We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel but its Location bit far from San Pedro”
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coco Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel but its Location bit far from San Pedro”
Reviewed July 2, 2010

It is a nice and beautiful hotel with huge swimming pools (the hotel has two swimming pools). Our room was huge with view & entrance to swimming pool. It was located bit in the back side of the hotel but we found it nicer. However the room was bit stink, but the hotel was quickly send its staff to fix the sewer system in the bathroom and the smell was gone.

Free wi-fi was available in our room as well.

There was no restaurant/ kitchen yet during our stay so food should be ordered from the other hotel next door and breakfast was available from the other hotel next door.

The only issue for us though, we found Coco Beach Resort's location is bit too far from San Pedro - where we booked our scuba diving packages and lots of restaurants/bars located. It took us 30-45 minutes cycling to San Pedro (bicycle rental is available from the hotel) and sincerely we didn't dare to cycle to return to the hotel at night - the road to reach Coco Beach Resort do not have street lights and close to mangrove swamp area. Off course it will be faster and easier if you took a water taxi but then you will depend on the hour when the taxi arrives/goes. Another option was renting golfcart but we found the rental price was bit too expensive.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indie_dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    232
    54
    19
    7
See reviews for
370
689
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pflugerville, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We went to Coco beach resort, Belize to celebrate our 10th year wedding anniversary. We wanted to go to a place that we can celebrate our time together and one we would remember for a very long time.
Our experience at Coco Beach was "more than what we expected". When I reserved our accomodations with Pam at U.S. reservations, she was very kind, patient, and a great listener. Told her we were celebrating our anniversary and when we received our confirmation, It was notated in there. We chose to stay at a casita, about 1200 sq..feet equipped with kitchen appliances. In the counter top when we walked in, there was a bottle of champagne and card waiting and welcoming us for this wonderful week ahead . My husband and I were impressed.
Coco Beach became more than what we expected because of the warmth of the people that works there, services provided and its location. As soon as we arrived in San Pedro, there was a designated boat that came to pick us up from the resort. When we got to the dock, 3 people were waiting for us to pick up luggages and to welcome us. The only thing missing was probably red carpet because we felt very special. Rhoda gave us a wonderful tour of the place along with a welcome drink at the pool bar. When we entered our casita, we were soooo pleased with what we saw. The pictures on the web was beautiful but it was "gorgeous" in person. The decor of the place was outstanding. It reminded me of home and the things we would like to do even more in our house.::))
There wasnt any restaurant available in the location but Belizean shore next door had room service available. We were happy with the food that we did order a couple of times.
We loved our kitchen that going to SanPedro was a must for groceries.
Coco Beach is a piece of paradise. Writing this review makes me wish we were still there.
Hospitality in this location made our stay even more pleasant. Ainley and Larry did not missed a beat on making sure we are doing well and are enjoying our stay every time they see us. Jane and her staff in housekeeping did a wonderful job in making our stay stress free. We didn't require nor needed a lot in our casita, but the days that they were working in there, results were impressive.
Because of our wonderful stay and the friends that we made while we were out there, we have decided Coco beach will be a regular spot for our yearly vacation. We are looking forward to visiting there again next year. We did ask if we could check the other accomodations for future choices and they were willing to show it to us. Thanks to Rhoda again for doing this for us.
My husband and I remember Coco beach fondly and recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coco2010Z_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We searched hard to find the right place in Belize for our Family of 5 adventure. After looking at all the options, we decided on Coco Beach and spent 10 nights in the 3bedroom Ocean View Penthouse Suite (A5). In addition to a great vacation we got to experience our first tropical storm (Alex). This was strangely a high point to our stay.

Coco Beach is a very new property on the north side,

Pros:
There are two pools one which is more for lounging with a hot tub, swim up bar (with good shade in the mid afternoon) and the other a deep water pool with a climbing, jumping rock wall with a slide. The pool is great and has zero entry with a sandy shore. For those misguided souls who come to San Pedro expecting great swimming beaches the pool alone should make up for it. Note that due to its location in front of the reef, most of the water is very shallow and there is a lot of sea grass, this is not unique to coco beach.

The rooms are beautiful they have just opened a hotel section by the new pool which I understand does not have Kitchens etc. My recommendation would be to book a unit with the full kitchen. We had a kitchen (granite countertops, stainless steel appliances etc), Restaurants are a bit pricey in general around the hotel and in San Pedro. The hotel works with a provisioning company who can stock your room before you arrive. We used them and they were awesome, room stocked with beer and soft drinks chilling in the fridge and a bottle of Rum and mixes ready to go was nice. This is much easier then hauling cases of drinks when you arrive. We had breakfast fixings and lunch in the room each day then took the water taxi to and from town (buy the coastal express weekly pass) for dinner

3 bedrooms and 2 Baths, the master bath had a his and her shower which was nice.

Housekeeping was great, they must have spent 1.5 hours each day cleaning our room to spotless condition (no small feat with 3 kids). Never saw one bug of any kind in the room. Wish is surprising for Central America.

Reception was good, meeting us at the dock, taking our luggage straight up and making sure we got our welcome drink at the bar. On the bar note, yes it is a bit pricey so see the recommendation to bring some provisions. Each room has a blender and ice machine so making a drink is a snap. During the storm, the hotel kept the bar open until late in the eve with 1/2 price specials. Michal at the bar is great and friendly. The kids were always asking for garnishes for our in room blender drinks which he had no problem obliging.

Speaking of the storm, we were tempted to bail out early and head home, but the solid construction, calm and prepared staff made it seem like the right choice to stay. They gave everyone a gallon of water, candles etc in case of a power outage which never came from the storm (just a few blinks on and off)

Location was in my view great, San Pedro the town is not a focal point in my view, they have some great places to eat but the quite of the North Side was good and there are some good places to eat around the hotel including the Lazy Croc BBQ which was an experience. We had lunch at the upper deck and the food was better than we expected. The water taxi to town takes about 15 minutes and is a very interesting was to get back and forth. They are building a restaurant on site but looks like a year out before it opens.

Cons:
Was not impressed with the on site tour operator Tuff Enough, they were on the expensive side and seemed to be canceling and rescheduling people. We luckily did our research on this and found a private tour operator who took us out spear fishing and snorkeling. I will say the people who went with Tuff Enough seemed to have a good time when they did get to go.

The hotel offers free Kayaks to paddle to the reef for snorkeling which was amazing. But was not happy they did not offer (or have) life vest for anyone including the kids.

Would recommend this as a great stay for a family with kids, but would strongly suggest one of the Villa units with kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank execplatscum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Coco Beach Resort last week. I thought the entire facility was just beautiful. The pools were amazing and made for the perfect place to just kick back and relax. We rented a golf cart and bikes to ride into town on separate days. When we had the golf cart we stopped at the supermarket in town to get drinks and snacks. We should have gotten some rum and pineapple juice for our pool time. The bar drinks were expensive. The bike ride into town was relaxing. The ocean breeze absolutely made the ride.

One of the best days we had was out on a full day Catamaran sail/snorkel with Tuff-n-uff tours. We snorkeled at the Marine Reserve and Shark Ray Alley. We saw nurse sharks, sting rays, green turtles, and tons of beautiful fish. After our snorkel and a stop at Caye Caulker we were served rum punch and the best ceviche I have ever had! It was a great day!

All in all we had a great time in Belize and at Coco Beach Resort. The only down side was the food situation. You can walk up or down the beach to a number of restaurants. Each time we ate we dropped almost $100.00, except from Capt. Morgans. They had much cheaper food, but it was just ok. I guess next time I would take the water taxi more into town to find a more local and inexpensive place to eat.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen0023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed at coco resort for a few days at the beginning of our honeymoon this June.
The con's:
(1) The biggest con was the hotel management. My passport went missing (likely stolen) two days before my wedding, and as a result we had to delay our honeymoon by two nights. This was obviously really upsetting and just about the worst timing, but we were able to change our flights and shifted all of our dates so we left two days later, but came back two days later (same number of days in belize, just different days). We contacted all of the hotels several days in advance - and all three of the other hotels were understanding and didn't charge us anything for the switched dates, but not Coco. First, they denied having received my email requesting the date change (although it was revealed in later conversations that they had gotten the emails, they just didn't respond). After some discussion, they reduced the charge for us for the two nights we weren't there, but still charged us $117 a night for those nights - a $234 penalty for switching our dates, money we could have spent on tours or nice dinners on our honeymoon. This was a frustrating dent in our honeymoon budget. They also upgraded us to a villa for the nights we were there without any additional charge, but, to be fair, they had already offered to do that before we asked to switch the dates, and we know from other guests that they upgraded them, too, since the hotel was not even close to being booked up, so it wasn't like this was a concession for the nights we paid them for absolutely nothing. I would rather have had the extra $234 than a 2-bedroom villa. Why does a honeymooning couple need an extra bedroom?
(2) The bar is absurdly expensive (like, $11 for a mixed drink). Our first day someone recommended that we buy our own beer and liquor in town - totally worth it. You can mix your own drink in your room and take it out by the pool.
(3) It's a little far from town, which means shelling out some dough twice a day and riding on a water taxi (not the most comfortable transport) to go into town for food. Yes, you can eat at the restaurant next door, but the food is SO MUCH BETTER in town. That said, the hotels in town aren't nearly as nice as those on the North shore.
(4) The staff support is lacking. Sometimes we'd come back and the room would be all clean and the bed made, and sometimes we'd come back and have no towels.
(5) Coffee is elusive. The rooms do have coffee makers, but no coffee. Yes, there is a coffee bar a 15 minute walk away, and yes, there is a restaurant that will bring you (a tiny styrofoam cup of) coffee if you call them (which requires that you go out to the bar to place the order), but if you're like me and you want to have your coffee before you get out of your pajamas, you'll need to buy some coffee in town.

The pro's:
(1) The pool is huge and has a cool water slide and shallow pools and a hot tub and waterfalls and a swim-up bar.
(2) There are lots of great places to lounge around and read, such as the hammocks (there are only two) by the beach are nice, and the shaded bar area is pretty.
(3) The rooms are gorgeously designed, and this was the only hotel in Belize we stayed in that had a proper TV with cable (which was nice for my husband's need to check in on the world cup games).
(4) While the mosquitoes and other biting insects in Belize were barely sufferable (I grew up in the South and I've never experienced anything like this), the rooms here are pretty much bug and lizard-free, which is better than some of the other hotels we stayed in.
(5) Minus the feeling that management was charging us unfairly for those two nights we didn't stay there, the staff we interacted with in the front office was always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HevUVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales,TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We just returned from our stay at Coco Beach and the resort was great. It was secluded, which was what we wanted. It is at least a 10 minute boat ride to town, so if you are looking to be close to the action, this isn't it. There were a couple of restraunts nearby, but we chose to ride to town in the water taxi every night. The rooms were spacious and there was plenty of room for us and the other couple that stayed with us in the two bedroom condo. The bathrooms were beautiful, but the hot water tended to run out very fast. Housekeeping kept the rooms very clean. The pools were great, and everyone needs to try the water slide. The guys at Tuff Enuff tours were outstanding. LeRoi, Tom, Rico, AC, Martin, George, and Elias all were top notch. My only complaint, and it is a minor one, was the hot water, but it wasn't something that was a dealbreaker, as we will probably stay at Coco Beach again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_J_SLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

My husband and our best friends stayed at Coco Beach May 28-June3. Coco Beach is a newer/not yet finished resort. My husband and I stayed on the island the same week last year and picked Coco beach based on seeing it from the water taxi. We felt like we knew the island well and were looking forward to sharing it with our friends. Here is what I feel is good and bad.
Good: The condos are beautiful. We stayed in a 2BR/2BA suite. It was ground floor with a great view of the pool and ocean. Housekeeping here is wonderful at keeping your room extremely clean everyday. We were very impressed, due to the amount of sand we felt we were bringing in. It was nice to have the kitchen, although we didn't cook at all, nice to have a full refridgerator for beverages and snacks, as well as a microwave. Also, there is filtered water in the door of the refridgerator. Beds are very comfy. Also, location is great if you want to be close to town. The pools at the resort are beautiful, best we have ever seen.
Not so good: While it is a very nice resort, there is not much island feel. Could have been at any high end resort in America, with a few palm trees. If you are looking for a real Carribean feel, try Captain Morgan's next door, or Portofino a few miles north. Bar staff took 10 min to pay any attention to us the first day, and we were the only customers @ the bar. When he finally greeted us, it wasn't "hello" it was "what do you want?" Also, keep in mind island pricing for drinks and food (having been there before, we knew very well what to expect.) However, Coco beach bar prices were quite abit higher than even the resort next door. Not having a resturant ended up being a bigger deal than we thought also.
The Bad: The main money maker for Belize right now is tourism. We travelled through alot of the country last trip and found everyone to be extremely pleasant, friendly, and helpful. The staff @ Coco Beach are not this way. They were not much help to book tours, massages, etc. I asked for help at the desk a couple times, and instead of offering to schedule massages, reseverations for dinner, I was told I could use their phone. After some prodding, we did get help with dinner reservations one night (not needed most of the time, this was just an event on the island that required RSVP). I sure wouldn't stay here if it were my first time on the island, due to the unhelpful staff. Luckily, we are adventuresome, don't mind asking questions, and finding our own way. Also, Skype is blocked from their internet. The only way to make an out of country call from the resort is buying a calling card in town or paying $1.25US/min from your room. Also, please make use of the in room safe.

To sum up our trip and give some tips: If your are thinking of going to Belize, book it today! Anywhere in the country! We will be going back ASAP. Beautiful country, beautiful people. I would not reccomend Coco Beach, there are many other great places to stay on the island. As I said before Captain Morgan's was great, also Portofino. Tuff E Nuff tours have been excellent guides for fishing and snorkeling both times, really can't say enough good things about them. Great guides, prices, equipment, and friendly service. Located at the dock next door to Coco Beach. The BZE dollar and US dollar are set 2 to 1 all the time, so currency exchange is easy. Lots of great seafood, well, any food for that matter. If you are staying more than a few days, visit one of the water taxi companies and buy a week unlimited pass, makes things much easier. Try some Marie Sharpes hot sauce, you won't want to come home without it. Eat at least once @ Elvie's Kitchen in San Pedro. Also, try some of the food from the street vendors, we have always had great low cost food. Again, this is a great place for a couples getaway, or a family vacation. The water is calm and again most people are so friendly. Just wouldn't again stay @ Coco Beach. If you want a true island, Belize feel please stick with the smaller resorts. If you like the all inclusive (without the all inclusive feature), large resort, not as personal feel, look to Mexico (or Coco Beach).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GMullins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
6.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.1 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Property: Coco Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning waterfront Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize, 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town and the island's only airstrip. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, and the island's most incredible free form swimming pool and swim up bar reserved for the exclusive use of our registered guests. Luxurious accommodations, great staff, complimentary kayaking, paddle boarding and weekday water aerobics, various food and beverage options, on call spa services, complimentary WIFI in public areas and onsite vacation planning/concierge service ensure an unforgettable vacation experience. A team of dedicated reservations professionals are available to plan your stay as well as your transfers from the Belize International airport to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing