We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Naturally Beautiful!”
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coco Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
PA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Naturally Beautiful!”
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Belize is a hidden gem. Looking for outstanding snorkel experiences? Love fishing & enjoying your catch fresh for lunch / dinner? These are some of the basic joys in addition to the charm of the town of San Pedro located just a few mikes away. Kick back & relax on Ambergris Caye or take a day trip to the mainland to tour the Myan ruins. Lots of natural beauty in Belize & the resort at Coco Beach is eloquently designed to reflect that natural beauty back in it's construction - the pool, the views, and the natural resources used in the construction of the villas, casitas, & penthouses. You'll love it! Service is fantastic. Staff members are friendly & make you feel right at home so much so you will not want to leave for sure!
casitas, &

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveledwell4years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    235
    55
    19
    7
See reviews for
377
693
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bremerton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This is the perfect place if you like to spend your vacation time exploring and relaxing in a laid-back accommodating atmosphere with beautiful surroundings. We loved every minute of our trip to Ambergris Caye. We traveled there during hurricaine season in October 2010 and the rates were reasonable. The tourists were minimal and hence we had expedient service wherever and whenever we requested it.
The staff and grounds at CoCo Beach Resort were exceptional. This is one of the few gorgeous resorts on Amberbris Caye. Larry the pool boy and Myrtle the maid attended to our every need including keeping our room and pool-side immaculate, adjusting our umbrella, keeping the mosquitos at bay, bringing us a microwave and picking fresh flowers for our table every day. On my birthday a large towel swan and hibiscus flowers were arranged on our bed and a complimentary bottle of wine was chilling. The hotel room was spacious and clean with custom work and furnishings throughout. The grounds were made for romance with a heart-shaped hot tub, waterfalls, special lighting, a swim-up pool bar and private hammocks under the palms and stars.
We took two tours, a series of dives for scuba diving certification and zip-line and cave tubing, with Tuff-E-Nuff tours associated with the resort. We paid more for this tour company but felt very comfortable with them. Everyone was really great, from the divemaster to the tour guides and everyone inbetween. They were all very knowledgeable, fun and treated us like friends.
We had access to a kayak, hobie cat and a paddle boat anytime that we wanted to go a short distance out to snorkel on the west side of the reef. Golf carts and bicycles were available to explore the island with and to go shopping in San Pedro.
At the time that we were there the resort was in the process of building a restaurant and a work-out facility. We thought of the little inconveniences as adventures. There were a variety of restaurants just a stroll down the beach and plenty of ocean and swimming pools to work-out in.
We miss you all and will be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlbrooksBremerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We arrived to a beautiful resort with great staff and a wonderful greeting on the dock by Corrina. The rooms exceeded our expectations. We ate alot at the newly opened Green Iguana Restaurant and they took very good care of us. The food was fantastic and fresh. We found the pricing of the food to be average for the Island but the portions and quality to be very good.The new owner really looked after us. We recommend to anyone staying to try the Green Iguana and Coco Beach , they are both fantastic. The town is amzing and lots to do there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calcer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

I just returned on January 15th. My sister and I stayed for 8 days, 7 nights.

The resort is beautiful with wonderful staff who are courteous, friendly and nice. The hotel rooms have a coffee maker, mircowave and refrigerator which are really appreciated and we used them. The rooms and balconies were spacious, comfortable and clean. However, as other have reported, there is no restaurant. Though there is food nearby, and easilly accessible, it is a big inconvenience to have zero food. Just some snack items would be helpful. Hey management (ie., Scott) add a grill in the bar area. You could offer hamburgers, tacos, nachos, etc. Bring the meat from the restaurant and set something up. Saying that the restaurant will be open soon is not enough. You could still have the bar grill, even after the restaurant is open. And as anyone can clearly see, the restaurant will not be open in March. It has along way to go before it's ready, along way. Also, the beds are hard. Mattress toppers are needed. Others reported that Tuff Enuff Tours were great. We didn't use them. We went next door to Captain Morgans and saved ALOT of money and the tours (blue hole snorkeling, cave tubing and ziplining) were wonderful. Tuff Enuff wanted the same amount for the Blue Hole snorkeling and the diving. Clearly snorkeling is much cheaper. The drinks at the resort were expensive. $7-12 per drink was ridiculous. (Scott, lower the prices and people will spend more since they will stay and drink and you're volumn will increase). It was wonderful to have access to free internet, and no one hogged them. Nice to ask for a towel and not have to account for every towel. And, the towels were the softest I've ever encountered, anywhere. Pools absolutely beautiful and clean.

Overall, almost anywhere you go the food and beverages are expensive. You are going to spend alot of money on these items and the tours. Just at the end of the dock of where they pick you up is a little shack/stand. Locals call it the Garage. They sell beverages. Pick up a cold Beliken here, cheap! Also, across the street and to the left of the airport is a grocery and liquor store. Pick up your groceries and beverages here. It's a short few (3-4) blocks to the dock to take the water taxi back to the Coco Beach. You'll save alot of money at this store. Remember you can microwave your eggs for breakfast while sipping your coffee on the balcony. It was a nice was to begin the day. Head to Captain morgans and check out the drink of the day (two bars, two different drink specials) and their happy hour is 3-6. Go to Capricorns for the lobster sandwich or shrimp tacos. Walk (15-20) down the beach toward the Grand Caribe, follow the signs for the Lazy Croc. Great barbeque and good priced, ice cold Beliken. We spent one afternoon walking up the beach trying out all the bars and checking out the menus. The Belizian people are so nice and friendly.
There is sea grass almost everywhere, so the beaches will be disappointing to those who haven't read it before they go and know this. The power supply is not a given in Belize. The power was out from 8:00am-3:00pm on Friday. This was a planned outage. There were many times during the day that power would go out and come back on. You'll need to ask, but when the power is out, the bar has 2-1 specials on the local rum drinks. Captain morgans and Capricorns has a generator, so you can eat there.

Summary: Hotel very nice, generally all food and beverage VERY expensive, beaches just okay, food service at resort BADLY needed.

Things to take with you: can/bottle opener, flashlight (it's almost a given you'll be walking somewhere at night to get food and beverages), snacks, plastic utensils, plates and cups, closed toed shoes for cave tubing/ziplining, candles, matches.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lizthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

This was the best vacation ever. I'll start off first by just saying how great the town of San Pedro is. The people are so nice and we never once felt uneasy or threatened. The town is truly unique in its hospitality.

Secondly, Coco Beach has got to be the best resort on AC. The pools are incredible, the grounds beautiful, the rooms beautiful, the workers, from the bartenders to the groundsmen, were very nice. The rock cliff/slide in the back pool was a blast. Its much bigger than it looks in the pictures. The front pool has a hot tub, swim-up bar, and shallow areas where you can just sit and relax. If you're staying in one of the larger rooms, but not a penthouse, I'd recommend asking for E-3 or E-4. These units are right in the middle and have the best views.

Some recommendations: don't do full-day tours. You'll spend most of the day in a van. I'd stick to the 1/2 day snorkel or other activities. Also, we didn't care for the water taxi. It's a cheap service, but didn't like the fact that we were on their schedule. When we go back, we'll definitely rent a golf cart for the whole week. The drive is not as bad as it seems it should be. Next thing you know, you're into town, and had fun doing it. There are so many great restaurants that you really can't go wrong. If it's late and you're looking for something, i'd avoid (unfortunately) the restaurant next door, Green Iguana (used to be Upper Deck), and go south to either Captain Morgans or Capricorn. They're still building a restaurant onsite with a small convenience store, but who knows when that'll be done. I'd go ahead and plan on it not being ready. We did the Lagniappe Provisioning so by the time we got there, our room was stocked with all we needed for breakfast, some lunches, and beer and wine. The food is too good down there to not eat out every night.

Lastly, Belikin Beer is just as good as the island itself. Somehow, this isn't surprising. We already miss it down there and will be back asap.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meagelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2011

My hubby and I stayed at Coco Beach resort for our 5 year wedding anniversary and we are so glad we did. We were greeted by the lovey Corina with cool and refreshing towels on arrival and the hospitality just got better. ALL of the staff was helpful and friendly. The gals at the desk(Janine and Lorena) were informative and helpful and answered us whenever we had a question. Both of the pools were fantastic- they look even better in person!
The bar staff at the pool was awesome- Joseph, Leon and Michael (and of course Milton) made and served the best cocktails in San Pedro :o)
The condos were spotless, the A/C and fans kept us as cool as we wanted (although after a couple of days we didn't want the a/c anymore). The housekeepers kept an immaculate house. The only downfall was the restaurant was not available so meals have to be either made (with groceries from town) or eaten out. I am sure that this will be remedied as soon as the restaurant is finished. Hopefully they will put a mini market on the resort premises too :o)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyandbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I just spent 18 days in Belize at Coco Beach Resort. This was the best vacation of my life to date. December 21-Janury 8th.

I have vacationed in Jamaica for the last 10 years and tried Belize this year with a couple freinds. Not only was Coco Beach a great place to stay, but the entire Belizean experience was to die for. From Ricco and the Boys at Tuff-E-Nuff (Captain Nigel you rock), to Eric and his staff at Coco Beach, my stay was a delight. Great food, drinks, fishing, and diving.
I travel the world over for work and spend over 3 months a year living in hotels. This location was the best way I have ever found to recharge. I have never thought much need in a vacation. 8 days was my longest to date, but I will be booking 3 weeks every year at Coco Beach in Belize.
Whant the vacation of a lifetime? Try Belize and Coc Beach.

Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevrob14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.1 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
972 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
793 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Property: Coco Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning waterfront Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize, 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town and the island's only airstrip. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, and the island's most incredible free form swimming pool and swim up bar reserved for the exclusive use of our registered guests. Luxurious accommodations, great staff, complimentary kayaking, paddle boarding and weekday water aerobics, various food and beverage options, on call spa services, complimentary WIFI in public areas and onsite vacation planning/concierge service ensure an unforgettable vacation experience. A team of dedicated reservations professionals are available to plan your stay as well as your transfers from the Belize International airport to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing