't truly show how beautiful the whole place is.

We made good use of the property's amenities and services: hot tubbing under the canopy of stars at night, riding up the beach on bikes in the afternoon, hanging out on our chaise lounge by our private pool, borrowing a golf cart for a ride to town, playing at the sister hotel up the beach with its fun rock structure slide and high dive...

Josh and the staff were knowledgeable, accessible and helpful. They helped us find great places to eat and suggest out of the way adventures. Note that while the property is on the beach, the sand area is small and not ideal for playing or lounging. But it's centrally located for great water sports, like snorkeling and diving.

Our family loved our unforgettable Belize trip. For a perfect combo: start in the Cayo district with jungle adventures at the ATM cave, Tikal ruins, tubing, etc....then come to Belizean Coves for a dreamy beach-front paradise!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JoyfulTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

From my experience of doing research online about where to stay, that most places websites simply don't do them justice, this is an understatement for Belizean Cove! Although, I don't think it's possible to put this beauty and luxury onto a website, it's something that needs to be experienced for yourself.

My family and I stayed in the 2 bedroom condo which had every single necessity you would need if you were at home times 100. The kitchen, which was large and open, had everything you would need to feed a party of 20. We had a fridge for our stuff and an wine fridge separately. The living room was cozy and had amazing views of the Caribbean sea and the dock and the property-wide pool which my kids never got sick of.

Since I was traveling with a 7 year old and a 1 year old, this made it challenging for me in most pools because my baby constantly needed to be where my older one went. With this pool there were great divisions of shallowness that he always thought he was with his brother.

And the bed! When they say "fit for king" it must have been after sleeping here and waking up to sunrises that are seen directly from the pillow! (Traveling with a baby you get to see the before the sunrise even happens - so this was a huge perk!)

However, the staff were the ones that made the difference for us! There attention to detail and the extra out of the way things they did for us, really made it a wonderful stay. We took out the bikes to explore the island, and since few people travel with babies, they didn't have one with an infant seat, but within 30 minutes they located one and we had a great bike adventure!

For our departure they did everything they could to make sure we got to where we were going, since we weren't leaving the island and they made sure that our private water taxi took us where we had to go and arranged it with the next hotel we headed too.

We traveled Belize for over 2 weeks and stayed in a variety of hotels and vacation rentals, but this one blew us away on every level! Plus, the insane sunsets didn't help our saying good bye to this gem!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley CA USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Imagine feeling like a millionaire secluded in your own 1600 sq foot 3 bedroom super deluxe condo-8 total units-pool outside your back door- beach beyond that-amazing attention to architectural detail-this place is the most amazing-beautiful wonderful you are ever going to see.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOPROWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.3 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#18 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
5.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
2.2 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belizean Cove Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Cove Estates

Property: Belizean Cove Estates
Address: PO Box 1 | 3 Miles North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belizean Cove Estates 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belizean Cove Estates is a collection of six luxurious beachfront vacation rentals located 3 miles north of San Pedro Town. Each villa is elegantly decorated with its own unique style and decor. The villas have the flexibility to be rented as one, two or three bedrooms; making Belizean Cove Estates the ideal setting for an intimate honeymoon, large family, or group vacation. All villas feature marble floors, fully equipped gourmet kitchens, a spacious living room, and dining room. Breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea can be enjoyed from the privacy of each condo's master bedroom and living room. All villas are located directly beachfront and feature a private balcony/patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belizean Cove Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Cove Estates Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Cove Estates Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing